Need BIOS update for Gateway DX4885

awon1988awon1988 Member Posts: 6

Tinkerer

I've checked the Gateway website and it is empty for that model :(

Appreciate any help pointing me in the right direction! :)

Best Answer

  • billseybillsey ACE Posts: 23,533 Trailblazer
    Answer ✓
    What the Gateway support site shows is that they didn't do a BIOS update after the initial release, so what you have is already the latest.
    Click on "Like" if you find my answer useful or click on "Yes" if it answers your question.

FAQ & Answers

  • awon1988awon1988 Member Posts: 6

    Tinkerer

    If it helps, my 'System Information' says...

    BIOS Version/Date: American Megatrends Inc. P11-A4, 11/1/2013

    But the model is Gateway DX4885.


    If there is any other information I can add that would help, please let me know. Thanks again!
  • egydiocoelhoegydiocoelho ACE Posts: 86,357 Trailblazer
    Why do you want to update the bios? Have you tried contacting gateway technical support?

    Oi! Eu não sou sou a cortana! Mas estou aqui para ajudar! Hi! I'm not the cortana! But I'm here to help!
    Se você gostou da minha resposta, marque como solução clicando em sim! If you liked my answer, mark it as a solution by clicking on yes!
    Aceite somente a resposta que ajudou a solucionar o seu problema! Please accept only the response that helped to solve your problem!
    Detection tool click here to find the serial number or partnumber of your model!                                                          

               
      egydiocoelho Trailblazer
     
    ProductKey clique aqui para descobrir o serial do windows! click here to discover the windows serial!
    Para usuários da comunidade inglesa, espanhola, francesa e alemã, usarei o google tradutor! :)
    For users of the English, Spanish, French and German community, I will be using google translator! :) 
  • awon1988awon1988 Member Posts: 6

    Tinkerer

    Gateway's support directs me to this community :)
    https://www.gateway.com/gw/en/US/content/contact-support

    Why do I want to update?
    My CPU fan is operating at low speed and I'd rather not run a third party software constantly to control fan speed. I currently run the processor at a low max state just so the computer doesn't auto shutdown :( Plus I'd like the ability to change the OEM logo to something custom at start up. I believe updated BIOS can fix both of those. At least that's what my research shows is likely.
  • egydiocoelhoegydiocoelho ACE Posts: 86,357 Trailblazer
    Can you send some pics of all the bios tabs? Have you tried using the argos monitor program?

    Oi! Eu não sou sou a cortana! Mas estou aqui para ajudar! Hi! I'm not the cortana! But I'm here to help!
    Se você gostou da minha resposta, marque como solução clicando em sim! If you liked my answer, mark it as a solution by clicking on yes!
    Aceite somente a resposta que ajudou a solucionar o seu problema! Please accept only the response that helped to solve your problem!
    Detection tool click here to find the serial number or partnumber of your model!                                                          

               
      egydiocoelho Trailblazer
     
    ProductKey clique aqui para descobrir o serial do windows! click here to discover the windows serial!
    Para usuários da comunidade inglesa, espanhola, francesa e alemã, usarei o google tradutor! :)
    For users of the English, Spanish, French and German community, I will be using google translator! :) 
  • billseybillsey ACE Posts: 23,533 Trailblazer
    The chances are very great that none of those enhancements have been added to the last BIOS released for that model, since it is almost ten years old. They typically do BIOS tweaks for the sales life of the product and only add really egregious security fixes after that. Fan speed adjustments through a user interface are typically only included in some of the BIOSes for the gaming systems and I haven't heard of any that allow custom splash screens, since they use that as an advertisement to help keep the brand name in the forefront of your thoughts.
    Click on "Like" if you find my answer useful or click on "Yes" if it answers your question.
  • awon1988awon1988 Member Posts: 6

    Tinkerer

    billsey said:
    I haven't heard of any that allow custom splash screens, since they use that as an advertisement to help keep the brand name in the forefront of your thoughts.


    You can change both by the looks of this.

    egydiocoelho said:
    Can you send some pics of all the bios tabs?

    I'm simply asking if anyone has the latest BIOS for this system. I've done my research and have zero questions, so I don't think there's any reason to take pics of my current BIOS. Is there some reason I'm missing?

    I don't mean to sound rude, but it's an easy thing.

    If anyone has the BIOS, I simply would like to download it and give it a shot :) Appreciate anyone who can hook it up.
  • billseybillsey ACE Posts: 23,533 Trailblazer
    When he says he's not going to cover ways to do it when there isn't custom software from the motherboard manufacturer because it's "somewhat risky" he is fully correct. Acer and Gateway don't provide any apps to do that kind of tweaking and if the image size isn't exactly the same as what's embedded in the stock BIOS you can easily end up with a big, heavy brick.
    Click on "Like" if you find my answer useful or click on "Yes" if it answers your question.
  • awon1988awon1988 Member Posts: 6

    Tinkerer

    billsey said:
    When he says he's not going to cover ways to do it when there isn't custom software from the motherboard manufacturer because it's "somewhat risky" he is fully correct. Acer and Gateway don't provide any apps to do that kind of tweaking and if the image size isn't exactly the same as what's embedded in the stock BIOS you can easily end up with a big, heavy brick.
    Ok, thanks billsey. I will keep this in mind.

    My simple question remains, does anyone have the last BIOS for the Gateway DX4885?
  • billseybillsey ACE Posts: 23,533 Trailblazer
    Answer ✓
    What the Gateway support site shows is that they didn't do a BIOS update after the initial release, so what you have is already the latest.
    Click on "Like" if you find my answer useful or click on "Yes" if it answers your question.
  • awon1988awon1988 Member Posts: 6

    Tinkerer

    billsey said:
    What the Gateway support site shows is that they didn't do a BIOS update after the initial release, so what you have is already the latest.
    Thank you, billsey :smile: That's all I need to know. Appreciate your help.
Sign In or Register to comment.

Who's Online1.7K

alicefrizza
alicefrizza
Andreriw
Andreriw
anubis_rpg
anubis_rpg
jcmolero71
jcmolero71
juliosonic
juliosonic
Mando_ayyy
Mando_ayyy
xapim
xapim
+1.7K Guests

Join in, share your experience!

It looks like you're new here. Sign in or register to get started.

Assistance by Acer


Drivers &
Manuals

Acer
Answers