Examples: Monday, today, last week, Mar 26, 3/26/04

Predator Helios 500: upgrading RAM for 32GB total

_albie__albie_ Posts: 21Member Networker
I used "CPU-Z" to identify the RAM in my latop : 

DIMM # 1
SMBus address 0x51
Memory type DDR4
Module format SO-DIMM
Manufacturer (ID) Hyundai Electronics (AD00000000000000000000)
Size 8192 MBytes
Max bandwidth DDR4-2400 (1200 MHz)
Part number HMA81GS6AFR8N-UH  
Serial number B0A31106
Manufacturing date Week 03/Year 18
Nominal Voltage 1.20 Volts
EPP no
XMP no
AMP no
JEDEC timings table CL-tRCD-tRP-tRAS-tRC @ frequency
JEDEC #1 10.0-10-10-24-34 @ 727 MHz
JEDEC #2 11.0-11-11-26-37 @ 800 MHz
JEDEC #3 12.0-12-12-28-40 @ 872 MHz
JEDEC #4 13.0-14-14-31-44 @ 945 MHz
JEDEC #5 14.0-14-14-33-47 @ 1018 MHz
JEDEC #6 15.0-15-15-35-50 @ 1090 MHz
JEDEC #7 16.0-16-16-38-54 @ 1163 MHz
JEDEC #8 17.0-17-17-39-55 @ 1200 MHz
JEDEC #9 18.0-17-17-39-55 @ 1200 MHz

DIMM # 2
SMBus address 0x53
Memory type DDR4
Module format SO-DIMM
Manufacturer (ID) Hyundai Electronics (AD00000000000000000000)
Size 8192 MBytes
Max bandwidth DDR4-2400 (1200 MHz)
Part number HMA81GS6AFR8N-UH  
Serial number B0A31166
Manufacturing date Week 03/Year 18
Nominal Voltage 1.20 Volts
EPP no
XMP no
AMP no
JEDEC timings table CL-tRCD-tRP-tRAS-tRC @ frequency
JEDEC #1 10.0-10-10-24-34 @ 727 MHz
JEDEC #2 11.0-11-11-26-37 @ 800 MHz
JEDEC #3 12.0-12-12-28-40 @ 872 MHz
JEDEC #4 13.0-14-14-31-44 @ 945 MHz
JEDEC #5 14.0-14-14-33-47 @ 1018 MHz
JEDEC #6 15.0-15-15-35-50 @ 1090 MHz
JEDEC #7 16.0-16-16-38-54 @ 1163 MHz
JEDEC #8 17.0-17-17-39-55 @ 1200 MHz
JEDEC #9 18.0-17-17-39-55 @ 1200 MHz

QUESTION
to install another 16GB into the (easy to reach slots #3 and #4) do I simply buy two of these (link below) and pop them in? 
https://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=9SIADRH7F58461

«13

FAQ & Answers

  • Jack22Jack22 Posts: 1,487ACE Pioneer
    @albie
    May i have the unit model number
  • _albie__albie_ Posts: 21Member Networker
    The model number is: N17Q11
  • Is your model PH517-51? If it supports this type of memory:



    Oi! Eu não sou sou a cortana! Mas estou aqui para ajudar! Hi! I'm not the cortana! But I'm here to help!
    Se você gostou da minha resposta, marque como solução clicando em promover! If you liked my answer, mark it as a solution by clicking on Promote!
    Aceite somente a resposta que ajudou a solucionar o seu problema! Please accept only the response that helped to solve your problem!
    Detection tool
     

    ProductKey
    Para usuários da comunidade inglesa, espanhola, francesa e alemã, usarei o google tradutor! :)
    For users of the English, Spanish, French and German community, I will be using google translator! :) 
  • Jack22Jack22 Posts: 1,487ACE Pioneer
    Model number starts with PH
  • _albie__albie_ Posts: 21Member Networker
    that's funny, on the bottom, the sticker shows MODEL NO. N17Q11
    but yes, PH517-51-98Y7 shows above the S/N
  • Red-SandRed-Sand Posts: 1,703ACE Pathfinder
    edited September 2018
    _albie_ said:
    I used "CPU-Z" to identify the RAM in my latop : 

