image

G9-593-72DZ Intel Rapid Storage Technology removed my D drive

Tr4pD00rTr4pD00r Member Posts: 3
edited April 2018 in Predator Laptops

Intel Rapid Storage Technology removed my D drive and turned it into this useless 'recovery volume'

rv.png

 

Now my internal HDD and everything I had in it is completely gone, I can't see it from the file explorer nor the Disk Management application. It's just not there and I've lost access to it entirely.

dm.png

 

After browsing on this issue it seems quite a few topics have been made about this problem in the past. I downloaded GParted and Disk Imager but I haven't dared to do anything yet out of sheer bewilderment. I don't know if there's an initial thread or where the initial solution to this problem starts, or how the solutions on the other threads apply to me (I don't understand the technical terms about 'RAID1' and 'AHCI').

 

I desperately need help starting from the beginning to explain how this problem can be solved. At this point I'm not even concerned about my files in there, I just want my drive back.

 

Thanks for reading this post and taking time to help a layman like me.

Best Answer

  • IronFlyIronFly ACE Posts: 18,415 Trailblazer
    Accepted Answer

    just follow the part in bold.

     

    Symptoms
    User can't delete RAID array, RAID option greyed on BIOS.
     
    Diagnosis
    User can create the RAID array via "Intel Rapid Storage Technology UI" (iRST) on Windows but can't delete RAID by "iRST" and RAID is the only option on BIOS (AHCI option is missing).
     
    Before deleting the RAID array
    Always remember to do the windows recovery media before running the RAID tool to delete the array.
    With the help of the Acer Care Center (pre-installed on your system), you can create the windows recovery media on an USB stick, so you can reinstall it later.
    In the AcerCare Center, click Recovery Management -> Getting Started, and then follow the instructions.
    http://acer.custhelp.com/app/answers/detail/a_id/38147
     
    You can also perform a backup of your actual windows installation, so using the windows recovery media, you can reload your OS at the time of the backup.
    Press Windows logo key and type "backup"
    click on "Backup and restore" and then follow on screen instructions.
    http://acer.custhelp.com/app/answers/detail/a_id/37461
     
    Solution
    First of all, check the Volume name of your array on "iRST".
    Press windows logo key and type "intel"
    click on "Intel Rapid Storage Technology"
    click on "Yes" if prompted
    check on the right side, under "Storage System View", that "Volume_0000" or "OEMRAID0" is the name of the array.
     
    if Type description is:
    RAID 1 or Recovery - no data will be lost
    RAID 0  - all your data will be lost - you will need to re-install Windows
     
    Download the RAID tool
    ftp://ftp.acer-euro.com/Notebook/Predator/GX-792/RAID_Tool.zip
     
    Right click the downloaded RAID_Tool.zip file  
    click on "Extract all"
    Click on "Browse..." 
    Click on "Computer"
    Click on "C:" (normally it's labeled "Acer (C: )
    Click on "Ok"
    Click on "Extract"
     
    Now click on the Windows logo at the bottom left of your screen
    Click on the Power icon
    Press Shift key and click on "Restart"
    On the next screen click on "Troubleshooting"
    On the next screen click on "Advanced settings"
    On the next screen click on "Command Prompt"
    Select your account and type your password (if any)
     
    At Command prompt 
    type C:
    type CD Raid_tool
    type delete
     
    Once successfully deleted, press Enter and then reboot your PC.
    The RAID array will be deleted.

    I'm not an Acer employee.
«13

FAQ & Answers

  • IronFlyIronFly ACE Posts: 18,415 Trailblazer
    Accepted Answer

    just follow the part in bold.

     

    Symptoms
    User can't delete RAID array, RAID option greyed on BIOS.
     
    Diagnosis
    User can create the RAID array via "Intel Rapid Storage Technology UI" (iRST) on Windows but can't delete RAID by "iRST" and RAID is the only option on BIOS (AHCI option is missing).
     
