Hello, Pretty total novice here. I have an Aspire TC-281-UR12 SN: DTB92AA002XXX. It came w

PeeterRabbit
PeeterRabbit Member Posts: 3 New User
edited February 2021 in Aspire and Veriton Desktops
Hello,
Pretty total novice here. I have an Aspire TC-281-UR12 SN:  DTB92AA002XXXX. It came with an 8GB and a 4GB RAM installed. I have tried to add additional RAM. I started with a 8GB and the unit wouldn't boot with either the new RAM alone or when combined with the old RAM. Sent RAM back to seller as defective. I purchased a 16GB from another vendor and same deal. They exchanged it for another 16GB and same deal. I've tried them in all different slots. Machine will not boot with any of the new RAM in it. These RAM were sold as compatible with this machine. I also tried clearing the CMOS but that did nothing. Am I missing something? Thank you

Edited the content to hide sensitive information

Best Answer

• PeeterRabbit
    Answer ✓
    Thanks everyone. Problem solved. Purchased RAM made by Crucial and it worked from the get go. Moral of the story...don't believe all vendors who say their components are compatible. Thanks

Answers

• Jack22
    Jack22 ACE Posts: 3,921 Pathfinder
    @PeeterRabbit
    The Ram which you got should be DDR4 1.2V 2400U-DIMMs Dual channel upto 64GB
    The Model for this would from A-DATA,Kinsgton or Micron try and check. CHeck all the above was right in the RAM that u used
    Click on 'Yes' if the comment answers your question!
  • PeeterRabbit
    Thank you Jack22 for your answer. The RAM I received has written on it "16GB PCA-2130 DDR4  2666 MHZ 210131". Since it doesn't work I will have to assume that it is incompatible with my machine even though they said it was. I will return them and get something from Crucial since I heard they were part of Micron.
  • Jack22
    Jack22 ACE Posts: 3,921 Pathfinder