Fradulent repair status

Options
justalaptopformymom
justalaptopformymom Member Posts: 4 New User
edited May 2021 in Switch Series
I bought an Acer Switch 3 for my mother, this device is 5 months old and under warranty. I'm an IT engineer. She noticed in April she was no longer able to have telehealth appointments with her doctor because her webcam wouldn't activate. I've tried every software fix under the sun, including a complete OS reset and I come to the conclusion this is a hardware failure, no problem, the device is under warranty, right? After going through level 1 tech support they tell me I have to pay for the shipping to send this guy in, so I reset the OS and send it on its way with the problem description: "The integrated camera has failed. Webcam shows black input when I use the Camera app, Zoom or Teams will show black input as well, no video, no photo."

I receive the device two weeks later with a note in the repair report "could not duplicate the stated issue," I turn on the device and turn on the Camera app (easiest way to test the front facing webcam) and it is pitch black just like it was before. I'm violently angry.

I make purchasing decisions at work and usually go for a Dell or Lenovo or some other business class laptop that I'm certified to fix, though I no longer do troubleshooting regularly as part of my job, but because my mother was working with a budget and refused to let me pay for it, I went with an Acer, having had relatively decent experiences with their monitors. I am beyond regretful. Not only can't I fix this device myself, but spent money to send it in for some guy at some repair center to just fake their repair report