    Before deleting the RAID array
    Always remember to do the windows recovery media before running the RAID tool to delete the array.
    With the help of the Acer Care Center (pre-installed on your system), you can create the windows recovery media on an USB stick, so you can reinstall it later.
    In the AcerCare Center, click Recovery Management -> Getting Started, and then follow the instructions.
    http://acer.custhelp.com/app/answers/detail/a_id/38147
     
    You can also perform a backup of your actual windows installation, so using the windows recovery media, you can reload your OS at the time of the backup.
    Press Windows logo key and type "backup"
    click on "Backup and restore" and then follow on screen instructions.
    http://acer.custhelp.com/app/answers/detail/a_id/37461
     
    Solution
    First of all, check the Volume name of your array on "iRST".
    Press windows logo key and type "intel"
    click on "Intel Rapid Storage Technology"
    click on "Yes" if prompted
    check on the right side, under "Storage System View", that "Volume_0000" or "OEMRAID0" is the name of the array.
     
    if Type description is:
    RAID 1 or Recovery - no data will be lost
    RAID 0  - all your data will be lost - you will need to re-install Windows
     
    Download the RAID tool
    ftp://ftp.acer-euro.com/Notebook/Predator/GX-792/RAID_Tool.zip
     
    Right click the downloaded RAID_Tool.zip file  
    click on "Extract all"
    Click on "Browse..." 
    Click on "Computer"
    Click on "C:" (normally it's labeled "Acer (C: )
    Click on "Ok"
    Click on "Extract"
     
    Now click on the Windows logo at the bottom left of your screen
    Click on the Power icon
    Press Shift key and click on "Restart"
    On the next screen click on "Troubleshooting"
    On the next screen click on "Advanced settings"
    On the next screen click on "Command Prompt"
    Select your account and type your password (if any)
     
    At Command prompt 
    type C:
    type CD Raid_tool
    type delete
     
    Once successfully deleted, press Enter and then reboot your PC.
    The RAID array will be deleted.

    I'm not an Acer employee.
  • Tr4pD00rTr4pD00r Member Posts: 3

    Went to the store today to pick up a fresh usb stick for a recovery drive

    Fingers crossed hope all goes well

  • Tr4pD00rTr4pD00r Member Posts: 3

    THANK YOU!!

     

    After I followed these instructions step by step IRST now looks like this:

    disk.png

     

    Then I was able to use Disk Management to activate the drive and reassign it the letter D, its become usable again

    Thank you sir

  • KhaiLKhaiL Member Posts: 3

    Im having a same issue. I tried your solution but it still wont fix.

     

    My delete.bat: 

    @echo off

    drvload iaAHCIC.inf
    drvload iaStorAC.inf


    rstcli64.exe --manage --delete SATA_Array_0000

    rstcli64.exe --manage --delete Vol

    echo Done!
    pause
    exit

     

    22093517_859401547552536_247434002_n.jpg22091602_859401830885841_1317009708_n.jpg

     

  • IronFlyIronFly ACE Posts: 18,415 Trailblazer

    the problem is SATA_Array_0000 label

    check if you are able to edit the Array name on windows iRST to something shorter.

    the default .bat file strings are:

     

    @echo off
    rstcli64.exe --manage --delete OEMRAID0

    rstcli64.exe --manage --delete Volume_0000
    echo Done!
    pause
    exit

    I'm not an Acer employee.
  • KhaiLKhaiL Member Posts: 3

    I cant rename my Array name but the recovery disk (Volume_0000)

    Untitled.pngUntitled1.png

  • IronFlyIronFly ACE Posts: 18,415 Trailblazer

    ok, try to run the RAID tool with the string i posted.

    I'm not an Acer employee.
  • KhaiLKhaiL Member Posts: 3

    I changed delete.bat to the original one (keep OEMRAID0--->SATA_Array_0000)

     

    I got the same thing when I type rstcli64.exe --information or delete:

     

    Could not get system information.

    Could not get system info

    1

  • PSHANPSHAN Member Posts: 3 New User
    Hi

    please can you post a fresh link for the Raid tool, im also having the same issue.
    But raid tool download link isnt working.

    Thanks
  • IronFlyIronFly ACE Posts: 18,415 Trailblazer
    edited October 2017
    I'm not an Acer employee.
  • PSHANPSHAN Member Posts: 3 New User
    > @IronFly said:
    > ftp://ftp.acer-euro.com/Notebook/Predator/GX-792/RAID_Tool.zip
    >
    > copy and paste it on your browser.

    Thanks man!! cant wait to finish work, go home and try this!! it sucks.. i just got my acer predator yesterday and 1st login my hard disk is missing!!!
  • PSHANPSHAN Member Posts: 3 New User
    Dear IronFly.

