Acer Aspire Z5771 can't install bootable Windows 10

Luposian
Luposian Member Posts: 3 New User
I got this system with Windows 7 (4Gb RAM) on it.  But it wouldn't update.  So figured I'd install Windows 10 on it (to make it a more useful/secure computer).  Well, everything SEEMS to go along fine.  Installation goes smoothly and it reboots.  But after several minutes ("Setting devices up... please wait... etc.), it goes to a blue screen (no, not BSOD!) with a "Please wait..." and then goes black.  And it never goes to a desktop.  I wiggle the mouse, click, tap keyboard keys... nothing.  Just a black screen.  I'm currently reinstalling Windows 10 via the very latest version Microsoft USB Boot Tool installer to see if that helps, but I'm not holding my breath.  For all the still useful hardware in this computer... it may be an obsoleted paperweight!  If anyone has any ideas, please fill me in.  I'm at the end of my rope.  As a computer tech, I thrive on problems like this... but it's stumping me!

Answers

• Luposian
    Ok, the latest updated Boot Tool seems to have worked... I'm setting up my system with Cortana.  I'll update this post as things unfold...
  • Luposian
    Ok, it's up and running.  I'm updating Windows 10!  4Gb of RAM is probably choking it like crazy, but that's upgradable.  The Z5771 will NOT run Windows 11, but we still have 4 more useful years (we're good til 2025) before this computer is rendered effectively and entirely obsolete (no more Windows 10 updates/security patches, etc.), unless a version of Linux will still work on it.  But, for those seeking an answer to their Windows 10 path... this system CAN travel there!  Enjoy!
  • StevenGen
    StevenGen ACE Posts: 9,696 Trailblazer
    edited January 2022
    Luposian said: