Veriton X270-ED5300C - CPU Upgrade

ScutuScutu Member Posts: 8

Hi everyone,

 

I have an old Veriton X270-ED5300C with nForce630i and I was wondering if I can upgrade the CPU to an Q9650 soket 775.

 

As I knwo the mainboard supports all soket 775 cpus, but did Acer included suport for new CPUs in the BIOS?

 

Thanks,
Scutu

Best Answer

  • laurent_14laurent_14 Posts: 9,212 Trailblazer
    Accepted Answer

    Hello,

     

    For information, here are the original processors of Veriton X270:

    Spoiler
    KC.12001.CDECPU.CEL-DUAL.E1200/1.6G/512K
    KC.14001.CDECPU.CEL-DUAL.E1400/2G/512/800
    KC.15001.CDECPU.CEL-DUAL.E1500/2.2G/512k/800
    KC.21801.DEMCPU.DUALCORE.2.0GHz/1M/800/M0
    KC.22001.DEMCPU.DUO-2.20GHz/1MB/800/M0
    KC.22201.DEMCPU.DUO-2.40GHz/1MB/800/M0
    KC.47001.DE0CPU.DUO-2.60GHz/2MB/800/G0
    KC.52001.DEMCPU.DUO-2.50GHz/2MB/800/M0
    KC.53001.DEMCPU P-DUO.E5300/2.6G/2M/800/M0 (yours-65W)
    KC.66001.QQGCPU.QUAD/2.40GHz/8MB/1066/G0
    KC.67001.QQGCPU.QUAD/2.66GHz/8MB/1066/G0
    KC.72001.DE0CPU.DUO-2.53G/3MB/1066/M0/LGA
    KC.73001.DE0CPU.DUO.E7300.2.66/3M/1066/C2
    KC.74001.DE0CPU.DUO.E7400/2.8G/3M/1066/R0
    KC.82001.QQ0CPU.QUAD/2.33GHz/4MB/1333/M1
    KC.83001.QQ0CPU QUAD.Q8300/2.5G/4M/1333
    KC.84001.DE0CPU.DUO-3.00G/6M/1333/C0/LGA
    KC.93001.QQ0CPU.QUAD/2.50GHz/6MB/1333/M1
    KC.94001.QQ0CPU.QUAD.Q9400/2.66G/2*3M/1333
    KC.94501.QQ0CPU.Q9450/2.66G/2*6M/1333/C1
    KC.95501.QQ0CPU.Q9550/2.83G/2*6M/1333/C1 (95W-new heatsink needed)
    KC.D0001.450CPU-CEL-2.20GHz/512KB/800/A1
    France

FAQ & Answers

  • laurent_14laurent_14 ACE Posts: 9,212 Trailblazer
    Accepted Answer

    Hello,

     

    For information, here are the original processors of Veriton X270:

    Spoiler
    KC.12001.CDECPU.CEL-DUAL.E1200/1.6G/512K
    KC.14001.CDECPU.CEL-DUAL.E1400/2G/512/800
    KC.15001.CDECPU.CEL-DUAL.E1500/2.2G/512k/800
    KC.21801.DEMCPU.DUALCORE.2.0GHz/1M/800/M0
    KC.22001.DEMCPU.DUO-2.20GHz/1MB/800/M0
    KC.22201.DEMCPU.DUO-2.40GHz/1MB/800/M0
    KC.47001.DE0CPU.DUO-2.60GHz/2MB/800/G0
    KC.52001.DEMCPU.DUO-2.50GHz/2MB/800/M0
    KC.53001.DEMCPU P-DUO.E5300/2.6G/2M/800/M0 (yours-65W)
    KC.66001.QQGCPU.QUAD/2.40GHz/8MB/1066/G0
    KC.67001.QQGCPU.QUAD/2.66GHz/8MB/1066/G0
    KC.72001.DE0CPU.DUO-2.53G/3MB/1066/M0/LGA
    KC.73001.DE0CPU.DUO.E7300.2.66/3M/1066/C2
    KC.74001.DE0CPU.DUO.E7400/2.8G/3M/1066/R0
    KC.82001.QQ0CPU.QUAD/2.33GHz/4MB/1333/M1
    KC.83001.QQ0CPU QUAD.Q8300/2.5G/4M/1333
    KC.84001.DE0CPU.DUO-3.00G/6M/1333/C0/LGA
    KC.93001.QQ0CPU.QUAD/2.50GHz/6MB/1333/M1
    KC.94001.QQ0CPU.QUAD.Q9400/2.66G/2*3M/1333
    KC.94501.QQ0CPU.Q9450/2.66G/2*6M/1333/C1
    KC.95501.QQ0CPU.Q9550/2.83G/2*6M/1333/C1 (95W-new heatsink needed)
    KC.D0001.450CPU-CEL-2.20GHz/512KB/800/A1
    France
  • ScutuScutu Member Posts: 8

    Thank you so much!

