Chromebook OS Recovery is Repeatedly FailingAcer Spin CP713-2W-5874

stratman57
stratman57 Member Posts: 2 New User
edited October 2022 in Chromebooks

Hi all,

I'm a newbie here and hoping someone can help me. I'm working on a friend's Acer Spin CP713-2W-5874 chromebook that recently dark-screened from unknown causes and of course is several months out of warranty. The Powerwash feature does not work at all so have been trying the recovery route. I have burned many recovery USBs of different mfg's and sizes using the Chrome Extension Utility. There is no problem burning the USBs, but after inserting the USB into chromebook when prompted it starts the process but always ends on Step 3 of the recovery with: "Error recovering your device". I can't find anything on the web about this particular error. I have attached a few pics here for your convenience if you know about this. The whitish box under the error reads "Try Again", which does nothing. Towards the bottom of the pic there is "Advanced Options" which basically allow viewing of log files or copy logs to external drive, which also does not work

I suspected either the hard drive or the battery and have replaced each with new (returnable) components while trying the recovery to no avail. I also tried a new power supply, also returnable. I'm stumped. Does anyone have any idea what is happening and if there is a fix other than new MB. They are few and almost cost as much as the entire chromebook. Thanks in advance. 😀

[Edited the title to add model name ]

Answers

• billsey
    billsey ACE Posts: 31,663 Trailblazer