install dvd drive aspire tc-1660

mandy30
mandy30 Member Posts: 135 Skilled Fixer WiFi Icon
edited January 2022 in Aspire and Veriton Desktops
Hi I have aspire tc-1660 desktop, does anyone know of anywhere that has instructions on how do add a dvd writer to this machine please,I can only find user manual,I am also a novice at this

Thread was edited to add model name to the title

Best Answer

• ttttt
    ttttt Member Posts: 1,947 Community Aficionado WiFi Icon
    Answer ✓
    @mandy30

If I am not mistaken, TC-1660 should come with a DVD writer, at the top middle part of the front panel area. 

Since TC-1660 has  12 volt only non-standard power supply, it is not easy to get connector cable from the outside market other than Acer. Even you can get it from Acer, the price is like an external USB DVD drive itself.

My suggestion is to get an USB external DVD writer (if you really don't have it), probably can get it for around USD $20, and it is so simple that just plug and play. No need to open up the PC and can be used between different PC.

Answers

• ttttt
    Answer ✓
    @mandy30

If I am not mistaken, TC-1660 should come with a DVD writer, at the top middle part of the front panel area. 

Since TC-1660 has  12 volt only non-standard power supply, it is not easy to get connector cable from the outside market other than Acer. Even you can get it from Acer, the price is like an external USB DVD drive itself.

My suggestion is to get an USB external DVD writer (if you really don't have it), probably can get it for around USD $20, and it is so simple that just plug and play. No need to open up the PC and can be used between different PC.
  • billsey
    billsey ACE Posts: 33,432 Trailblazer
    Some TC-1660 come with the DVD installed, some come with a blank bezel and no drive. You should be able to drop a slimline drive in to one without one, though you will also need a SATA cable, and possibly power.