    You just saved a visit to the service provider and hassle in handing over the laptop for a week. You are awesome!! thanks a million man.
    funny thing is i found this link, through a google image search "rapid storage".

    you are the man!! faith in humanity restored!!!!!
  • IronFlyIronFly ACE Posts: 18,415 Trailblazer
    you welcome!
    I'm not an Acer employee.
  • ztsmithztsmith Member Posts: 1 New User
    @KhaiL I'm having the same problem as you, I did all the steps just as @IronFly posted but I also get the "Could not get system information" lines and my drives stay in the volume, I've tried editing the name of the volume in iRST to match the Array Name and editing the .bat file to match but nothing seems to be working
  • IronFlyIronFly ACE Posts: 18,415 Trailblazer
    same laptop model?
    can you post a picture of iRST?
    I'm not an Acer employee.
  • ggralpyggralpy Member Posts: 2 New User
    Hi,

    May I know how the raid tool fixed this? I did exactly the same as what you said but I keep getting a could not get system information issue
  • IronFlyIronFly ACE Posts: 18,415 Trailblazer
    could you post or link a screenshot of windows Intel Rapid storage?
    I'm not an Acer employee.
  • ZeroTailedZeroTailed Member Posts: 2 New User
    Hi , @IronFly
    Please i'm also having the same issue - and getting the ( Could not get the system Information ) in Command prompt .
    below are details  

  • IronFlyIronFly ACE Posts: 18,415 Trailblazer
    i don't have a solution on "Could not get system information", the only workaround is to wipe the HDD and SSD, then re-install windows.
    I'm not an Acer employee.
  • RobsterRobster Member Posts: 3 New User
    This Thread helped me a lot to remove the arrays of the RAID 0 my hdd had. The RAID TOOL here is still useful as of 28th of NOV 2017. The other ones from the other thread (https://community.acer.com/en/discussion/comment/505400) however was not useful as the RAID_TOOL was outdated (RSCLI 14.8 couldn't modify the changes made by Intel Rapid Storage Technology v 15.2).

    However, I did made some errors along the way trying to resolve this issue. One issue was the recovery back-up USB that was supposed to help restore my laptop's original system image had some problems ( I used the same USB to create a Windows System Image that was in another thread ) kind of deleted some of the files in it during the start of trying to download it (it was not progressing at 0% so I thought it didn't do anything, I was wrong). So I was successful in deleting the arrays, separating the two hdd (with my 1tb Drive D: hdd showing up again) but at a significant cost. I lost the laptop's hidden recovery partition (so that means, using ALT F10 in the future might not necessarily help me as the factory reset settings is gone, no more factory reset),and all the other preset apps and programs and drivers that are specific to my laptop is also gone as well. What remains is just Windows 10 Installation (Vanilla version, so to speak). It was very "tasky" to actually download all the drivers in the ACER website (specific for the Predator Laptop), though some of them are not required because WINDOWS 10 had already installed the latest drivers for most of them (Thank goodness for WINDOWS 10 and Hardware Manufacturers putting built-in software on their hardwares, making it easy for looking for drivers online). 

    I do have a question, is it possible to get like a tool/package, or even a copy of the factory reset settings, that I can download and put on my USB so in the future, I can just use the USB to Factory Reset and recreate how my laptop originally was (with all the drivers and programs and all)?

    And also, how do I install this DOLBY Home Theatre v4 program. Once I installed the Dolby Audio Advance 2, it recognises it and would pop up as "PCEE already installed, unistall the program first", and if I did uninstall it and install the Dolby HT v4, an error pops out saying "DHT unable to install".
Sign In or Register to comment.

Who's Online946

0991962512
0991962512
Anaghap
Anaghap
AviT
AviT
Cyriix
Cyriix
Felipe96
Felipe96
Gawain
Gawain
JustinnSedeno
JustinnSedeno
Kaustubhh
Kaustubhh
LuckySoares
LuckySoares
Panel
Panel
rohitmca
rohitmca
s77
s77
uzaiirr
uzaiirr
VincentPohlmann
VincentPohlmann
William_mk2
William_mk2
Xqzme808
Xqzme808
YMIAL8290
YMIAL8290
Ze_nasc
Ze_nasc
+928 Guests

Join in, share your experience!

It looks like you're new here. Sign in or register to get started.

Assistance by Acer


Drivers &
Manuals

Acer
Answers

Get Product Information
( only)

Acer Support
Videos

Member Highlight

We are honored to have Leostat in the Acer Community. With their dedication, support and effort, Leostat has become one of the main collaborators. On behalf of our Acer Community Team and all of our users, we want to recognize and thank you for your dedication!

Total Posts and Comments: 2029

Total Points:6682

Total Accepted Answers: 253