Examples: Monday, today, last week, Mar 26, 3/26/04

Want to upgrade aspire 5600u ur13 from 6 GB to 16GB. Anyone done this? Crucial online tool says OK?

cincyjscincyjs Member Posts: 17

Tinkerer

I just spoke -online chat- to Acer and the tech(?) said 8GB was max. However, last year when I bought this they (Acer) said 16gb was max??? The online Crucial tool scanned my system and confirmed that 16GB was max. The Crucial recommended ram is DDR3 1600 mhz, PC3-12800 CL11 sodimm.  Any suggestions?

Best Answer

  • SnuffySnuffy Posts: 150 Fixer
    Accepted Answer
    Aspire AU5-610-UB12 upgrade to 16GB with no issue... and if Crucial says it works, they GUARANTEE it, but remember if you burn something I'm sure Crucial will not replace your machine... I looked an several other sites say 8GB Max. I do not find your actual Model listed... I would ASK CRUCIAL if they would validate memory for you system and if it burnt something up will they replace... when your talking about $$$$ caution on the side of Too caucious - and remember what Acer said

FAQ & Answers

  • Acer-BlaynAcer-Blayn Administrator Posts: 2,347 Community Administrator

    All of the documentation I have on this product shows we have only tested and can only provide support for 8GB of memory. Sorry for any inconvenience.

     

    http://store.acer.com/store/aceramer/en_US/pd/ThemeID.35703000/productID.282883500

     

  • SnuffySnuffy Member Posts: 150 Fixer
    Accepted Answer
    Aspire AU5-610-UB12 upgrade to 16GB with no issue... and if Crucial says it works, they GUARANTEE it, but remember if you burn something I'm sure Crucial will not replace your machine... I looked an several other sites say 8GB Max. I do not find your actual Model listed... I would ASK CRUCIAL if they would validate memory for you system and if it burnt something up will they replace... when your talking about $$$$ caution on the side of Too caucious - and remember what Acer said
  • cincyjscincyjs Member Posts: 17

    Tinkerer

    Thanks for your input. I just installed 16G of Crucial memory and it works great!

  • cincyjscincyjs Member Posts: 17

    Tinkerer

    To Acer-Blayan:  I just installed 16G of Crucial memory and it works great!

  • SnuffySnuffy Member Posts: 150 Fixer
    Mine updated and works just fine...
  • maopr16maopr16 Member Posts: 3

    What was your procedure for removing the back of the Aspire 5600U all-in-one?

    Thanks!

  • cincyjscincyjs Member Posts: 17

    Tinkerer

    I found the procedure here.   http://www.pcworld.com/article/2043557/review-acers-aspire-u-model-a5600u-ub13-is-a-stylish-aio-with-a-few-minor-flaws.html.  Anyway, here is what I did.  Not too difficult. Remove all cabling from rear of computer. Lay it down flat on a table or something flat. Be careful not to damage screen. The bottom half of the back is fastened with a couple of small screws. Just removed screws and slide off the loosened back cover. The memory is right there. The earlier Acer AIOs were nearly impossible to remove back which is why I did not buy that model. This one is better.

  • SnuffySnuffy Member Posts: 150 Fixer
    yep lay flat removed all cables and usb, then removed the 2 screws - U5-610 only has 2 screws.... carefully slide down. and then ground your self, then removed the old memory and carefully replace the new . reassemble and you should have 16GB. enjoy
  • maopr16maopr16 Member Posts: 3

    Yes, quite simple! Thanks, upgraded to 16gb and figured out the uefi hard drive migrating thing, will put ssd in next week.

  • SnuffySnuffy Member Posts: 150 Fixer
    very nice and the ssd should be a easy fit also... enjoy
  • cincyjscincyjs Member Posts: 17

    Tinkerer

    Glad to help out. It is maddening trying to get good info from the vendors on easy stuff like this. I am also interested in an SSD and need the uefi hard drive migrating solution. Please keep us posted on that installation.

  • maopr16maopr16 Member Posts: 3

    Hi,  I receioved the Samsung 840EVO SSD (500gb) today and installed it using the Paragon Migrate OS to SSD 4.0 ($15.96 with the coupn code: paragonsmartpon ) The samsung included migrator didn't work for me..the uefi issue? The paragon people seem to on top of the UEFI format. The drive works great!

  • cincyjscincyjs Member Posts: 17

    Tinkerer

    Thanks for the update!

  • cincyjscincyjs Member Posts: 17

    Tinkerer

    Hi, It has been awhile since I have been on this site, but your in comments on the memory upgrade discussion you mentioned that you were going to install an SSD. Did you do this?? Any special tweaks needed?

Sign In or Register to comment.

Who's Online449

Acer-Jose
Acer-Jose
Acer-Karp
Acer-Karp
Acer-Manny
Acer-Manny
awgustoo
awgustoo
batmalin
batmalin
Brian1155
Brian1155
brummyfan2
brummyfan2
brunosbh
brunosbh
Car1o
Car1o
Cleberson
Cleberson
Dchadd
Dchadd
drsn2003
drsn2003
egydiocoelho
egydiocoelho
Fernandoito018
Fernandoito018
GabrielDuarte
GabrielDuarte
Glaucco
Glaucco
HwangYeji
HwangYeji
janime3
janime3
ja_rod13
ja_rod13
jesus1978
jesus1978
Kno63
Kno63
KoDim97
KoDim97
LilMatcha
LilMatcha
Maeanes
Maeanes
mariasarvr
mariasarvr
RizwanJahangir
RizwanJahangir
Scared62
Scared62
SeanGarette
SeanGarette
xFusion
xFusion
+420 Guests

Join in, share your experience!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Assistance by Acer


Drivers &
Manuals

Acer
Answers

Get Product Information
( only)

Acer Support
Videos

Member Highlight

We want to recognize GAMING6698's dedicated efforts in the Acer Community. GAMING6698 has become one of the main collaborators since joining the Community in November of 2019.
On behalf of all our users and the Acer Team, we thank you for your dedication!

Total Posts and Comments: 3095

Total Points:5387

Total Accepted Answers: 271

GAMING6698 Mainframe Wrangler