Looking for AX3960 Manual or start up guide

reestit
reestit Member Posts: 2 New User
This is my first time here despite having an Aspire desktop for a lot of years - never knew it existed - and looking for help for my old computer.
My old computer is feeling her age and is taking longer to wake up in the mornings!
Looking to see if I can ease her in gently by knowing what really needs to be running at startup?
Also looking for a manual / guide to see how best care for her in old age!

Thanks for any help.

Answers

• billsey
    billsey ACE Posts: 33,439 Trailblazer
    Your Aspire X3960 is an oldie (2nd gen processor, so vintage 2010 or so), so it's no surprise it's starting to show that age. There are a couple of small upgrades you can do to help though. First an most important is replacing the original HDD with a new SSD. You have four SATA ports on the motherboard, with likely two different colors. Two are SATA 2.0, two are SATA 3.0. Your ODD is probably plugged into a SATA 2.0 port, the HDD in a SATA 3.0 port. You are going to want to put your new SSD into one of the SATA 3.0 ports.
    When you pick up the SSD also get a 2.5" to 3.5" drive mounting adapter and an empty external drive case that has USB 3.0. Best at this point is a case that will fit the old 3.5" drive so you can repurpose yours as an external.