Aspire E1-531 CPU Upgrade

Kemal2000Kemal2000 Member Posts: 4 New User
Which cpus are compatible with this laptop? It has pentium b960 and i would like to upgrade the cpu.

Best Answer

FAQ & Answers

  • LeostatLeostat Member Posts: 1,990 Community Aficionado
    Which Chipset do you have? If you are unsure install the INTEL cpu identifer, and post the chipset ID, this allows us to look it up :)  (  https://downloadcenter.intel.com/download/28539  )

    If you are on a HM77 chipset you can use upto the I5's 2nd gen as long as the TDP isnt too high, if you are on the HM70 the highest is the Core 2 B980 
    If you found the comment helpful hit the like button, If the answer solves your Q, hit the yes button on the bottom of the post! 

    I'm a UK based techi, so apologies if my help links are for the UK region site! 
  • Kemal2000Kemal2000 Member Posts: 4 New User
    I have HM70 chipset.
  • LeostatLeostat Member Posts: 1,990 Community Aficionado
    I think that only supports the Pentiums, the i3 series doesnt play nice and will force off the laptop randomly, but going to the one up isnt much of an upgrade either :(https://www.cpu-upgrade.com/CPUs/Intel/Pentium_Dual-Core_Mobile/B960.html
    If you found the comment helpful hit the like button, If the answer solves your Q, hit the yes button on the bottom of the post! 

    I'm a UK based techi, so apologies if my help links are for the UK region site! 
  • Kemal2000Kemal2000 Member Posts: 4 New User
    one more question can i upgrade to pentium 2030m, i want to use android studio and virtualbox but my cpu doesnt support VT-x
  • LeostatLeostat Member Posts: 1,990 Community Aficionado
    Accepted Answer
    Unsure, Here suggests the 2020m should work:

    https://community.acer.com/en/discussion/395175/acer-e1-531-2801-cpu-support-list/p1

    Which does support vtx, the 30 is pretty close so it *may* work but not 100% sure!
    If you found the comment helpful hit the like button, If the answer solves your Q, hit the yes button on the bottom of the post! 

    I'm a UK based techi, so apologies if my help links are for the UK region site! 
  • Kemal2000Kemal2000 Member Posts: 4 New User
    i meant 2020m thanks for the help
Sign In or Register to comment.

Who's Online564

arvndvv
arvndvv
clerbird321
clerbird321
EduardoQA120
EduardoQA120
HannaRN22
HannaRN22
heymyh
heymyh
hunter74
hunter74
Kev0806
Kev0806
luismontagner
luismontagner
MRShiva
MRShiva
Oluarry
Oluarry
Philips_Smith
Philips_Smith
rafaelsoaresbr
rafaelsoaresbr
SACHINKRISHNAN
SACHINKRISHNAN
SherwinArguelles
SherwinArguelles
sjeffh
sjeffh
StevenGen
StevenGen
Timmy_87
Timmy_87
v1ack
v1ack
xapim
xapim
xcypher
xcypher
Yibo_de
Yibo_de
+543 Guests

Join in, share your experience!

It looks like you're new here. Sign in or register to get started.

Assistance by Acer


Drivers &
Manuals

Acer
Answers

Get Product Information
( only)

Acer Support
Videos

Member Highlight

We are honored to have Leostat in the Acer Community. With their dedication, support and effort, Leostat has become one of the main collaborators. On behalf of our Acer Community Team and all of our users, we want to recognize and thank you for your dedication!

Total Posts and Comments: 1990

Total Points:6487

Total Accepted Answers: 249

Leostat Community Aficionado