    DIMM # 1
    SMBus address 0x51
    Memory type DDR4
    Module format SO-DIMM
    Manufacturer (ID) Hyundai Electronics (AD00000000000000000000)
    Size 8192 MBytes
    Max bandwidth DDR4-2400 (1200 MHz)
    Part number HMA81GS6AFR8N-UH  
    Serial number B0A31106
    Manufacturing date Week 03/Year 18
    Nominal Voltage 1.20 Volts
    EPP no
    XMP no
    AMP no
    JEDEC timings table CL-tRCD-tRP-tRAS-tRC @ frequency
    JEDEC #1 10.0-10-10-24-34 @ 727 MHz
    JEDEC #2 11.0-11-11-26-37 @ 800 MHz
    JEDEC #3 12.0-12-12-28-40 @ 872 MHz
    JEDEC #4 13.0-14-14-31-44 @ 945 MHz
    JEDEC #5 14.0-14-14-33-47 @ 1018 MHz
    JEDEC #6 15.0-15-15-35-50 @ 1090 MHz
    JEDEC #7 16.0-16-16-38-54 @ 1163 MHz
    JEDEC #8 17.0-17-17-39-55 @ 1200 MHz
    JEDEC #9 18.0-17-17-39-55 @ 1200 MHz

    DIMM # 2
    SMBus address 0x53
    Memory type DDR4
    Module format SO-DIMM
    Manufacturer (ID) Hyundai Electronics (AD00000000000000000000)
    Size 8192 MBytes
    Max bandwidth DDR4-2400 (1200 MHz)
    Part number HMA81GS6AFR8N-UH  
    Serial number B0A31166
    Manufacturing date Week 03/Year 18
    Nominal Voltage 1.20 Volts
    EPP no
    XMP no
    AMP no
    JEDEC timings table CL-tRCD-tRP-tRAS-tRC @ frequency
    JEDEC #1 10.0-10-10-24-34 @ 727 MHz
    JEDEC #2 11.0-11-11-26-37 @ 800 MHz
    JEDEC #3 12.0-12-12-28-40 @ 872 MHz
    JEDEC #4 13.0-14-14-31-44 @ 945 MHz
    JEDEC #5 14.0-14-14-33-47 @ 1018 MHz
    JEDEC #6 15.0-15-15-35-50 @ 1090 MHz
    JEDEC #7 16.0-16-16-38-54 @ 1163 MHz
    JEDEC #8 17.0-17-17-39-55 @ 1200 MHz
    JEDEC #9 18.0-17-17-39-55 @ 1200 MHz

    QUESTION
    to install another 16GB into the (easy to reach slots #3 and #4) do I simply buy two of these (link below) and pop them in? 
    https://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=9SIADRH7F58461


    Hard to tell really since specs are not listed on the newegg page..

    I know typically you want to add RAM that has the same timings, cas latency, voltages and of the same size (so duel 8gb is good).

    It may not have as much of an effect due to extra slots in their own channel so it may not be subject to being of the same specs so maybe someone else can chime in there.. but my OCD wouldn't allow it so I would do as I described! 😂
    - Hotel Hero
  • egydiocoelhoegydiocoelho Posts: 12,121ACE Trailblazer
    edited September 2018
    I agree with colleague @ Red-Sand! You should buy two memories of 8GB of RAM, with the same casency latency and voltage so that you can use the dual-channel!

