Acer Predator Helios 300 (PH317-52) screen turning off when idle and not turning back on

Options
alextdrv
alextdrv Member Posts: 1 New User

Hello!

First off, I'm sorry if this question has already been asked, I tried to find a similar thread and while many people have had comparable issues, I couldn't find a thread that tackles the exact same problem

I have an Acer Predator Helios 300 PH317-52 that I've been using it since 2018. This problem started happening a long time ago, I can't remember when exactly. I had tried resolving it but didn't manage, and since I'm not the most tech savy person, I decided to leave it at that and just got used to it by saving whatever I was working on before leaving my laptop idle, in case it didn't turn back on.

Basically what happens is that often when I'm not using my laptop, the screen turns off but the laptop never goes to sleep even if it's programmed to do so after 10 minutes. Then there's a few different cases of what happens next:

• - the laptop is silent but not sleeping, the lights next to the charger plug are both on, and the Num Lock indicator on the keyboard is on (I always leave it on but the fact that it's lit up makes me conclude that the laptop is not off). When I try to turn it back on by moving the mouse, nothing happens; I press the power key but it doesn't work either; the keyboard isn't backlit in that moment, the Num Lock indicator does not turn on and off when I press the key, so I feel like the laptop is unresponsive. I have to forcefully shut it down by holding the power key. When I turn it back on, there are no specific messages.
  • - 20% of the time, it turns back on when I come back to it and move the mouse. I've noticed that there's a higher chance of it turning back on if I've unplugged it before leaving it idle.