Helios 300 (2020) ph315-53 - Audio Issue / Battery / Ram / Heat

Options
tokoku
tokoku Member Posts: 1 New User
Hey guys, just wanted to share my experience with everyone. I have been using this new model for around two months and I originally owned a Helios 300 2017, what I can say generally speaking is that 2017 version was better for me. The only problem I had was related to heat and I solve it by changing the thermal paste.

With this 2020 version I have had a couple of issues..

Audio Issue -  I have two problems with the audio, both related to headphones/headset usage.
  • High pitch sound, I tried to solve this with every recommendation found, with no final solution. For the moment the only way I was able to fix this until reboot was by disabling and then renabling the  Nvidia High definition audio from the device manager.
  • Whenever I disconnect headphones and then reconnect them again they are not detected. I have to restart the pc completely in order for the headset to be detected again..
In the end I bought a Bluetooth headset as this was unbearable..

Battery Performance - So I don't know if it just me but while in battery with best battery life selected, I only get around 1 hour... While checking battery usage no app is displayed even with medium power usage. So I dont know why battery life is so ***** short.

I also was able two time to get (for some reason) 2 hours of battery life, but I was not able to identify what was different. My guess is some process or something is consuming battery and its not being shown in the task manager

Heat -  My Helios is always over 70 C and fan speed for GPU in auto mode is always greater that 3500 rpm, whenever GPU is over 3500 rpm the fan gets loud with a high pitch sound. With this model throttle stop is not an option, so besides trying to change thermal paste I don't know how else to try to decrease general temperature.

• Note - while predator sense is open, rpm and temperature are higher.