    Oi! Eu não sou sou a cortana! Mas estou aqui para ajudar! Hi! I'm not the cortana! But I'm here to help!
    Se você gostou da minha resposta, marque como solução clicando em promover! If you liked my answer, mark it as a solution by clicking on Promote!
    Aceite somente a resposta que ajudou a solucionar o seu problema! Please accept only the response that helped to solve your problem!
    Detection tool
     

    ProductKey
    Para usuários da comunidade inglesa, espanhola, francesa e alemã, usarei o google tradutor! :)
    For users of the English, Spanish, French and German community, I will be using google translator! :) 
  • _albie__albie_ Posts: 21Member Networker
    I agree, I heard the same thing - that the memory types should essentially be the same for best performance.
    That's why I resorted to "CPU-Z" to get the technical details so that I can order the exact same 8GB modules.


  • egydiocoelhoegydiocoelho Posts: 12,121ACE Trailblazer
    edited September 2018
    Do you fru list it up?


    Oi! Eu não sou sou a cortana! Mas estou aqui para ajudar! Hi! I'm not the cortana! But I'm here to help!
    Se você gostou da minha resposta, marque como solução clicando em promover! If you liked my answer, mark it as a solution by clicking on Promote!
    Aceite somente a resposta que ajudou a solucionar o seu problema! Please accept only the response that helped to solve your problem!
    Detection tool
     

    ProductKey
    Para usuários da comunidade inglesa, espanhola, francesa e alemã, usarei o google tradutor! :)
    For users of the English, Spanish, French and German community, I will be using google translator! :) 
  • _albie_ said:
    I agree, I heard the same thing - that the memory types should essentially be the same for best performance.
    That's why I resorted to "CPU-Z" to get the technical details so that I can order the exact same 8GB modules.



    As long as the models match then thats a good bet!
    - Hotel Hero
  • vanadiumvanadium Posts: 66Member Devotee
    I added 2x16GB RAM Gskill (found for 170€ on ebay) in addition to 2x8GB Hynix RAM already installed. No problem at all, each memory channel is filled with 24GB. I run all the RAM at 2666Mhz. Performance is great!
  • Great, my friend! Congratulations on getting those rams memories!
    Oi! Eu não sou sou a cortana! Mas estou aqui para ajudar! Hi! I'm not the cortana! But I'm here to help!
    Se você gostou da minha resposta, marque como solução clicando em promover! If you liked my answer, mark it as a solution by clicking on Promote!
    Aceite somente a resposta que ajudou a solucionar o seu problema! Please accept only the response that helped to solve your problem!
    Detection tool
     

    ProductKey
    Para usuários da comunidade inglesa, espanhola, francesa e alemã, usarei o google tradutor! :)
    For users of the English, Spanish, French and German community, I will be using google translator! :) 
  • It is a service guide that are made available to ACE users! Acer releases service guides so these ACE users can help other users, so the Acer community is considered a peer to peer community!
    Acer prohibits the distribution of service guides outside the community!
    Oi! Eu não sou sou a cortana! Mas estou aqui para ajudar! Hi! I'm not the cortana! But I'm here to help!
    Se você gostou da minha resposta, marque como solução clicando em promover! If you liked my answer, mark it as a solution by clicking on Promote!
    Aceite somente a resposta que ajudou a solucionar o seu problema! Please accept only the response that helped to solve your problem!
    Detection tool
     

    ProductKey
    Para usuários da comunidade inglesa, espanhola, francesa e alemã, usarei o google tradutor! :)
    For users of the English, Spanish, French and German community, I will be using google translator! :) 
  • PredatorHelios500PredatorHelios500 Posts: 58Member Devotee
    Hi, egydioceolho.

    It looks like you are replying to my message, which seems to have been removed.

    How does an ACE community member get the service guide? Also why is my RAM at 2666MHz if the Helios 500 wants 2400MHz RAM?

    Cheers,
    Helios 500 Owner
  • vanadiumvanadium Posts: 66Member Devotee
    edited September 2018
    Helios 500 equiped with a 8750h officially supports RAM speed up to 2666Mhz according to CPU specs. But if you mix 2400 and 2666Mhz RAM, it's most likely the RAM will run at the lower speed for stability reasons.
    EDIT: and dual channel works fine as long as you put 2 dimms with same size in those empty slots. Either 2x8GB if you want 32GB or RAM total, or 2x16GB RAM if you want to have 48GB RAM total.

