Tutorial install Ubuntu 20.10 dual boot Windows 10 in dual drives in new Acer Nitro AN515-55-76SK

Simo998
Simo998 Member Posts: 35 Enthusiast WiFi Icon
edited November 2023 in 2020 Archives
I want to share my experience and here are the steps I used to do it.  (I tried to add a few more details for people doing this first time on a new laptop.)

BEFORE beginning anything -General note - Make sure your windows is up to date, plugged in and charged and your wifi is working and your touchpad is working properly. (Some of the new Acer Nitro515-55 have error, jittery or erratic touchpads like I did. Suggest get it fixed before if that is the case, because it could be a hardware issue.) And remember to always back up your windows files before doing this. I have been doing doual boot linux distros and windows for 7 years but it was first time I did on a new Acer. Also I usually just "clone" my whole Windows drive to a spare external hard drive as backup. There are many cloning software are available like Samsung Magician (if you are cloning to a Samsung ssd) or AOMEI backupEr (clone mode) or Minitools Shadow Maker (clone) etc I am not affiliated to any but I use them all. Also keep a WIndows recovery USB on hand just in case). (BTW Clonezilla would not recognize my Nvme drives so thats why I used other backup clone programs pre-install).

My assumptions & aim:

Install the  Linux distro Ubuntu 20.04 (in my case in the end was Ubuntu 20.10 but either should be same) and Windows dual boot into TWO separate drives and keep a third drive as storage and have Grub take over as my default bootloader where I can later choose to boot into Ubuntu or Windows. I assume you already know how to download and verify an Ubuntu ISO and install into a USB to create a live disk (many tutorials online).

my machine/ pre-installation:

Acer Nitro 5 (2020 model) laptop AN5-15-55-76SK i7 10750H GTX1650i, 16Gb ram, 144Mhz