Triton 500 CPU/GPU/System Temperature Questions

Options
jc0101
jc0101 Member Posts: 3 New User
edited October 2022 in Predator Laptops

I've been using this machine lightly for about 5 months now. No gaming at the moment, just work station stuff like email, browsing, etc.

I've recently begun experiencing snowflakes and erratic page displays. Scrolling up/down can clear it up and it seems to be totally random. It prompted me to look into the system, so I started with PredatorSense. The screen shots below show temperatures over about an hour period, the system temperature was taken at the same time of the CPU/GPU temperatures. The laptop was mostly idle the entire time with the exception of Snipping Tool and opening Firefox:

Fan speed is constantly fluctuating and seems to follow the temperature changes, I don't know if this is a recent development or if it has always done this.

Questions:

1. Is there a problem with the CPU temperature monitor? At one point, the CPU temperature drops from 85 to 40 degrees. In my non-computer electrical experience, this behavior is a temperature sensor failure. I would expect to see the CPU temp closer to the system temp rather than what is seen here if the machine is at idle.
  2. I haven't spent much time looking at PredatorSense, but I've never seen activity from the Nvidia GPU. Why am I seeing GPU temperature registering if it should be inactive?
  3. If there is a CPU temperature measuring glitch, can this cause the problem I'm experiencing with the graphics or is it unrelated?

Any insight is appreciated!

Answers

• jc0101
    edited October 2022
    Options

FWIW, I just ran a benchmark test if it helps clarify anything:

UserBenchmarks: Game 15%, Desk 86%, Work 14%

CPU: Intel Core i7-11800H - 85.4%

GPU: Intel UHD Graphics - 9.1%

SSD: Nvme WD PC SN810 SDCQNRY-512G-1014 512GB - 441.6%

RAM: Kingston ACR32D4S2S1ME-8 2x8GB - 58.4%

MBD: Acer Predator PT516-51s

• StevenGen
    Options