next@acer 2020

Why is my PH315-52-78VL GPU reaching 80 C on menus?

KefkaPalazzoKefkaPalazzo Member Posts: 6 New User
Hello, I have been having this issue for a couple weeks now and haven’t found a solution. The GPU fan had stopped working about 1 month ago and started working again soon after for some reason. After that, I noticed the GPU started reaching 80 C within seconds of me opening a game like FFXIV or any game in general in the menus. I know that 80 C is normal for laptops but this shouldn’t be happening within seconds and much less in a menu. The GPU fan also hits 4000 RPM within those few seconds of me opening a game. The idle RPM is always above 2000 RPM and is annoying since it’s always audible. I’m sure there is something wrong here since this hadn’t happened before and is really annoying since the fans are very loud when they shouldn’t be. Could this be a malfunctioning fan or something else? Is there a setting on the laptop which I could alter to help alleviate this issue? I recently sent it to Acer for a repair but that did nothing since the only thing they did was change the thermal paste and clean the thermal module as stated on the report sheet. Any help is appreciated and thanks in advance.

FAQ & Answers

  • sri369sri369 ACE Posts: 1,950 Pathfinder
    Try doing a graphics benchmarking software run and capture its results. Maybe you got a lemon.
    Karma...
    LIKE - if helpful
    ACCEPT - if helped resolve
    ---------
    I am not an Acer employee.
    Your issue could get better coverage and more answers if posted in forums than in a message to me.

    ---------
    User benchmark: https://www.userbenchmark.com/UserRun/10977437


  • KefkaPalazzoKefkaPalazzo Member Posts: 6 New User
    sri369 said:
    Try doing a graphics benchmarking software run and capture its results. Maybe you got a lemon.
    I ran heaven benchmark and the same thing happened. The fan speeds up to 4000 RPM in under a minute. A similar thing had happened with my CPU when starting the laptop it would jump to 70s C immediately and cool off after a bit. I fixed that by changing the maximum processor state from 100% to 99%. Do you know if there something similar for the GPU? Thanks for helping. 
  • sri369sri369 ACE Posts: 1,950 Pathfinder
    edited October 2019
    sri369 said:
    Try doing a graphics benchmarking software run and capture its results. Maybe you got a lemon.
    I ran heaven benchmark and the same thing happened. The fan speeds up to 4000 RPM in under a minute. A similar thing had happened with my CPU when starting the laptop it would jump to 70s C immediately and cool off after a bit. I fixed that by changing the maximum processor state from 100% to 99%. Do you know if there something similar for the GPU? Thanks for helping. 
    Try using my power plan and see if that helps:

    1. Press Win+X and select Command Prompt (Admin) to open the elevated Command Prompt.
    2. Copy and paste the following command and hit Enter to export the power plan
    powercfg -import PowerPlanWin10Srinivas11oct2019.pow
    3. When it’s done, you will get the message, Imported Power Scheme Successfully.

    Select the power plan.
    Karma...
    LIKE - if helpful
    ACCEPT - if helped resolve
    ---------
    I am not an Acer employee.
    Your issue could get better coverage and more answers if posted in forums than in a message to me.

    ---------
    User benchmark: https://www.userbenchmark.com/UserRun/10977437


  • KefkaPalazzoKefkaPalazzo Member Posts: 6 New User
    sri369 said:
    sri369 said:
    Try doing a graphics benchmarking software run and capture its results. Maybe you got a lemon.
    I ran heaven benchmark and the same thing happened. The fan speeds up to 4000 RPM in under a minute. A similar thing had happened with my CPU when starting the laptop it would jump to 70s C immediately and cool off after a bit. I fixed that by changing the maximum processor state from 100% to 99%. Do you know if there something similar for the GPU? Thanks for helping. 
    Try using my power plan and see if that helps:

    1. Press Win+X and select Command Prompt (Admin) to open the elevated Command Prompt.
    2. Copy and paste the following command and hit Enter to export the power plan
    powercfg -import PowerPlanWin10Srinivas11oct2019.pow
    3. When it’s done, you will get the message, Imported Power Scheme Successfully.

    Select the power plan.
    Hey, the prompt says that no file was found. I am copying and pasting it into the command prompt as an admin but nothing happens. Am I doing something wrong?
  • sri369sri369 ACE Posts: 1,950 Pathfinder
    sri369 said:
    Try using my power plan and see if that helps:

    1. Press Win+X and select Command Prompt (Admin) to open the elevated Command Prompt.
    2. Copy and paste the following command and hit Enter to export the power plan
    powercfg -import PowerPlanWin10Srinivas11oct2019.pow
    3. When it’s done, you will get the message, Imported Power Scheme Successfully.

    Select the power plan.
    Hey, the prompt says that no file was found. I am copying and pasting it into the command prompt as an admin but nothing happens. Am I doing something wrong?
    Try giving full path like powercfg -import "d:\PowerPlanWin10Srinivas11oct2019.pow"
    Karma...
    LIKE - if helpful
    ACCEPT - if helped resolve
    ---------
    I am not an Acer employee.
    Your issue could get better coverage and more answers if posted in forums than in a message to me.

    ---------
    User benchmark: https://www.userbenchmark.com/UserRun/10977437


  • KefkaPalazzoKefkaPalazzo Member Posts: 6 New User
    sri369 said:
    sri369 said:
    Try using my power plan and see if that helps:

    1. Press Win+X and select Command Prompt (Admin) to open the elevated Command Prompt.
    2. Copy and paste the following command and hit Enter to export the power plan
    powercfg -import PowerPlanWin10Srinivas11oct2019.pow
    3. When it’s done, you will get the message, Imported Power Scheme Successfully.

