next@acer 2020

How to turn power on without power button? G1-710

samuelBsamuelB Member Posts: 14

Tinkerer

edited September 2019 in Predator Desktops
Hello 

My G1-710 is currently not turning on and I have no idea which pins of the front power button I am supposed to short to turn it on.
Can anyone identify which two go to the led and which to the button itself? 

Best Answers

  • JackEJackE Posts: 21,978 Trailblazer
    Accepted Answer
    It might be possible. But unfortunately we on the user forums neither have access to board schematics nor firmware modding tools. While the power button switch can be pulled  apart to see which pins were supposed to be connected and/or not connected, I think the evidence you've presented so far suggests that the power circuits have likely been damaged beyond this forum's ability to come up with a practical repair. Accordingly, google shows that the new and re-mfd mainboards with part number DB.B4W11.001 are in stock from several vendors. New board quotes about $250USD. Re-mfd quotes on request. Jack E/NJ


    Jack E/NJ
  • billseybillsey Posts: 11,131 Trailblazer
    Accepted Answer
    Yeah, it looks like you pulled the traces up on two of the pins. It's likely repairable, but would be enough work that a technician that is skilled enough to do the work is going to charge as much or more than a replacement board. If we knew the pinout you could wire a switch in between two vias that connected to the pad and that would let you run, albeit without the power LED shining. If I were to guess, I'd be comfortable guessing the blue and green wires were the power switch and the back and red wires were the power LED (Black ground, red 5V). The switch is just a switch so it shouldn't matter which is which.
«1

FAQ & Answers

  • Is your desktop under warranty? Have you tried checking with another cable? Check this link too: https://community.acer.com/en/discussion/552337/what-is-wrong-with-my-computer-acer-predator-g1-710-has-constant-beep-upon-start-up-and-no-display
    Oi! Eu não sou sou a cortana! Mas estou aqui para ajudar! Hi! I'm not the cortana! But I'm here to help!
    Se você gostou da minha resposta, marque como solução clicando em sim! If you liked my answer, mark it as a solution by clicking on yes!
    Aceite somente a resposta que ajudou a solucionar o seu problema! Please accept only the response that helped to solve your problem!
    Detection tool click here to find the serial number or partnumber of your model!                                                          

               
      egydiocoelho Trailblazer
     
    ProductKey clique aqui para descobrir o serial do windows! click here to discover the windows serial!
    Para usuários da comunidade inglesa, espanhola, francesa e alemã, usarei o google tradutor! :)
    For users of the English, Spanish, French and German community, I will be using google translator! :) 
  • samuelBsamuelB Member Posts: 14

    Tinkerer

    Hello

    Sadly no warranty, tried with 3 power supplies with different cables, did reset the bios. Nothing happens when I try to power it, no sound from motherboard. I figured it must be the power button.
  • Was there any blackout in your home before the desktop presented? Have you tried a power reset by unplugging the desktop from the socket and pressing the power button for 30 seconds?
    Oi! Eu não sou sou a cortana! Mas estou aqui para ajudar! Hi! I'm not the cortana! But I'm here to help!
    Se você gostou da minha resposta, marque como solução clicando em sim! If you liked my answer, mark it as a solution by clicking on yes!
    Aceite somente a resposta que ajudou a solucionar o seu problema! Please accept only the response that helped to solve your problem!
    Detection tool click here to find the serial number or partnumber of your model!                                                          

               
      egydiocoelho Trailblazer
     
    ProductKey clique aqui para descobrir o serial do windows! click here to discover the windows serial!
    Para usuários da comunidade inglesa, espanhola, francesa e alemã, usarei o google tradutor! :)
    For users of the English, Spanish, French and German community, I will be using google translator! :) 
  • samuelBsamuelB Member Posts: 14

    Tinkerer

    I tried the power reset, but no results. It stopped working without any external causes, no blackout.
  • Have you tried to disconnect all hardware and then connect them individually and go testing?
    Oi! Eu não sou sou a cortana! Mas estou aqui para ajudar! Hi! I'm not the cortana! But I'm here to help!
    Se você gostou da minha resposta, marque como solução clicando em sim! If you liked my answer, mark it as a solution by clicking on yes!
    Aceite somente a resposta que ajudou a solucionar o seu problema! Please accept only the response that helped to solve your problem!
    Detection tool click here to find the serial number or partnumber of your model!                                                          

               
      egydiocoelho Trailblazer
     
    ProductKey clique aqui para descobrir o serial do windows! click here to discover the windows serial!
    Para usuários da comunidade inglesa, espanhola, francesa e alemã, usarei o google tradutor! :)
    For users of the English, Spanish, French and German community, I will be using google translator! :) 
  • samuelBsamuelB Member Posts: 14

    Tinkerer

    I ***** up, it was the power button, but I managed to remove the base for the pins by pulling too hard. Now the motherboard returned CMOS error when the pc booted when I randomly shorted them. What am I supposed to do?
  • egydiocoelhoegydiocoelho ACE Posts: 55,509 Trailblazer
    edited September 2019
    Have you tried disconnecting the rtc battery and reconnecting it again? Which pins did you shorted? It would be interesting to have this information so that other users can know how to proceed.
    Oi! Eu não sou sou a cortana! Mas estou aqui para ajudar! Hi! I'm not the cortana! But I'm here to help!
    Se você gostou da minha resposta, marque como solução clicando em sim! If you liked my answer, mark it as a solution by clicking on yes!
    Aceite somente a resposta que ajudou a solucionar o seu problema! Please accept only the response that helped to solve your problem!
    Detection tool click here to find the serial number or partnumber of your model!                                                          

               
      egydiocoelho Trailblazer
     
    ProductKey clique aqui para descobrir o serial do windows! click here to discover the windows serial!
    Para usuários da comunidade inglesa, espanhola, francesa e alemã, usarei o google tradutor! :)
    For users of the English, Spanish, French and German community, I will be using google translator! :) 
  • samuelBsamuelB Member Posts: 14

    Tinkerer

    Yes I have done that. Trying again the pc boots up with no cmos error from just connecting the power. After that 20 more tries with no success. 
  • What were the pins you caused the short?
    Oi! Eu não sou sou a cortana! Mas estou aqui para ajudar! Hi! I'm not the cortana! But I'm here to help!
    Se você gostou da minha resposta, marque como solução clicando em sim! If you liked my answer, mark it as a solution by clicking on yes!
    Aceite somente a resposta que ajudou a solucionar o seu problema! Please accept only the response that helped to solve your problem!
    Detection tool click here to find the serial number or partnumber of your model!                                                          

               
      egydiocoelho Trailblazer
     
    ProductKey clique aqui para descobrir o serial do windows! click here to discover the windows serial!
    Para usuários da comunidade inglesa, espanhola, francesa e alemã, usarei o google tradutor! :)
    For users of the English, Spanish, French and German community, I will be using google translator! :) 
  • samuelBsamuelB Member Posts: 14

    Tinkerer

    I have absolutely no idea because I was shorting them very randomly and I couldn't see what pins I shorted. I have had no luck with reproducing it. 
  • I have already checked colleagues JackE and Billsey helping other users with a similar problem. I will ask them to check this thread. 
    Oi! Eu não sou sou a cortana! Mas estou aqui para ajudar! Hi! I'm not the cortana! But I'm here to help!
    Se você gostou da minha resposta, marque como solução clicando em sim! If you liked my answer, mark it as a solution by clicking on yes!
    Aceite somente a resposta que ajudou a solucionar o seu problema! Please accept only the response that helped to solve your problem!
    Detection tool click here to find the serial number or partnumber of your model!                                                          

               
      egydiocoelho Trailblazer
     
    ProductKey clique aqui para descobrir o serial do windows! click here to discover the windows serial!
    Para usuários da comunidade inglesa, espanhola, francesa e alemã, usarei o google tradutor! :)
    For users of the English, Spanish, French and German community, I will be using google translator! :) 
  • samuelBsamuelB Member Posts: 14

    Tinkerer

    Thank you. 
    Here are some pictures which might help. Last one is the button connector. 
  • JackEJackE ACE Posts: 21,978 Trailblazer
    >>>Trying again the pc boots up with no cmos error from just connecting the power. After that 20 more tries with no success.  >>>

    Wow. The mainboard traces were torn and delaminated. How did you connect the power like this the first time with no error? But was this error displayed the next 20 times on trying to boot? If yes, did you instead try to enter the BIOS menu with the F2 key, then save settings and exit to see if it then boots with no error? Jack E/NJ
    Jack E/NJ
  • samuelBsamuelB Member Posts: 14

    Tinkerer

    The first time I shorted was the cmos boot error, I turned power off after that, then WITHOUT shorting the pins when turning the power on for another try the pc booted automatically without error. 
    The tries after that were with trying to short it, completely nothing happenend, no sound from motherboard. Tried to reproduce the first one but failed. 
  • JackEJackE ACE Posts: 21,978 Trailblazer
    Which two P5  traces did you short the first time it booted with no error? Jack E/NJ


    Jack E/NJ
  • samuelBsamuelB Member Posts: 14

    Tinkerer

    JackE said:
    Which two P5  traces did you short the first time it booted with no error? Jack E/NJ


    samuelB said:
    I have absolutely no idea because I was shorting them very randomly and I couldn't see what pins I shorted. I have had no luck with reproducing it. 
    Sorry for my bad practises. It was however most likely a pair of the four on the bottom. I currently dont have a schematic of the board, so I may have destroyed the signal ones when I retried by connecting them to the LED power. 
  • samuelBsamuelB Member Posts: 14

    Tinkerer

    edited September 2019
    From my own research, it seems like the BIOS may have an option to turn automatically on when powered or by pressing a keyboard key. The motherboard has a lpc_debug connector. Would it be possible to edit the BIOS or turn the PC on through the connector? I have a laptop and a rasperry.
  • JackEJackE ACE Posts: 21,978 Trailblazer
    Accepted Answer
    It might be possible. But unfortunately we on the user forums neither have access to board schematics nor firmware modding tools. While the power button switch can be pulled  apart to see which pins were supposed to be connected and/or not connected, I think the evidence you've presented so far suggests that the power circuits have likely been damaged beyond this forum's ability to come up with a practical repair. Accordingly, google shows that the new and re-mfd mainboards with part number DB.B4W11.001 are in stock from several vendors. New board quotes about $250USD. Re-mfd quotes on request. Jack E/NJ


    Jack E/NJ
  • samuelBsamuelB Member Posts: 14

    Tinkerer

    Thank you. I will be posting some updates in case someone else encounters the same problem. The motherboard also seems to go with the name PEGATRON IPMSL-GM, and all of the schematics for it are behind some premium member forum things or a paywall. One possible schematic could be https://d3yn.blogspot.com/2017/05/pegatron-ipmsl-gm.html?m=1.
    Buying a new one at this point would be crazy, because the price I paid for my used system is smaller than the new mobo with shipping. When I get to the schematic I will also try to confirm the old question of whether the 2 psu:s are connected or not in the g1-710. I think I will figure it out on my own, and if anyone more beginner than me has any questions related to the G1-710, I might be able to answer them. 
  • JackEJackE ACE Posts: 21,978 Trailblazer
    OK, yes I see that. Thanks. You might have a bit more luck googling and poring over the image files for the Pegatron mainboard. Good luck with it. The only other description that's associated with that part number on the specsheet and some vendors is "MB Kit G1-710 Intel H170 16MB Qualcomm E2400   Acer Logo Proprietary LF" Jack E/NJ



    Jack E/NJ
Sign In or Register to comment.

Who's Online1.2K

Barstow
Barstow
Cassiblu
Cassiblu
gabriel_onell
gabriel_onell
Haradark
Haradark
Iskandarean
Iskandarean
JefersonCarmo
JefersonCarmo
JERSONMURILLOJD
JERSONMURILLOJD
MarcusFelsch7
MarcusFelsch7
MAXIMO9702
MAXIMO9702
MIG10
MIG10
Myrso
Myrso
NoBlemish
NoBlemish
smoochiepook
smoochiepook
StevenGen
StevenGen
stratcat
stratcat
Subeck
Subeck
Trileon
Trileon
Yeozerman
Yeozerman
+1.2K Guests

Join in, share your experience!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Assistance by Acer


Drivers &
Manuals

Acer
Answers

Get Product Information
( only)

Acer Support
Videos

Member Highlight

We want to recognize GAMING6698's dedicated efforts in the Acer Community. GAMING6698 has become one of the main collaborators since joining the Community in November of 2019.
On behalf of all our users and the Acer Team, we thank you for your dedication!

Total Posts and Comments: 3336

Total Points:5792

Total Accepted Answers: 292

GAMING6698 Supercomputer Wrangler