Laptop ram limited to 2933 mhz Acer Predator Helios 300 (PH315-54-55A4)?

SaturdayMash
SaturdayMash Member Posts: 9

Tinkerer

edited May 2022 in Predator Laptops
I have an Acer Predator Helios 300 (PH315-54-55A4), with an i5-11400h CPU
Why is my ram limited to 2933 mhz when I have 2x8 3200mhz? I checked on CPU-Z and confirmed that they are both indeed 3200mhz modules but when I checked on task manager it says that they're running on 2933mhz speed. Of course I'm not an expert in any of this and have no idea if I'm looking into this correctly which is why I had my questions since I know I can't solve this on my own. 

Attached are some of the pictures I have taken from CPU-Z and task manager.

{ edited the title from content to change the model number }

Best Answer

• AnhEZ28
    AnhEZ28 ACE, Member Posts: 4,231 Pathfinder
    edited May 2022 Answer ✓
    @SaturdayMash maybe that's why. You can ask that shop to see if they can replace another RAM stick to get the full 3200MHz. I'm afraid that different CAS latency can have a rare frequency of blue screen of death.
    Please remember to include @AnhEZ28 when you want to reply back to my comment so that I can check your response.
    Thank you and have a nice day!

Answers

• JackE
    JackE ACE Posts: 44,837 Trailblazer
    Your mainboard's maximum buss speed between the RAM module and CPU is 1466MHz or 2933 for double data rate (DDR) RAM. Accordingly, the 3200MHz DDR RAM module will automatically downshift to 2933MHz  to match the maximum RAM buss speed that the mainboard allows.

Jack E/NJ

• AnhEZ28
    @SaturdayMash do you still get 3200MHz when you only have 1 RAM stick?
    Please remember to include @AnhEZ28 when you want to reply back to my comment so that I can check your response.
  • JackE