Review of the Helios 500

Red-Sand
Red-Sand ACE Posts: 1,892 Pathfinder
edited October 2023 in Predator Laptops

This is an honest review of my experiences so far with the Helios 500 PH517-51.

Build Quality

*Tosses laptop down the stairs*
"...well that went poorly..."
Laptop is made 100% on the exterior of plastic.. which had me worried at first.. but it's not a cheap plastic (Think Glock 23 polymer-ish).

When I first removed it from its packaging I was apprehensive at the weight of it as it's much lighter then my Predator 17 but the same size.
I immediately began poking and prodding to see if there was any weak areas that would break over regular usage as I travel for a living.

I was surprised to find it has the same rigidity in the display/bezel as my Predator 17 which has a metal exterior and was actually made quite well.

The keyboard has a little flex when pressed right above the touchpad but not bad at all as I really have to push to notice it.
The main thing I noticed was the fan design, but I'll get into that later.

Overall a very solid laptop but I wouldn't expect it to survive a drop down the stairs.
And honestly the lighter weight is appreciated on a traveler such as myself.

(Above pic shows H500 rendering using Media Composer flawlessly)

It came with:
i7-8750H Intel CPU
1070 8gb Nvidia GPU (Dedicated)
16gb RAM
Dual Thunderbolt 3 ports
Dual M.2 NVME ports (256gb NVME M.2 SSD included)
2.5" 1tb HDD 5400 RPM (Which I swapped for a 7200 RPM immediately)
Display Port x 1
HDMI 1.4b (2.0) port x 1
3 x USB 3.0 ports
Ethernet Jack
Killer Network Wifi Card
Zoned RGB keyboard
5 macro keys with 3 profiles per set
Windows Precision drivers

A very solid setup.. not even sure what I can do with 2 x Thunderbolt 3 ports but I'LL TAKE IT! XD

Screen is a beautiful 144hz G Sync 40 pin edp panel display that looks just lovely.
Seeing your enemy explode from a grenade and fly across the map at 144hz... there's just no going back to 60hz after that <3 .