Predator 17 G9-791-72C4 Won't Turn On

Eagles
Eagles Member Posts: 2 New User
edited November 2023 in 2019 Archives
Hey, so as of yesterday my predator 17 G9-791-72C4 won't turn on.
I've had it for just over 3 years now, so well and truly out of warranty. But i figure 3 years isn't too long for it to start playing up, especially when I hadn't seen any signs of system failure until last week.
A bit of background, I bought this laptop when I still lived in New Zealand, but have since moved to Germany and been using it with a plug adapter to go from A/NZ plugs to EU plug sizes. I've been using the adapter for at least 2 months without issue (but i wouldn't be surprised if it was the different plug types that might have caused an issue).
Last week, Thursday to be exact, I was playing Classic WoW for roughly an hour when my laptop randomly turned off (no error screen or freezing) and wouldn't turn on again straight away. First thought was that the battery drained too quickly and so I checked over the sockets and that the cord was in properly then left it for a while. Coming back the laptop turned on like normal and I continued to play until I got another crash within an hour. This time I figured it was an overheating problem so I took off the covers and cleaned the fans which had a lot of dust. Tried playing again and got a crash again after an hour or so. I left it off for the day.