Aspire E1-531 CPU Upgrade

Kemal2000Kemal2000 Member Posts: 4 New User
Which cpus are compatible with this laptop? It has pentium b960 and i would like to upgrade the cpu.

Best Answer

FAQ & Answers

  • LeostatLeostat Member Posts: 1,989 Community Aficionado
    Which Chipset do you have? If you are unsure install the INTEL cpu identifer, and post the chipset ID, this allows us to look it up :)  (  https://downloadcenter.intel.com/download/28539  )

    If you are on a HM77 chipset you can use upto the I5's 2nd gen as long as the TDP isnt too high, if you are on the HM70 the highest is the Core 2 B980 
    If you found the comment helpful hit the like button, If the answer solves your Q, hit the yes button on the bottom of the post! 

    I'm a UK based techi, so apologies if my help links are for the UK region site! 
  • Kemal2000Kemal2000 Member Posts: 4 New User
    I have HM70 chipset.
  • LeostatLeostat Member Posts: 1,989 Community Aficionado
    I think that only supports the Pentiums, the i3 series doesnt play nice and will force off the laptop randomly, but going to the one up isnt much of an upgrade either :(https://www.cpu-upgrade.com/CPUs/Intel/Pentium_Dual-Core_Mobile/B960.html
    If you found the comment helpful hit the like button, If the answer solves your Q, hit the yes button on the bottom of the post! 

    I'm a UK based techi, so apologies if my help links are for the UK region site! 
  • Kemal2000Kemal2000 Member Posts: 4 New User
    one more question can i upgrade to pentium 2030m, i want to use android studio and virtualbox but my cpu doesnt support VT-x
  • LeostatLeostat Member Posts: 1,989 Community Aficionado
    Accepted Answer
    Unsure, Here suggests the 2020m should work:

    https://community.acer.com/en/discussion/395175/acer-e1-531-2801-cpu-support-list/p1

    Which does support vtx, the 30 is pretty close so it *may* work but not 100% sure!
    If you found the comment helpful hit the like button, If the answer solves your Q, hit the yes button on the bottom of the post! 

    I'm a UK based techi, so apologies if my help links are for the UK region site! 
  • Kemal2000Kemal2000 Member Posts: 4 New User
    i meant 2020m thanks for the help
Sign In or Register to comment.

Who's Online677

EduardoQA120
EduardoQA120
egydiocoelho
egydiocoelho
fatu
fatu
Felix397
Felix397
Ik9
Ik9
IVAN_PC
IVAN_PC
Kev0806
Kev0806
Kito_nba
Kito_nba
le0
le0
Menphir
Menphir
Nutzer0123
Nutzer0123
PianitoDead
PianitoDead
RenanVilela
RenanVilela
Rich98
Rich98
SinokLeBienheureux
SinokLeBienheureux
Timmy_87
Timmy_87
xapim
xapim
Yibo_de
Yibo_de
YRFtopboy
YRFtopboy
wtyson
wtyson
+657 Guests

Join in, share your experience!

It looks like you're new here. Sign in or register to get started.

Assistance by Acer


Drivers &
Manuals

Acer
Answers

Get Product Information
( only)

Acer Support
Videos

Member Highlight

We are honored to have Leostat in the Acer Community. With their dedication, support and effort, Leostat has become one of the main collaborators. On behalf of our Acer Community Team and all of our users, we want to recognize and thank you for your dedication!

Total Posts and Comments: 1989

Total Points:6487

Total Accepted Answers: 249

Leostat Community Aficionado