Acer VX4660 - add on Storage. want to know whether it has 2.5 HDD, SSD with ATA connectors

prairiezabiak
prairiezabiak Member Posts: 4 New User

Have VX4660 Win 10 Pro with 500GB SSD; need more storage; can I add

1. SSD? - it says it had ATA connectors only
  2. 3.5 HDD (like Seagate) - probably not, PC only has 250W Power Supply
  3. ?? 2.5 HDD - not sure

TIA

[Edited the thread to add issue detail]

Best Answers

Answers

• prairiezabiak

Have VX4660 Win 10 Pro with 500GB SSD; need more storage; can I add

1. SSD? - it says it had ATA connectors only
    2. 3.5 HDD (like Seagate) - probably not, PC only has 250W Power Supply
    3. ?? 2.5 HDD - not sure

TIA

I am new at this and have no idea how it works

• Puraw
    Puraw ACE, Member Posts: 11,666 Trailblazer
    Answer ✓

You can upgrade to Windows11 Pro.
    There are two RAM slots for DDR4-2666MHz modules, 16GB/slot maximum RAM supported 32GB (see Crucial link below).
    Two M.2 2280/2230 PCIe 3.0 x4, ports for NVMe Gen3 SSDs up to 2TB and M.2 Sata-3 SSDs Gen3 or Gen4 Samsung 970 Evo Plus-980Pro up to 2TB are recommended but the Samsung 980Pro will run at Gen3 speed (half the rated speed).

There is only one 3.5" Sata-3 port that with an adapter cable can support a 2.5" Sata-3 SSD like the Samsung 870 Evo V-NAND up to 4TB
    https://www.crucial.com/compatible-upgrade-for/acer/veriton-x4660g

• billsey
    billsey ACE Posts: 33,354 Trailblazer
    Answer ✓

Actually, there is only one M.2 slot for a SSD, it's #16 here:

The second M.2 slot (#25) is only for a WLAN card, not for an SSD. There are four slots for memory, supporting up to 16GB per slot, so 64GB maximum, not 32GB. The four SATA connectors (#11) allow up to four drives, but you need the power cables to drive them that plug into #13. Typically they ship with only one of the cables. The top one here is for a SATA HDD or SSD and an optical drive, the second is for two HDD or SSDs.