Will Nitro AN515-55 support TPM 2.0 to compatible with Windows 11?

AzureZeng
AzureZeng Member Posts: 9

Tinkerer

edited September 2021 in Windows 11
The minimum requirements of Windows 11 requires a TPM 2.0.
My Nitro laptop is purchased for only 1 year, however my Nitro AN515-55 is not compatible with Windows 10.
Here is my specification: Datasheet PN: NH.Q7NCN.003 (acer.com)

My laptop satisfied almost all minimum requirements except TPM 2.0. I searched in BIOS but there is no option about TPM.
I wonder whether Acer will release a new BIOS to support Intel PTT or TPM setting, or my laptop will stuck in Windows 10 which will end support in 2025.


«13

FAQ & Answers

  • AnhEZ28
    AnhEZ28 ACE, Member Posts: 2,977 Pathfinder
    You can try to check if TPM is enabled by going to device manager, in security devices tab.
    Please remember to include @AnhEZ28 when you want to reply back to my comment so that I can check your response.
    Thank you and have a nice day!
  • AzureZeng
    AzureZeng Member Posts: 9

    Tinkerer

    edited June 2021
    AnhEZ28 said:
    You can try to check if TPM is enabled by going to device manager, in security devices tab.
    There is no such setting in BIOS now, and I cannot enable it.
    And cannot be seen in Device Manager
  • AnhEZ28
    AnhEZ28 ACE, Member Posts: 2,977 Pathfinder
    The TPM setting is in security tab.
    Please remember to include @AnhEZ28 when you want to reply back to my comment so that I can check your response.
    Thank you and have a nice day!
  • StevenGen
    StevenGen ACE Posts: 7,789 Pathfinder
    AzureZeng said:
    The minimum requirements of Windows 11 requires a TPM 2.0.
    My Nitro laptop is purchased for only 1 year, however my Nitro AN515-55 is not compatible with Windows 10.
    Here is my specification: Datasheet PN: NH.Q7NCN.003 (acer.com)

    My laptop satisfied almost all minimum requirements except TPM 2.0. I searched in BIOS but there is no option about TPM.
    I wonder whether Acer will release a new BIOS to support Intel PTT or TPM setting, or my laptop will stuck in Windows 10 which will end support in 2025.


    Your Nitro AN515-55 with its 10th Gen Intel CPU should have TPM 2.0 and TPM should be activated and your laptop should be compatible with Win-11, to check if you have the TPM chip or if TPM is active on Windows 10 or on your computer do this:

    •  Open a PowerShell session As administrator
    •  Then enter the following command: get-tpm 
    If you get the "False" on TpmReady it means that you have the TPM chip on my motherboard but will have to 'enable it in BIOS before you can use it. If you see the "False” on TpmPresent, then you don’t have the TPM chip on the motherboard.

    How to activate / deactivate TPM on Nitro AN515-55 BIOS and in Windows 10.

    First go to BIOS to activate TPM in the BIOS of your Nitro AN515-55. Look in Security and see if the TPM options that I've included below for your BIOS. After and to activate TPM in Win-10see this guide "Activate / deactivate TPM on Windows 10 and in the BIOS of your PC


    TPM BIOS Descriptions



  • AzureZeng
    AzureZeng Member Posts: 9

    Tinkerer

    There is no such option in BIOS.
  • AnhEZ28
    AnhEZ28 ACE, Member Posts: 2,977 Pathfinder
    That's weird. You can try to update the BIOS to the latest version.(2.03)
    Please remember to include @AnhEZ28 when you want to reply back to my comment so that I can check your response.
    Thank you and have a nice day!
  • AzureZeng
    AzureZeng Member Posts: 9

    Tinkerer

    AnhEZ28 said:
    That's weird. You can try to update the BIOS to the latest version.(2.03)
    My BIOS is the latest(v2.03)
  • kimstudio
    kimstudio Member Posts: 9

