Acer Helios 500 - RAM upgrade

skyrunner86
skyrunner86 Member Posts: 17 Troubleshooter
edited October 2023 in 2019 Archives
hi everyone,

i'm seriously considering a purchase of Acer Helios 500 with Ryzen 7 CPU. Apparently it's an issue to have Ryzen 7 CPU paired with RAM with frequency set to 2400 Mhz. I'm no expert in this matter, but i've heard it's a limiting factor for AMD Ryzen. I've seen reviews criticizing Acer for putting such a slow memory into this model. So i consider replacing out of the box memory sticks  (2 x 8 GB 2400Mhz) with 2 x 16 GB 2666 Mhz CL 15. Are there any manuals describing how to get to less accessible RAM slots where stock RAM sticks are mounted?

Answers

• Hello,
    You'll find informations in this procedure:
    France
  • skyrunner86
    thanks for your reply. The problem is that i want to replace 2 stock RAM sticks with more capable components. This laptop has 4 RAM slots. Two are occupied by stock memory sticks, the other two are free and easily accessible (as described in the link you provided). So the trick is the get rid of 2 slow memory sticks in the less accessible area.
  • sri369
    sri369 ACE Posts: 2,623 Pathfinder
    I've seen reviews criticizing Acer for putting such a slow memory into this model. So i consider replacing out of the box memory sticks  (2 x 8 GB 2400Mhz) with 2 x 16 GB 2666 Mhz CL 15.
    Out of curiosity, are you intending to replace these cos some reviewers said 2400 is slow and should use 2666, or did you feel that the system was infact slower than what it is supposed to be?
    Karma...
    LIKE - if helpful
    ACCEPT - if helped resolve
    ---------
    Nitro 7 - AN715-51 - user benchmark: https://www.userbenchmark.com/UserRun/37631045
  • skyrunner86
    sri369 said:
    I've seen reviews criticizing Acer for putting such a slow memory into this model. So i consider replacing out of the box memory sticks  (2 x 8 GB 2400Mhz) with 2 x 16 GB 2666 Mhz CL 15.