next@acer 2020

Can I upgrade the CPU Cooler on my Acer Predator Orion 3000?

FlowerBoiFlowerBoi Member Posts: 8

Tinkerer

My CPU has been "Overheating" like, the idle temp is 40c and the web browsing temp is around 56c and when running a virus scan, it goes up to 81c and when exporting a video in Adobe Premiere Pro, it reaches 84c while increasing my fan speed to almost max using predator sense and opening my window (It's -12 outside right now🥶)  because it doesn't increase it enough automatically. And I think the current cooler right now in my PC is a stock intel one, so I would like to upgrade to a better cooler. But I do have some questions. Will this void my warrenty? How big should the cooler be? What cooler should I use? Do I have to reconfigure anything in the bios? Any other steps would be helpful since I've never upgraded/touched a CPU cooler in my entire life.

My PC specs are: Intel i7 9700, RTX 2060, 16GB RAM, 500 WATT PSU

FAQ & Answers

  • FlowerBoiFlowerBoi Member Posts: 8

    Tinkerer

    Also, when exporting a "29 Min or sometimes 40 Min 1440p 60fps Highly edited video" the temps keep rising even at Max fan speed, but when I opened the windows, it cooled down signifcantly. I live in a very cold and snowy place, but that won't last too long when the Summer comes.☀️
  • billseybillsey ACE Posts: 10,946 Trailblazer
    @FlowerBoi specs call for the CPU temperature to stay below somewhere near 95ºC, so 81ºC isn't nearly out of line. The CPU will shut down due to high temps between 100ºC and 105ºC. That being said there's no reason why you couldn't put a better cooler in, it's a pretty standard mod for gamers. Your warranty should only be affected if you screw something up and zap the CPU or CPU fan. Any changes you make release them from warranty for those changes, not for the rest of the system. Warranties typically cover defects in materials and workmanship...
    Click on "Like" if you find my answer useful or click on "Yes" if it answers your question.
  • FlowerBoiFlowerBoi Member Posts: 8

    Tinkerer

    billsey Do know any coolers that will fit in this PC, cuz it's pretty small. Do I have to reconfigure anything in the BIOS?

    Also, when exporting a 40 Minute, 1440P60FPS video in Adobe Premiere Pro, it reaches 84c, keep in mind, I had to manually adjust the Fan Speed to max, even after doing that, the temps kept rising, I had to open the windows to keep it at 84-76c. It is -12 outside, but it won't be like that in the Summer. If I don't do anything, I think my PC would be in the 100s Celsius.
  • billseybillsey ACE Posts: 10,946 Trailblazer
    I don't know which specific coolers will fit, you'll want to do some measurements for sure. Try that same test with the windows closed. Does it actually get to the 100ºC point? You can tell if it gets over because it'll just shut down when it's too hot. If you are getting into that range, where it actually shuts down I'm going to be asking if you are still in warranty, because the cooler isn't doing it's job. If it peaks at 85, or 90, or even 95 then you likely don't have much to worry about because the cooler is working. A better one could work better, but just swapping it because it might not be working at it's best doesn't mean the new one will do a better job.
    Click on "Like" if you find my answer useful or click on "Yes" if it answers your question.
  • FlowerBoiFlowerBoi Member Posts: 8

    Tinkerer

    @billsey Will this Cooler work? https://www.amazon.ca/SCYTHE-Big-Shuriken-Cooler-SCBSK-3000/dp/B07MDXVLCZ I don’t know about what sockets and stuff, I don’t know if this will fit in my current socket. Also, here some pictures of the inside of my PC, sorry if it’s hard to see. I believe it’s stock Acer Cooler which I don’t know the exact size of but I’ve heard that it’s 60mm and the cooler I’m referring to is 69mm. Also, I think it won’t like shutdown, I think the clock speed will go way down which I kinda don’t want, or it might shutdown, also I want the PC to last long but I’ve heard that high temps like these can result in a shorter lifespan. Also the Cooler has 4 screws. panel on)
  • billseybillsey ACE Posts: 10,946 Trailblazer
    Fans are typically measured by the width between two adjacent screws. You will have to take a ruler or tape measure, pull that side panel off and see what the size is. You can also measure the thickness of the fan and the distance between the top of the fan and the motherboard. Under the fan is a heat sink with a bunch of fins. The fan is always blowing air down through the fins of the heat sink. If the fins are too dusty they won't cool well or if the contact between the heat sink and the processor has gotten dirty or dried out it won't pull as much heat away from the processor. You will have to know the size before you can try a different one. If the fan is a 60mm (meaning the screws form a square 60mm x 60mm) then a 69mm fan will certainly not fit.
    Click on "Like" if you find my answer useful or click on "Yes" if it answers your question.
  • Red-SandRed-Sand ACE Posts: 1,828 Pathfinder
    edited January 30
    I upgraded mine.
    The stock Intel cooler is garbage.

    - Hotel Hero
  • Red-SandRed-Sand ACE Posts: 1,828 Pathfinder
    I had issues finding one that had proper clearance since the case is so small. I ended up grabbing this one as a temporary deal until I can get a proper liquid loop installed.

    https://www.amazon.com/dp/B07H1VZ11F/ref=cm_sw_r_sms_apa_i_TjNmEbVKKRT2K
    - Hotel Hero
  • Red-SandRed-Sand ACE Posts: 1,828 Pathfinder
    FYI: The one I linked came with a Mobo installation bracket. I had to remove all the components and the mobo in order to place the new mountain bracket for the CPU cooler.

    It's a bit involved to remove the mobo since everything including the optical drive and front panel needs to be disassembled to get at the mobo.
    - Hotel Hero
  • Red-SandRed-Sand ACE Posts: 1,828 Pathfinder
    Also upgraded the PSU. 500 watt just isn't enough juice.
    - Hotel Hero
  • OzzY00000OzzY00000 Member Posts: 1 New User
    Red-Sand said:
    Also upgraded the PSU. 500 watt just isn't enough juice.
    Red-Sand said:
    Also upgraded the PSU. 500 watt just isn't enough juice.
    I have the same pc and I will also instal the cooler master fan. can u show me how you did it
Sign In or Register to comment.

Who's Online901

Ale48
Ale48
Cesarthomaz
Cesarthomaz
Digger820
Digger820
Dlaniger
Dlaniger
IVAN_PC
IVAN_PC
JackE
JackE
JenLyn
JenLyn
MarianoA5
MarianoA5
natlenan2000
natlenan2000
picollosan
picollosan
ralppp
ralppp
Ravir1996
Ravir1996
Rossaroni
Rossaroni
vOLICS
vOLICS
zonderling
zonderling
+886 Guests

Join in, share your experience!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Assistance by Acer


Drivers &
Manuals

Acer
Answers

Get Product Information
( only)

Acer Support
Videos

Member Highlight

We want to recognize GAMING6698's dedicated efforts in the Acer Community. GAMING6698 has become one of the main collaborators since joining the Community in November of 2019.
On behalf of all our users and the Acer Team, we thank you for your dedication!

Total Posts and Comments: 3315

Total Points:5742

Total Accepted Answers: 289

GAMING6698 Mainframe Wrangler