    Tinkerer

    Hi AzureZeng, I have exactly same model and I don't think it has TPM. I also can't believe my one year laptop doesn't meet this requirement - no TPM :#
  • egydiocoelho
    egydiocoelho ACE Posts: 95,899 Trailblazer
    edited June 2021
    @AzureZeng and @kimstudio The model an515-55 provides tpm feature. If it's not showing up in the bios, try this procedure:
    a) create a password in setsupervisorpassword and then press f10 to save and exit. Check if this setting appears:

    b) if tpm does not appear in the bios, try resetting the battery: turn off the computer, unplug the power adapter, press the power button for thirty seconds and leave the laptop off for thirty minutes. Check if tpm appears in the bios.
    Oi! Eu não sou sou a cortana! Mas estou aqui para ajudar! Hi! I'm not the cortana! But I'm here to help!
    Se você gostou da minha resposta, marque como solução clicando em sim! If you liked my answer, mark it as a solution by clicking on yes!
    Aceite somente a resposta que ajudou a solucionar o seu problema! Please accept only the response that helped to solve your problem!
    Detection tool click here to find the serial number or partnumber of your model!                                                          

               
      egydiocoelho Trailblazer
     
    ProductKey clique aqui para descobrir o serial do windows! click here to discover the windows serial!
    Para usuários da comunidade inglesa, espanhola, francesa e alemã, usarei o google tradutor! :)
    For users of the English, Spanish, French and German community, I will be using google translator! :) 
  • AzureZeng
    AzureZeng Member Posts: 9

    Tinkerer

    StevenGen said:
    AzureZeng said:
    The minimum requirements of Windows 11 requires a TPM 2.0.
    My Nitro laptop is purchased for only 1 year, however my Nitro AN515-55 is not compatible with Windows 10.
    Here is my specification: Datasheet PN: NH.Q7NCN.003 (acer.com)

    My laptop satisfied almost all minimum requirements except TPM 2.0. I searched in BIOS but there is no option about TPM.
    I wonder whether Acer will release a new BIOS to support Intel PTT or TPM setting, or my laptop will stuck in Windows 10 which will end support in 2025.


    Your Nitro AN515-55 with its 10th Gen Intel CPU should have TPM 2.0 and TPM should be activated and your laptop should be compatible with Win-11, to check if you have the TPM chip or if TPM is active on Windows 10 or on your computer do this:

    •  Open a PowerShell session As administrator
    •  Then enter the following command: get-tpm 
    If you get the "False" on TpmReady it means that you have the TPM chip on my motherboard but will have to 'enable it in BIOS before you can use it. If you see the "False” on TpmPresent, then you don’t have the TPM chip on the motherboard.

    How to activate / deactivate TPM on Nitro AN515-55 BIOS and in Windows 10.

    First go to BIOS to activate TPM in the BIOS of your Nitro AN515-55. Look in Security and see if the TPM options that I've included below for your BIOS. After and to activate TPM in Win-10see this guide "Activate / deactivate TPM on Windows 10 and in the BIOS of your PC


    TPM BIOS Descriptions



    There is no option in BIOS.

  • egydiocoelho
    egydiocoelho ACE Posts: 95,899 Trailblazer
    ChecK here
    @AzureZeng and @kimstudio The model an515-55 provides tpm feature. If it's not showing up in the bios, try this procedure:
    a) create a password in setsupervisorpassword and then press f10 to save and exit. Check if this setting appears:

    b) if tpm does not appear in the bios, try resetting the battery: turn off the computer, unplug the power adapter, press the power button for thirty seconds and leave the laptop off for thirty minutes. Check if tpm appears in the bios.

    Oi! Eu não sou sou a cortana! Mas estou aqui para ajudar! Hi! I'm not the cortana! But I'm here to help!
    Se você gostou da minha resposta, marque como solução clicando em sim! If you liked my answer, mark it as a solution by clicking on yes!
    Aceite somente a resposta que ajudou a solucionar o seu problema! Please accept only the response that helped to solve your problem!
    Detection tool click here to find the serial number or partnumber of your model!                                                          

               
      egydiocoelho Trailblazer
     
    ProductKey clique aqui para descobrir o serial do windows! click here to discover the windows serial!
    Para usuários da comunidade inglesa, espanhola, francesa e alemã, usarei o google tradutor! :)
    For users of the English, Spanish, French and German community, I will be using google translator! :) 
  • young2000
    young2000 Member Posts: 1 New User
    It is said that all CPU in last 3years have a virtual ptm called ptt. but maybe acer has disenabled this function.
  • kimstudio
    kimstudio Member Posts: 9

