Cloned SSD on my Aspire XC 603 won't boot.

Options
PeteGL44
PeteGL44 Member Posts: 9

Tinkerer

edited November 2021 in Aspire and Veriton Desktops
I have Aspire XC 603 BIOS version P11-BO. Under Boot sequence 1st Boot Device is Windows Boot Manager. The computer stills boots from the old HDD. Any suggestions please. I am not too technically minded!

​//Edited the content to add model name.   ​

Best Answer

• billsey
    billsey ACE Posts: 31,722 Trailblazer
    Answer ✓
    Options
    I am always leery of doing anything unrecoverable... :) Let's try a different cloner instead of Acronis. Last one I did I used Easeus instead.
    Click on "Like" if you find my answer useful or click on "Yes" if it answers your question.

Answers

• billsey
    Options
    Check to make sure the F10 boot menu is enabled in the BIOS, then use F10 to bring that menu up. Choose the SSD and it should boot from there. Once you are up with it as the boot drive it should default to that, but to be sure you can then wipe all the partitions off the old HDD and create one big empty data partition.
    Click on "Like" if you find my answer useful or click on "Yes" if it answers your question.
  • StevenGen
    Options
    PeteGL44 said:
    I have BIOS version P11-BO. Under Boot sequence 1st Boot Device is Windows Boot Manager. The computer stills boots from the old HDD. Any suggestions please. I am not too technically minded!

Take the old HDD out and boot with the cloned new SSD only as the XC-603 desktop will always prioritise the old HDD to the new as and if you cloned the new SSD drive properly then it should work 100%. Btw, I speak from personal experience as initially and when I did my first clone (about 4 years ago) from a 2.5” spinner HDD to a 2.5” SSD the same happened and when I removed the old spinner boot HDD and only allowed the new SSD to boot it worked perfectly.

• johnsonj
    johnsonj Member Posts: 10

Tinkerer

Options
    billsey said: