Examples: Monday, today, last week, Mar 26, 3/26/04

Subject: RAM Upgrade. Laptop: Acer Travelmate TMP253-M. Can anyone advise on a RAM upgrade?

Hi, I have an additional 4GB RAM strip, trying to improve to 8GB (4+4).  Both of the RAM strips have the same manufacturer and model number and work individually, each in slot 'A'.  When I then add the second RAM card to slot 'B', the machine will not start.  This indicates to me that slot 'B' is not active or that I need to program slot 'B' to regognize the newly added RAM strip. Can anyone advise on this please?  The Travelmate was originally bought with Win7 Pro OS but "free" upgraded to Win10 Pro in 2016 (or 2017).  Everything else is as original (Intel i3/chipset, WD 500GB HDD etc.).
Thank you

FAQ & Answers

  • MaClaneMaClane Posts: 11,388ACE Trailblazer
    Good Morning TURBOTEC !

    What EXACT model of your laptop?
    Example: TMP253-M-6834



    Se minha resposta foi útil, deixe um "Curtir", marque como "Solucionado" e clique em "Promover"!
    Caso contrario, fico a disposição para tentarmos sanar suas duvidas e resolver seus problemas!
    Atenciosamente:  J. MaClane™

    If my answer was helpful, leave a like, flag as "Fixed" and click "Promote"!
    Otherwise, I am willing to try to heal your doubts and solve your problems!
    Sincerely, J. MaClane ™

    For users of the English, Spanish, French and German Community, I will be using Google Translate!

                              ACE Trailblazer 2014 - 2019                          



  • TURBOTECTURBOTEC Posts: 3Member New User
    Dear MaClane,

    Many thanks for responding.   The model number is   TMP253-M-33114G50Maks.
    Sincerely hope you can help!
    Best regards,
    TURBOTEC
  • MaClaneMaClane Posts: 11,388ACE Trailblazer
    Good Morning !

    This model supports up to 8Gb of RAM (in 2 slots 2x4Gb) SO-DIMM DDR3 1066/1333/1600Mhz 1.5v


    There is no way to "program" the slots.
    All are factory functional.
    Or the memory bank is defective or incompatible with your existing one.
    Are the specifications the same as I told you?




    Se minha resposta foi útil, deixe um "Curtir", marque como "Solucionado" e clique em "Promover"!
    Caso contrario, fico a disposição para tentarmos sanar suas duvidas e resolver seus problemas!
    Atenciosamente:  J. MaClane™

    If my answer was helpful, leave a like, flag as "Fixed" and click "Promote"!
    Otherwise, I am willing to try to heal your doubts and solve your problems!
    Sincerely, J. MaClane ™

    For users of the English, Spanish, French and German Community, I will be using Google Translate!

                              ACE Trailblazer 2014 - 2019                          



  • TURBOTECTURBOTEC Posts: 3Member New User
    Hi MaClane,
    Individually, each 4GB RAM card works when placed in slot A.  So I know that both RAM cards work.  When slot A is occupied and the other working card is added to slot B then this is when the laptop will not start.  So somehow, adding a working card to slot B stops everything.  Also, if I place the working RAM only in slot B, again, the laptop will not start up.  Does this indicate that slot B is defective?  Each of the RAM cards have exactly the same manufacturer and serial.  I have tried to cover all angles and combinations but no joy so far.
    Thank you again,
    TURBOTEC
  • MaClaneMaClane Posts: 11,388ACE Trailblazer
    In this case the ideal is to be with a third memory bank.
    If the slot does not work, it may be that it is defective or it is only with resistances.
    A cleaning handle with blender and brush can solve.


    Se minha resposta foi útil, deixe um "Curtir", marque como "Solucionado" e clique em "Promover"!
    Caso contrario, fico a disposição para tentarmos sanar suas duvidas e resolver seus problemas!
    Atenciosamente:  J. MaClane™

    If my answer was helpful, leave a like, flag as "Fixed" and click "Promote"!
    Otherwise, I am willing to try to heal your doubts and solve your problems!
    Sincerely, J. MaClane ™

    For users of the English, Spanish, French and German Community, I will be using Google Translate!

                              ACE Trailblazer 2014 - 2019                          



  • JackEJackE Posts: 17,068ACE Trailblazer
    This is a dual-channel-capable machine. They are sometimes sensitive and require a matched pair of identical modules for both slots to work properly. Jack E/NJ 
Sign In or Register to comment.

Who's Online166

Acer-Manny
Acer-Manny
alfo2004
alfo2004
Boatkettlecheese
Boatkettlecheese
brandonsmc
brandonsmc
Chacal2083
Chacal2083
DwertlePLayz
DwertlePLayz
Felipe_Negro
Felipe_Negro
Gawain
Gawain
j8ggsawt4eat
j8ggsawt4eat
Jack22
Jack22
JackE
JackE
Janko44
Janko44
jfnL
jfnL
LorranyTeodoro
LorranyTeodoro
MrC
MrC
Neikel
Neikel
revo_rn76
revo_rn76
Schüppe1904
Schüppe1904
STOPchris
STOPchris
TECH_MAN
TECH_MAN
+146 Guests

Join in, share your experience!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

New Here?

So, what are the rules of this place? Check out our Acer Community User Agreement. Register to get all the benefits of being a member! Get social and introduce yourself in our Welcome Forum, or learn about our ACE Program and What's Happening at Acer.

Member Highlight

We would like to feature andylb as a destacated member in the Acer Community. With his dedication and support efforts, andylb has become a Valued Contributor . On behalf of the Acer Community team and all our users, we want to recognize and thank you for your dedication!

Total Posts and Comments: 1011

Total Points:2587

Total Accepted Answers: 125

andylb Valued Contributor
Intel Extreme KAtowise 2019
Predator Join the forum discussions on our
Predator line of products.
Find out about the Acer ACE program.