    Tinkerer

    egydiocoelho I tried both ways and it doesn't work, still no TPM option in bios, but thanks anyway.
    young2000 the problem is that bios almost has nothing to config, maybe there is method to turn on hidden options.
  • egydiocoelho
    egydiocoelho ACE Posts: 95,899 Trailblazer
    @kimstudioThis is strange, as all current computer models come with a tpm chip soldered to the motherboard. Can you upload some pictures of all bios settings?
    Oi! Eu não sou sou a cortana! Mas estou aqui para ajudar! Hi! I'm not the cortana! But I'm here to help!
    Se você gostou da minha resposta, marque como solução clicando em sim! If you liked my answer, mark it as a solution by clicking on yes!
    Aceite somente a resposta que ajudou a solucionar o seu problema! Please accept only the response that helped to solve your problem!
    Detection tool click here to find the serial number or partnumber of your model!                                                          

               
      egydiocoelho Trailblazer
     
    ProductKey clique aqui para descobrir o serial do windows! click here to discover the windows serial!
    Para usuários da comunidade inglesa, espanhola, francesa e alemã, usarei o google tradutor! :)
    For users of the English, Spanish, French and German community, I will be using google translator! :) 
  • kimstudio
    kimstudio Member Posts: 9

    Tinkerer

    hi egydiocoelho

    AzureZeng posted, only difference is i set up the superuser password.




  • kimstudio
    kimstudio Member Posts: 9

    Tinkerer

    and the get-tpm results:



  • egydiocoelho
    egydiocoelho ACE Posts: 95,899 Trailblazer
    Is your notebook a Chinese model? Perhaps a tpm restriction for Chinese models: https://community.acer.com/en/discussion/601663/spin-1-bios-disable-tpm-interface-for-china-po-what-does-it-mean

    This is the only possibility, as the an515-55 model comes with the chip soldered on the motherboard.
    Oi! Eu não sou sou a cortana! Mas estou aqui para ajudar! Hi! I'm not the cortana! But I'm here to help!
    Se você gostou da minha resposta, marque como solução clicando em sim! If you liked my answer, mark it as a solution by clicking on yes!
    Aceite somente a resposta que ajudou a solucionar o seu problema! Please accept only the response that helped to solve your problem!
    Detection tool click here to find the serial number or partnumber of your model!                                                          

               
      egydiocoelho Trailblazer
     
    ProductKey clique aqui para descobrir o serial do windows! click here to discover the windows serial!
    Para usuários da comunidade inglesa, espanhola, francesa e alemã, usarei o google tradutor! :)
    For users of the English, Spanish, French and German community, I will be using google translator! :) 
  • AzureZeng
    AzureZeng Member Posts: 9

    Tinkerer

    Is your notebook a Chinese model? Perhaps a tpm restriction for Chinese models: https://community.acer.com/en/discussion/601663/spin-1-bios-disable-tpm-interface-for-china-po-what-does-it-mean

    This is the only possibility, as the an515-55 model comes with the chip soldered on the motherboard.
    Yeah it is a Chinese model, and I installed English(US) language pack.
    This reason for disabling TPM(PTT) module is ridiculous, which make my model not able to upgrade to Windows 11.
  • kimstudio
    kimstudio Member Posts: 9

    Tinkerer

    Yeah I bought it in mainland China. I guess I have to wait for BIOS update to enable intel PTT on CPU chip?
  • egydiocoelho
    egydiocoelho ACE Posts: 95,899 Trailblazer
    I don't know what regulation is adopted by the Chinese government. However, perhaps the only way to enable the tpm chip is using an unlocked bios.
    Oi! Eu não sou sou a cortana! Mas estou aqui para ajudar! Hi! I'm not the cortana! But I'm here to help!
    Se você gostou da minha resposta, marque como solução clicando em sim! If you liked my answer, mark it as a solution by clicking on yes!
    Aceite somente a resposta que ajudou a solucionar o seu problema! Please accept only the response that helped to solve your problem!
    Detection tool click here to find the serial number or partnumber of your model!                                                          

               
      egydiocoelho Trailblazer
     
    ProductKey clique aqui para descobrir o serial do windows! click here to discover the windows serial!
    Para usuários da comunidade inglesa, espanhola, francesa e alemã, usarei o google tradutor! :)
    For users of the English, Spanish, French and German community, I will be using google translator! :) 

Assistance by Acer


The opinions expressed on Acer Community are the personal opinions of the authors, not of Acer. By using this site, you accept Acer's Privacy Policy and the Acer Community User Agreement.

  • swiftevopoweron-tertiarybanner_620x335
    Swift Series Intel® Evo™

    Power On

  • xbox-agw-tertiary-banner-620
    Game Pass

    Game Pass

  • win-11-pro-banner
    Windows 11 Pro

    Windows 11 Pro for Acer business laptops

  • chromebook-gaming
    Gaming on Chromebook

    Gaming on Chromebook