     

    So, basicaly the Q9550 (with a better heatsink) is the  fastes I can go on this machine.

  • Hello,

     

    Good news!Smiley Tongue

    Aspire X1700 has the same motherboard than yours and one of original processors is:

    KC.96501.QQECPU.QUAD.Q9650/3G/2*6M/1333

     

    Do you have this heatsink?

    HI.10800.028CPU.COOLER.W/FAN (95W)
    France
  • ScutuScutu Member Posts: 8

    hmm ... so I should be able to go with the Q9650 too.

    Well that's amazing news.

     

    Do I have to get a new heatsink too, or the one that's on the E5300 should be ok?

    I'm not sure if I have that specific heatsink but it looks the same.

     

    I don't play games, this is for my linving room PC - so what it does is internet surfing, and blu-ray movies, but I need more speed.

     

    Thanks again for your help.

  • Hello,

     

    You'll find a white sticker on the CPU fan where is stated the part number.

     

    Do I have to get a new heatsink too, or the one that's on the E5300 should be ok?

    If it isn't an HI.10800.028 (95W), you'll have to replace it otherwise the CPU will overheat.

    E5300: 65 Watts

    Q9650: 95 Watts

    Don't forget also to replace the thermal paste.

    France
  • ScutuScutu Member Posts: 8

    I think that's the one I have installed. Yey! 

    Here's a photo of the sticker.

     

     

    P_20151214_193300_1.jpg

     

    Is this motherboard limited at only 4Gb of RAM and only 2 SATA plugs?

  • Hello,

     

    About the heatsink, that's good news!Smiley Happy

     

    Is this motherboard limited at only 4Gb of RAM and only 2 SATA plugs?

    Official specifications:

    1. Up to 4 GB of DDR2 667/800 MHz SDRAM (single-channel support on two DIMMs).
    2. You only have two SATA connectors (orange connectors - your motherboard).
    France
  • ScutuScutu Member Posts: 8

    Hmm, I understand. In this case I'm done with it, I already have 4Gb of memory and both SATA plugs are in used (HDD and a Blu-ray Player).

     

    Should I upgrade to Windows 10 - is this pc compatible?

     

    Thanks again for all your help! Smiley Happy

  • Hello,

     

    Sorry I don't know. I'm not yet an expert of Windows 10.Smiley Embarassed

    I suggest you to create a new topic for this question.

    France
  • ScutuScutu Member Posts: 8

    I will see if I'll get the win10, I'm not crazy about it anyway.

     

    From the provided list with the compatible CPU is the Q9650 the most powerfull I can get?

  • Hello,

     

    From the provided list with the compatible CPU is the Q9650 the most powerfull I can get?

    That's the official list of the original processors so yes.

    France
  • ScutuScutu Member Posts: 8

    Thank you again for your help.

    Stefan

  • You're welcome... Stefan!

    France
Sign In or Register to comment.

Who's Online1.1K

Amey
Amey
BlotBlot
BlotBlot
bob1066
bob1066
boggi
boggi
GAMING6698
GAMING6698
julianagudelo
julianagudelo
laurent_14
laurent_14
mazur_ch
mazur_ch
Nathan213
Nathan213
OWangutan
OWangutan
R6E7980XE
R6E7980XE
ralppp
ralppp
Robin038
Robin038
Rohit_Madu
Rohit_Madu
Schott01
Schott01
Seymur
Seymur
Shanthan_Spidey
Shanthan_Spidey
Somchai
Somchai
Tsukina
Tsukina
+1.1K Guests

Join in, share your experience!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Assistance by Acer


Drivers &
Manuals

Acer
Answers

Get Product Information
( only)

Acer Support
Videos