image

Predator G9-793-78CM: Disable Raid 0

drunkenpeasantdrunkenpeasant Member Posts: 3
edited January 2018 in Predator Laptops

Hi,

 

My laptop came with two 128GB Lite-On SSDs in Raid 0 configuration. I'd like to break the array and use the SSDs as two separate drives. Can someone please tell me how do I go about it? There's no option in the BIOS to disable it, tried both UEFI and Legacy mode. The option to change Sata mode to AHCI from RAID is always greyed out. I think there's no point in keeping the Raid 0 configuration. I do not notice any performance gain

Best Answer

FAQ & Answers

  • drunkenpeasantdrunkenpeasant Member Posts: 3

    Thanks! Worked flawlessly. I now have two seperate SSDs, and they perform as fast as they did while in RAID 0. 

  • ArchaegeoArchaegeo Member Posts: 3

    Thanks for this, let me install my 512 intel 600 drive and then unbind the two 128s it came with. Nice explanation!

  • maged120990maged120990 Member Posts: 12

    Hello,

     

    I own a Predator G9-593 and when trying to follow the steps I got a message on the Command Prompt that said "Intel (R) RST CLI version 14.8 cannot be used with version 15.2 of the driver"

     

    What should I do?

     

    Thank you in advance.

  • Neggy-ZNeggy-Z Member Posts: 2

    For anyone having the "Intel (R) RST CLI version **.* cannot be used with version **.* of the driver" issue you need to download the RST CLI version to match the driver version.

    If the driver version is 15.2 then you need to download RST CLI v15.2.

    Google it to find the version you need.

    Once downloaded replace the old rstcli64.exe with the one you downloaded.

  • TheVielusos78TheVielusos78 Member Posts: 7 New User
    Hey, i have the same problem but it says : "Intel (R) RST CLI version 15.2 cannot be used with version 15.5 of the driver" when i try to use the Raid_tool, please help me :, ( 
    I have a predator g9-793 (ssd 250 gb et 1to HDD).

  • G1ggityG1ggity Member Posts: 1 New User
    I have a 593, Ive tried this hack several times to no avail. after typing "delete" the command line repeats "cannot load system information" three times, then I get a done message. I hit enter to reboot and everything's just as it was.
  • midjjimidjji Member Posts: 5 New User
    I get the same result as g1ggity, first time it said raid deleted, later attempts show nothing. But the raid is still there. 
  • kenpatkenpat Member Posts: 1 New User
    I am having this issue now. Please help fix.
    (Intel rapid cli 15.2 cannot work with version 16.0 of the driver.)
  • IronFlyIronFly ACE Posts: 18,416 Trailblazer
    edited April 2018
    the RAID tool doesn't work anymore, the only way to break the RAID array is using a Gparted live bootable image and format the HDD as NFTS, deleting any partition on it or (if it didn't work) wipe/erase completly writing 0 on the HDD (HDD only, not SSD)
    https://gparted.org/livecd.php

    or you can try this (i don't have a RAID system to test it):
    1) press Alt+F10 at boot to enter Windows recovery then choose troubleshoot - Advanced options - Command Prompt
    if this worked jump to point 8)
    2) download a windows 10 iso using Microsof tool:
    select the proper windows 10 version (the same installed on your laptop) and choose to save it as iso file when prompted
    3) download Rufus:
    plug your USB flash drive, run Rufus then:
    select ISO image from the dropdown menu near "Create a bootable disk"
    click on the little icon on the right and browse to the windows 10 downloaded iso file
    as  Partitions scheme select "GPT partition scheme for UEFI"
    as File system select "FAT32"
    click on Start
    wait until it finish, then uplug your USB flash drive
    4) backup all your personal data 
    5) Reboot to BIOS, pressing F2 at boot if it's a laptop or Del key if it's a desktop, then press F9 to load default and F10 to save and exit
    6) plug your USB flash drive and at boot press F12 (if F12 doesn't work, see if it auto-recognise the USB flash drive or press F2 or Del key to enter BIOS and enable F12 boot menu under BOOT tab), choose the USB flash drive as bootable device
    7) once at language/keyboard selection, press shift+F10, a command prompt will open
    8) type
    Diskpart
    list disk
    select disk x (x is the number of your HDD // not SSD!!!)
    clean all
    exit
    exit again to close command prompt

    It will take some hours to completly wipe the HDD and probably you will need to re-install windows 10 from scratch, so backup all the data you need!