  • When a user contributes to the community consistently and with quality, he receives the ACE! When the user receives this badge, he receives a user and password to access the service guides! However I can not distribute these service guides in an environment that is outside the Acer community!
    Sometimes the service guides do not show all information about the model! When I showed the fru list of the rams memories, you will see that it is compatible with the rams memories of 2666mhz! However, if you have two rams memories, one with 2400mhz and one with 2666mhz, both will only work at the speed of 2400mhz as said colleague @vanadium!
    Oi! Eu não sou sou a cortana! Mas estou aqui para ajudar! Hi! I'm not the cortana! But I'm here to help!
    Se você gostou da minha resposta, marque como solução clicando em promover! If you liked my answer, mark it as a solution by clicking on Promote!
    Aceite somente a resposta que ajudou a solucionar o seu problema! Please accept only the response that helped to solve your problem!
    Detection tool
     

    ProductKey
    Para usuários da comunidade inglesa, espanhola, francesa e alemã, usarei o google tradutor! :)
    For users of the English, Spanish, French and German community, I will be using google translator! :) 
  • @PredatorHelios500! Can you tell which is the exact model of your notebook?
    Oi! Eu não sou sou a cortana! Mas estou aqui para ajudar! Hi! I'm not the cortana! But I'm here to help!
    Se você gostou da minha resposta, marque como solução clicando em promover! If you liked my answer, mark it as a solution by clicking on Promote!
    Aceite somente a resposta que ajudou a solucionar o seu problema! Please accept only the response that helped to solve your problem!
    Detection tool
     

    ProductKey
    Para usuários da comunidade inglesa, espanhola, francesa e alemã, usarei o google tradutor! :)
    For users of the English, Spanish, French and German community, I will be using google translator! :) 
  • PredatorHelios500PredatorHelios500 Posts: 58Member Devotee
    Hi, everybody. Thank you for your replies.

    Here are stock parts that came with my PH517-51:
    • Intel Core i9-8950HK 2.90GHz
    • 32 Gb RAM = 2x16Gb Kingston DDR4 2667MHz (ACR26D4S9D8MD-16)
    • Toshiba 512Gb M.2 NVMe PCIe SSD THNSN5512GPU7
    • Western Digital Blue Mobile 1Tb HDD WDC WD10SPZX
    • NVIDIA GTX 1070 8Gb DDR5
    • Killer Wireless-AC 1550i Adapter 9560NGW
    • Killer E2500 Gigabit Ethernet Controller
    • 17.3-inch 1080p HD display
    The part I'm still puzzled about is why the ram is running at 1200mV which is lower than the 1250mV minimum recommended by the RAM itself. Did Acer purposely undervolt the RAM to keep thermals under control?

    wmic MEMORYCHIP get
    Attributes BankLabel Capacity Caption ConfiguredClockSpeed ConfiguredVoltage CreationClassName DataWidth Description DeviceLocator FormFactor HotSwappable InstallDate InterleaveDataDepth InterleavePosition Manufacturer MaxVoltage MemoryType MinVoltage Model Name OtherIdentifyingInfo PartNumber PositionInRow PoweredOn Removable Replaceable SerialNumber SKU SMBIOSMemoryType Speed Status Tag TotalWidth TypeDetail Version
    2 BANK 1 17179869184 Physical Memory 2667 1200 Win32_PhysicalMemory 64 Physical Memory ChannelA-DIMM1 12 Kingston 1500 0 1250 Physical Memory ACR26D4S9D8MD-16 2336D9ED 26 8400 Physical Memory 1 64 128
    2 BANK 3 17179869184 Physical Memory 2667 1200 Win32_PhysicalMemory 64 Physical Memory ChannelB-DIMM1 12 Kingston 1500 0 1250 Physical Memory ACR26D4S9D8MD-16 2236DAED 26 8400 Physical Memory 3 64 128