    Select the power plan.
    Hey, the prompt says that no file was found. I am copying and pasting it into the command prompt as an admin but nothing happens. Am I doing something wrong?
    Try giving full path like powercfg -import "d:\PowerPlanWin10Srinivas11oct2019.pow"
    Still not working. Do you think this could be more a hardware issue than software, since the GPU is reaching high 70s C in a couple of seconds while the CPU is fine?
  • sri369sri369 ACE Posts: 1,950 Pathfinder
    Still not working. Do you think this could be more a hardware issue than software, since the GPU is reaching high 70s C in a couple of seconds while the CPU is fine?
    I am not sure what else to do from a software side. Sorry.
    Karma...
    LIKE - if helpful
    ACCEPT - if helped resolve
    ---------
    I am not an Acer employee.
    Your issue could get better coverage and more answers if posted in forums than in a message to me.

    ---------
    User benchmark: https://www.userbenchmark.com/UserRun/10977437


  • KefkaPalazzoKefkaPalazzo Member Posts: 6 New User
    sri369 said:
    Still not working. Do you think this could be more a hardware issue than software, since the GPU is reaching high 70s C in a couple of seconds while the CPU is fine?
    I am not sure what else to do from a software side. Sorry.
    Okay sounds good. Thanks for all the help though, I appreciate it. 
  • xapimxapim ACE Posts: 5,230 Pathfinder
    edited October 2019
    KefkaPalazzo i would say your issue here its most probably bad thermal paste application you shouldnt be getting those temps on the gpu not even near if you can do it yourself without voiding the warranty repaste it yourself with kryonaut or similar if not send it back for a repaste because your issue its not normal at all 


    https://www.userbenchmark.com/UserRun/11532543

    UserBenchmarks: Game 43%, Desk 61%, Work 40%
    CPU: Intel Core i5-7300HQ - 63.5%
    GPU: Nvidia GTX 1050-Ti (Mobile) - 41.9%
    SSD: WDC WDS200T2B0B-00YS70 2TB - 71.4%
    HDD: WD WD10SPZX-00HKTT0 1TB - 93.7%
    RAM: Kingston HyperX DDR4 2666 C15 2x16GB - 76.8%
    MBD: Acer Predator G3-572

    I'm not an Acer employee. (just here to help in the best way i can)
    If my answer fixed you issue please accept it for any other users who search for it would find it quickly thanks :)
    If you want to learn more about undervolting/optimizing windows join the Predator fb group and youtube channel:

    Owner/Admin (HOTEL HERO/Red-Sand/Opoka Opoka)
    https://www.facebook.com/groups/1969145569968592/
    https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCNJwGUHxSJ8FKqAhnOqQuAw
    Acer support:
    https://www.acer.com/ac/en/US/content/service-contact
    http://www.acer.com/worldwide/support/  


  • KefkaPalazzoKefkaPalazzo Member Posts: 6 New User
    xapim said:
    KefkaPalazzo i would say your issue here its most probably bad thermal paste application you shouldnt be getting those temps on the gpu not even near if you can do it yourself without voiding the warranty repaste it yourself with kryonaut or similar if not send it back for a repaste because your issue its not normal at all 
    Yeah, I was thinking about that possibility. I guess repast is the best option. Thanks for the advice Xapim. 
  • xapimxapim ACE Posts: 5,230 Pathfinder
    Youre welcome hope you get a great result after  and please share it :)


    https://www.userbenchmark.com/UserRun/11532543

    UserBenchmarks: Game 43%, Desk 61%, Work 40%
    CPU: Intel Core i5-7300HQ - 63.5%
    GPU: Nvidia GTX 1050-Ti (Mobile) - 41.9%
    SSD: WDC WDS200T2B0B-00YS70 2TB - 71.4%
    HDD: WD WD10SPZX-00HKTT0 1TB - 93.7%
    RAM: Kingston HyperX DDR4 2666 C15 2x16GB - 76.8%
    MBD: Acer Predator G3-572

    I'm not an Acer employee. (just here to help in the best way i can)
    If my answer fixed you issue please accept it for any other users who search for it would find it quickly thanks :)
    If you want to learn more about undervolting/optimizing windows join the Predator fb group and youtube channel:

    Owner/Admin (HOTEL HERO/Red-Sand/Opoka Opoka)
    https://www.facebook.com/groups/1969145569968592/
    https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCNJwGUHxSJ8FKqAhnOqQuAw
    Acer support:
    https://www.acer.com/ac/en/US/content/service-contact
    http://www.acer.com/worldwide/support/  


Sign In or Register to comment.

Who's Online1.5K

AnjoSs
AnjoSs
brummyfan2
brummyfan2
DanishShaikh
DanishShaikh
DarkHoax121
DarkHoax121
deadlymk
deadlymk
Dmann54
Dmann54
dnmuniz
dnmuniz
DOLLOR
DOLLOR
IVAN_PC
IVAN_PC
JArcano0524
JArcano0524
KeylaKenya
KeylaKenya
lilAE
lilAE
MartínCastillo
MartínCastillo
ODubhGhaill
ODubhGhaill
omegazp
omegazp
Spadeus
Spadeus
strader
strader
Uvelcc
Uvelcc
Woody83
Woody83
woolyhead
woolyhead
xapim
xapim
xlr8
xlr8
yourbtv
yourbtv
+1.4K Guests

Join in, share your experience!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Assistance by Acer


Drivers &
Manuals

Acer
Answers

Get Product Information
( only)

Acer Support
Videos

Member Highlight

We want to recognize GAMING6698's dedicated efforts in the Acer Community. GAMING6698 has become one of the main collaborators since joining the Community in November of 2019.
On behalf of all our users and the Acer Team, we thank you for your dedication!

Total Posts and Comments: 3315

Total Points:5742

Total Accepted Answers: 289

GAMING6698 Mainframe Wrangler