    I'm not an Acer employee.
  • vonbetelgeusevonbetelgeuse Member Posts: 20 Troubleshooter
    IronFly said:
    the RAID tool doesn't work anymore, the only way to break the RAID array is using a Gparted live bootable image and format the HDD as NFTS, deleting any partition on it or (if it didn't work) wipe/erase completly writing 0 on the HDD (HDD only, not SSD)
    https://gparted.org/livecd.php

    or you can try this (i don't have a RAID system to test it):
    1) press Alt+F10 at boot to enter Windows recovery then choose troubleshoot - Advanced options - Command Prompt
    if this worked jump to point 8)
    2) download a windows 10 iso using Microsof tool:
    select the proper windows 10 version (the same installed on your laptop) and choose to save it as iso file when prompted
    3) download Rufus:
    plug your USB flash drive, run Rufus then:
    select ISO image from the dropdown menu near "Create a bootable disk"
    click on the little icon on the right and browse to the windows 10 downloaded iso file
    as  Partitions scheme select "GPT partition scheme for UEFI"
    as File system select "FAT32"
    click on Start
    wait until it finish, then uplug your USB flash drive
    4) backup all your personal data 
    5) Reboot to BIOS, pressing F2 at boot if it's a laptop or Del key if it's a desktop, then press F9 to load default and F10 to save and exit
    6) plug your USB flash drive and at boot press F12 (if F12 doesn't work, see if it auto-recognise the USB flash drive or press F2 or Del key to enter BIOS and enable F12 boot menu under BOOT tab), choose the USB flash drive as bootable device
    7) once at language/keyboard selection, press shift+F10, a command prompt will open
    8) type
    Diskpart
    list disk
    select disk x (x is the number of your HDD // not SSD!!!)
    clean all
    exit
    exit again to close command prompt

    It will take some hours to completly wipe the HDD and probably you will need to re-install windows 10 from scratch, so backup all the data you need!


    Has there been a better fix to this since? This looks in over my head :scream:
Sign In or Register to comment.

Who's Online1.1K

Acer-Erick
Acer-Erick
Acer-Manny
Acer-Manny
brummyfan2
brummyfan2
carlosochoa
carlosochoa
Cwjordan
Cwjordan
Czar90
Czar90
debski
debski
demirdrgn
demirdrgn
Devilgamer75
Devilgamer75
DrVolumen
DrVolumen
egydiocoelho
egydiocoelho
Faisalq
Faisalq
Frenzy4
Frenzy4
Gudlite
Gudlite
Ignatus
Ignatus
inforit
inforit
JerseyMJR
JerseyMJR
jmkjmk01
jmkjmk01
JoaoCarvalho90
JoaoCarvalho90
jonatasdavid
jonatasdavid
Maria4
Maria4
msSG
msSG
ragsak28
ragsak28
shabir7
shabir7
Spaz74
Spaz74
Tauandj
Tauandj
tortu
tortu
VictorLong
VictorLong
ÉRICA2012
ÉRICA2012
+1.1K Guests

Join in, share your experience!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

New Here?

So, what are the rules of this place? Check out our Acer Community User Agreement. Register to get all the benefits of being a member! Get social and introduce yourself in our Welcome Forum, or learn about our ACE Program and What's Happening at Acer.

Assistance by Acer


Drivers &
Manuals

Acer
Answers

Get Product Information
( only)

Acer Support
Videos