    It's a fantastic machine as is but I want to beef it up in the coming months. And after tinkering with Windows games for a while I'm going to install Linux and it will become my main machine for coding... hopefully it will be good enough to last ten years or so. I'm old and my strategy with laptops has been to buy the top of the line consumer laptop every 10 years or so rather than a lower tier laptop which needs to be replaced every 3 or 4 years. So far I'm extremely happy with the Helios 500. It's the best designed laptop I've ever had. Acer has a real winner here. It seems like it would be very easy for Acer to support Linux on it. If I found a magic lamp, that's what I'd wish for.

    Pretty much the only issue I've had is that the black case makes dust very visible so I often find myself cleaning the surface. Hopefully the look keeps its luster as the years go by. I'd also recommend a sliding door for the web cam. I HATE a web cam staring me in the face. I don't want anybody seeing me without my explicit choice and there are just too many ways for crackers to access the webcam. Seems no big OEM puts these on their laptops though... so sticker over the web cam yet again.

    Cheers,
    Helios 500 Owner

    PS Why does Acer even want to keep the service manual secret? I can't imagine service makes them that much money to make this practice a good









  • This model supports voltage from 1.14 to 1.26v! Did you show us the specification of this memory?
    Oi! Eu não sou sou a cortana! Mas estou aqui para ajudar! Hi! I'm not the cortana! But I'm here to help!
    Se você gostou da minha resposta, marque como solução clicando em promover! If you liked my answer, mark it as a solution by clicking on Promote!
    Aceite somente a resposta que ajudou a solucionar o seu problema! Please accept only the response that helped to solve your problem!
    Detection tool
     

    ProductKey
    Para usuários da comunidade inglesa, espanhola, francesa e alemã, usarei o google tradutor! :)
    For users of the English, Spanish, French and German community, I will be using google translator! :) 
  • PredatorHelios500PredatorHelios500 Posts: 58Member Devotee
    edited September 2018
    This model supports voltage from 1.14 to 1.26v! Did you show us the specification of this memory?

    All the information I have is in the output listing from wmic I gave. Windows reports a MaxVoltage of 1500mV and a MinVoltage of 1250mV but a ConfiguredVoltage of 1200mV. So for whatever reason the RAM is undervolted by 0.050mV. There are no spec sheets for this RAM I can find. I asked Acer customer support about this RAM but they only referred me to their parts store if I wanted more RAM and provided no more information. I also asked Kingston who appears to be the manufactor but haven't heard back yet.  That part number is not in Kingston's  "Memory Finder" database yet, nor is the Helios 500 although the Helios 300 is.

    Cheers,
    Helios 500 owner
«13
Sign In or Register to comment.

Who's Online133

Acer-Harvey
Acer-Harvey
Acer-Karp
Acer-Karp
Acer-Tim
Acer-Tim
Bean143
Bean143
Cyriix
Cyriix
henriquerpc
henriquerpc
JackE
JackE
Kno63
Kno63
lukeantonissen
lukeantonissen
MaClane
MaClane
MegaParsec
MegaParsec
Rosenstock
Rosenstock
steve972
steve972
Torben
Torben
+119 Guests

Join in, share your experience!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Announcements

Acer Community is now available in French! We are delighted to announce the addition of French to the list of supported languages in order to reach more users and expand on our mission to break the barriers between people and technology. You can access the French community from the drop down language menu located next to your username on the top right corner.


Participez aux discussions !

New Here?

Register to get all the benefits of being a member! Get social and introduce yourself in our Welcome Forum, or learn about our ACE Program and What's Happening at Acer.

Intel Extreme KAtowise 2019
Predator Join the forum discussions on our
Predator line of products.
Find out about the Acer ACE program.