image

my Aspire 5 A515-51g 51MU abruptly shuts down on battery operation

VenkatramanVenkatraman Member Posts: 5 New User
edited March 2018 in Nitro and Aspire Gaming
Hi,
When I working on battery,  i observed my 2 days old laptop getting shutting down (sudden blank). I saw it few times today.  I saw once on when charger connected as well . Also after work, I close the lid and came home and saw it shutdown. 
Should I return the laptop or is there a fix.

rgds

Best Answer

  • VenkatramanVenkatraman Member Posts: 5 New User
    Accepted Answer
    Call Acer Support. They updated BIOS first and then lubricated the battery sensor switch by repeatedly pressing it. They say its a known problem, when the laptop lies unused for long time in Stock, this switch get stuck.

FAQ & Answers

  • VenkatramanVenkatraman Member Posts: 5 New User
    Hi,
    When I working on battery,  i observed my 2 days old laptop getting shutting down (sudden blank). I saw it few times today.  I saw once on when charger connected as well . Also after work, I close the lid and came home and saw it shutdown. 
    Should I return the laptop or is there a fix.

    rgds
    note: I put the system on sleep before closing the lid
  • ven98ven98 ACE Posts: 4,076 Pathfinder
    You try updating the BIOS. Download the latest BIOS from here, which 1.12. Before executing the installation make sure battery is fully charged and laptop connected to charger. The device may restart several time during the installation, so don't turn it off.

    If updating the BIOS doesn't help, return the laptop.
    Always post the following characterisitcs of the device:
    -Model number
    -Part number(not required, but helpful)
    -CPU
    -GPU
    -Operating system

    Helios 300 and Nitro 5 users DO NOT update the BIOS to version 1.22 if you don't want the keyboard's backlight to turn off after 30 seconds even when the device is plugged in.


    Hit 'Like' if you find the answer helpful!   
    Click on 'Yes' if the comment answers your question!

  • Hi,
    When I working on battery,  i observed my 2 days old laptop getting shutting down (sudden blank). I saw it few times today.  I saw once on when charger connected as well . Also after work, I close the lid and came home and saw it shutdown. 
    Should I return the laptop or is there a fix.

    rgds
    Hi,
    You could also try a battery reset, switch off the laptop, disconnect from mains(remove AC adapter) and follow the instructions in the video:https://us.answers.acer.com/app/answers/detail/a_id/34843/~/acer-internal-battery-reset
  • SharanjiSharanji ACE Posts: 4,196 Pathfinder
    First try to do a simple power reset by disconnecting the AC adapter. Turn off the computer and remove the battery pack. Hold down the power button for 30 seconds, then release the power button. Connect the AC adapter and power ON the laptop to check if the issue is resolved.
     
    If the issue persists, try to boot your laptop in safe mode. To begin entering Windows 7 Safe Mode, turn on or restart your PC.  Immediately after the computer is powered on or restarted (usually after you hear your computer beep), tap the F8 key in 1 second intervals.
     
    Using the arrow keys on your keyboard, highlight either the Safe Mode and press Enter. After you login into windows, make any changes you need to make and then restart the computer. Assuming there are no remaining issues preventing it, the computer should boot to Windows 7 normally after a restart.


    Hit 'Like' if you find the answer helpful!   
    Click on 'Yes' if the comment answers your question!
     
  • VenkatramanVenkatraman Member Posts: 5 New User
    edited December 2017
    Thank you all for the quick responses. Yesterday I disabled the NVIDIA display driver, and put to sleep. Today I found, it is not down. Will observe for some time. If problem exists, I will try above options as well and update. 
  • VenkatramanVenkatraman Member Posts: 5 New User
    note: my model have no plug and play battery option.  I think it is inbuilt.
  • VenkatramanVenkatraman Member Posts: 5 New User
    Accepted Answer
    Call Acer Support. They updated BIOS first and then lubricated the battery sensor switch by repeatedly pressing it. They say its a known problem, when the laptop lies unused for long time in Stock, this switch get stuck.
  • raj585raj585 Member Posts: 1 New User
    is there any solution for this issue as i also facing this problem in my laptop with windows 10 ???
  • AlannglopezAlannglopez Member Posts: 24 Networker
    i have the same problem with this! the computer shut down!
  • AlannglopezAlannglopez Member Posts: 24 Networker
    no solution i update the drivers, the bios still shuting down!
  • brummyfan2brummyfan2 ACE Posts: 18,623 Trailblazer
    edited August 2018
    no solution i update the drivers, the bios still shuting down!
    Hi,
    There's a micro switch just above the RAM module, when you open the memory door, it cuts the power to the motherboard, there's a rubber pad on the door and when you close the door it presses this button and switch on the power for motherboard.
    Open the memory door at the back, inspect whether the rubber pad is worn out or the switch is damaged. If the rubber pad is worn out or damaged, use some electrical tape to expand it's thickness so that it can make proper contact with the switch.
    Microswitch is marked with red square and the pad is with yellow rectangle in my snip.





