image

How do I fix the windows start button?

KaliberCrunchKaliberCrunch Member Posts: 6 New User
edited January 17 in Windows 10
my Windows start menu button was working (to launch the start menu on the screen) but this morning it stopped working after I shut it down from the sleep mode. I have tried everything that is in this video on YouTube. But nothing from that video is working. How do I fix this?

FAQ & Answers

  • GAMING6698GAMING6698 ACE Posts: 4,037 Pathfinder
    Last night my Windows start menu button was working (to launch the start menu on the screen) but this morning it stopped working after I shut it down from the sleep mode. I have tried everything that is in this video on YouTube. But nothing from that video is working. How do I fix this?

    Perform a sfc scan on the computer to check if there are any corruptions on the computer. Please follow the below link to perform a sfc scan on the computer.

    https://support.microsoft.com/en-us/kb/929833

    windows 10 optimization guide for gaming 
    https://community.acer.com/en/discussion/612495/windows-10-optimization-guide-for-gaming

    Acer Nitro 5 (AN515-43)
    https://www.userbenchmark.com/UserRun/32161127

    This is all the games I've completed from my Nitro 5 

    Devil May Cry 5, sekiro: shadows die twice, Watch dogs 2, star wars jade fallen order and Middle earth: Shadow of war
  • andylbandylb ACE Posts: 3,828 Pathfinder
    @GAMING6698 he said above that nothing in the video worked which includes an sfc scan

    Please click YES if I answered your question

    I am not an ACER employee
    Thank you and have a blessed day  B)

    ★★ ACE Pathfinder 2019★★

  • KaliberCrunchKaliberCrunch Member Posts: 6 New User
    @andylb You would correct. 
  • andylbandylb ACE Posts: 3,828 Pathfinder
    Try pressing Control + Alt + Del and select "Sign out" then log back in. let me know

    Please click YES if I answered your question

    I am not an ACER employee
    Thank you and have a blessed day  B)

    ★★ ACE Pathfinder 2019★★

  • KaliberCrunchKaliberCrunch Member Posts: 6 New User
    That did not work either. @andylb
  • andylbandylb ACE Posts: 3,828 Pathfinder
    Does the Windows key on your Keyboard launch the start menu? or are both the screen button and the keyboard button not working?

    Please click YES if I answered your question

    I am not an ACER employee
    Thank you and have a blessed day  B)

    ★★ ACE Pathfinder 2019★★

  • KaliberCrunchKaliberCrunch Member Posts: 6 New User
    A few seconds ago my laptop just made very quick buzz sound. I am don't know what that sound is supposed to mean but I gave windows key another try to see if it would launch the windows start menu and it worked. So something on this computer is either making it short out that one window key or something. What would be the cause of this strange thing?
  • andylbandylb ACE Posts: 3,828 Pathfinder
    edited January 17
    A few seconds ago my laptop just made very quick buzz sound. I am don't know what that sound is supposed to mean but I gave windows key another try to see if it would launch the windows start menu and it worked. So something on this computer is either making it short out that one window key or something. What would be the cause of this strange thing?

    Frankly I have know idea but it is unlikely to be something shorting out. Sometimes Windows will throw a tantrum and then decide to behave. As for the sound, the system can do that on occasion and it is transmitted over the speakers. My advice is to put it down to experience and carry on but monitor the situation for anything else unusual

    Please click YES if I answered your question

    I am not an ACER employee
    Thank you and have a blessed day  B)

    ★★ ACE Pathfinder 2019★★

  • KaliberCrunchKaliberCrunch Member Posts: 6 New User
    Will do @andylb
  • KaliberCrunchKaliberCrunch Member Posts: 6 New User
    I think there was a software delay from an application that I installed yesterday but then windows installed software that made the software that I installed obsolete. 
  • andylbandylb ACE Posts: 3,828 Pathfinder
    I think there was a software delay from an application that I installed yesterday but then windows installed software that made the software that I installed obsolete. 
    Yep windows is weird and I've had it snap crackle and pop myself but all seems good now

    Please click YES if I have helped solve your problem 

    Please click YES if I answered your question

    I am not an ACER employee
    Thank you and have a blessed day  B)

    ★★ ACE Pathfinder 2019★★

Sign In or Register to comment.

Who's Online1.7K

Acer-Laura
Acer-Laura
ASWIFT3USERFROMINDIA
ASWIFT3USERFROMINDIA
brummyfan2
brummyfan2
DarkReye
DarkReye
dsachica
dsachica
GAMING6698
GAMING6698
Hacıboy
Hacıboy
Himanshu308
Himanshu308
Kno63
Kno63
Macca1996
Macca1996
Mankee
Mankee
Marc555
Marc555
mattbushnell083
mattbushnell083
MediaJockey
MediaJockey
Melvin_Yesudas
Melvin_Yesudas
NGZEUS
NGZEUS
Pradeep42
Pradeep42
Red-Sand
Red-Sand
RoshanV
RoshanV
Willinoy
Willinoy
xavidegor
xavidegor
+1.7K Guests

Join in, share your experience!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Assistance by Acer


Drivers &
Manuals

Acer
Answers

Get Product Information
( only)

Acer Support
Videos