upgrade assistance for Acer Aspire TC-390-UA91 DESKTOP

I bought my kid the Acer Aspire TC-390-UA91 desktop in 2021 and he's been nudging me about "upgrading his GPU". I've done some digging but I'm kind of at a loss as to what might work with his set up and was curious if anyone had any recommendations about a gpu in the $200-300 range that may actually improve his experience. He keeps talking about his monitor can handle a certain number of FPS but the computer can't (if that makes any sense). Also, his gaming is pretty much minecraft and fortnite. Maybe more fortnite based on the number of expletives I hear coming from him room

Full disclosure: I'm a soccer coach with a double major in English and Psyc so I'm not the most tech savvy guy. I managed to add in extra ram without the thing blowing up and took that as a win. He said his buddy recommended an ASUS Phoenix GEForce RTX 3060 but they are also 12 years old so I'm seeking some more "advanced" advice from this community. Oh, and I think the computer has like, 250w power supply and it seems like that is a thing when considering upgrading this component.

And I get his desktop isn't the Taj Mahal of gaming computers. Mom and I work for non-profits so while we can support some upgrades as holiday presents, dropping a grand or more on a new pc really isn't in the cards. This is my first time posting in a community like this so my apologies for any breaches of etiquette and thanks in advance for any advice that may be helpful. I'll try my best to answer questions.

Answers

• StevenGen
    StevenGen ACE Posts: 11,445 Trailblazer
    edited December 2023