Battery Calibration vs Emptying the Battery. Are there any major differences?

Elysium82
Elysium82 Member Posts: 20 Troubleshooter

I am new to this, but this is what I should run once a month in order to extend the battery life?
Does letting it charge to 100% and then just letting it drain until it goes into sleep mode do the same thing?

Thanks

Answers

• Puraw
    Puraw ACE, Member Posts: 11,986 Trailblazer

Negative, first there is no such a thing as "calibrating" a Li-Ion battery, you have to register one full charge cycle in Windows with a new battery, only once and after you reinstalled Windows. I recommend uninstalling AcerSense and Acer Care Center or disable this Calibration option in Windows Services together with the 80% battery charge limiting option. You cannot "Empty" the battery in Windows unless you use the USB port overnight for charging an external device while the laptop is shutdown (Acer Quick Access has that option that you also should disable) that may deplete the battery and then you won't be able to charge it anymore because the Smart chip blocks charging (for safety). If you have a new laptop Acer will have done the Full Charge Cycle already as per instructions from the battery manufacturer, only when you replace the battery and don't turn off the laptop when drained to 3% but let the system shutdown by itself, don't worry you won't lose data.

• Alejandro_AC
    Alejandro_AC ACE Posts: 13,003 Trailblazer

Hi @Elysium82 In reality, a battery calibration or letting it run down is the same thing, it is about balancing the data that the battery provides to Windows, which is where we really read the charging data.