  • AlannglopezAlannglopez Member Posts: 24 Networker
    no solution i update the drivers, the bios still shuting down!
    Hi,
    There's a micro switch just above the RAM module, when you open the memory door, it cuts the power to the motherboard, there's a rubber pad on the door and when you close the door it presses this button and switch on the power for motherboard.
    Open the memory door at the back, inspect whether the rubber pad is worn out or the switch is damaged. If the rubber pad is worn out or damaged, use some electrical tape to expand it's thickness so that it can make proper contact with the switch.
    Microswitch is marked with red square and the pad is with yellow rectangle in my snip.





    brummyfan2 thank you very much! yesterday I put a little piece of rubber and used it all day in battery and for the moment it has worked perfectly...for the moment I'll tell you if it fails again, but for the moment it´s working pefectly sorry for my bad english!.!
  • brummyfan2brummyfan2 ACE Posts: 18,623 Trailblazer
    no solution i update the drivers, the bios still shuting down!
    Hi,
    There's a micro switch just above the RAM module, when you open the memory door, it cuts the power to the motherboard, there's a rubber pad on the door and when you close the door it presses this button and switch on the power for motherboard.
    Open the memory door at the back, inspect whether the rubber pad is worn out or the switch is damaged. If the rubber pad is worn out or damaged, use some electrical tape to expand it's thickness so that it can make proper contact with the switch.
    Microswitch is marked with red square and the pad is with yellow rectangle in my snip.





    brummyfan2 thank you very much! yesterday I put a little piece of rubber and used it all day in battery and for the moment it has worked perfectly...for the moment I'll tell you if it fails again, but for the moment it´s working pefectly sorry for my bad english!.!
    You are welcome :)
  • Paulo_AlvarengaPaulo_Alvarenga Member Posts: 3 New User
    no solution i update the drivers, the bios still shuting down!
    Hi,
    There's a micro switch just above the RAM module, when you open the memory door, it cuts the power to the motherboard, there's a rubber pad on the door and when you close the door it presses this button and switch on the power for motherboard.
    Open the memory door at the back, inspect whether the rubber pad is worn out or the switch is damaged. If the rubber pad is worn out or damaged, use some electrical tape to expand it's thickness so that it can make proper contact with the switch.
    Microswitch is marked with red square and the pad is with yellow rectangle in my snip.





    Thank you very much. This was annoying me and the problem was in that switch!
  • brummyfan2brummyfan2 ACE Posts: 18,623 Trailblazer
    no solution i update the drivers, the bios still shuting down!
    Hi,
    There's a micro switch just above the RAM module, when you open the memory door, it cuts the power to the motherboard, there's a rubber pad on the door and when you close the door it presses this button and switch on the power for motherboard.
    Open the memory door at the back, inspect whether the rubber pad is worn out or the switch is damaged. If the rubber pad is worn out or damaged, use some electrical tape to expand it's thickness so that it can make proper contact with the switch.
    Microswitch is marked with red square and the pad is with yellow rectangle in my snip.





    Thank you very much. This was annoying me and the problem was in that switch!
    You are welcome, that switch is fragile and take care when you open the RAM door or the back cover for any maintenance.
  • SyedakifSyedakif Member Posts: 2 New User
    edited October 2018
    Is the issue resolved now?
    I have the same laptop and sometimes it shuts itself down unexpectedly.
  • habeeb1998habeeb1998 Member Posts: 3 New User
    I had the same problem but I didn't notice the problem when the laptop was connected to AC, I tried resetting the battery, uninstalling that Microsoft thing in device manager but nothing seemed to work, I saw tightening the screws was a solution, so i tightened all the screws slightly and it worked
  • JCM77JCM77 Member Posts: 1 New User
    Reviving this old thread to ask a question. I have an Acer Aspire A515-51 with a C5V01 LA-891P Rev 1C motherboard with no power, no lights coming on whatsoever. 

    I believe that the issue is that I am completely missing the SWG1 switch, it is NOT soldered to the board.  I have the foam backing on the door, it aligns to the spot where the switch should be but no switch.

    It has been hard to find schematics or even pictures of Rev 1c  to compare to Rev 1a but from what I can tell it appears to have broken off.  It's not in the case but I am also not the first to take it apart.

    Am I able to jump the terminals to bypass the switch?  Even if only to test.


  • mlapennamlapenna Member Posts: 1 New User
    Looks like this problem still exists.  This was exactly the problem for me.  I pasted a thin rubber piece onto the back of the plate and screwed in the plate firmly.  Fixed.  Thanks - I would never have thought of this.
This discussion has been closed.

Who's Online1.8K

0oTokio0
0oTokio0
Acer-Erick
Acer-Erick
Acer-Ingrid
Acer-Ingrid
Acer-Manny
Acer-Manny
A_TASKMASTER
A_TASKMASTER
billsey
billsey
CLSMikeW
CLSMikeW
Danielff
Danielff
diazregil
diazregil
DS549
DS549
Edvair
Edvair
egydiocoelho
egydiocoelho
EngrWilmer
EngrWilmer
FwLwSichTrp
FwLwSichTrp
Igorhcsantos
Igorhcsantos
JimmyO
JimmyO
kartik_raghav
kartik_raghav
Marco1964
Marco1964
marky3seat
marky3seat
motox
motox
Mutambu
Mutambu
S1003
S1003
Valber
Valber
Yasin28
Yasin28
+1.7K Guests

Join in, share your experience!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

New Here?

So, what are the rules of this place? Check out our Acer Community User Agreement. Register to get all the benefits of being a member! Get social and introduce yourself in our Welcome Forum, or learn about our ACE Program and What's Happening at Acer.

Assistance by Acer


Drivers &
Manuals

Acer
Answers

Get Product Information
( only)

Acer Support
Videos