Old acer aspire 5 A515-51G-53MR battery 19% plugged in not charging and then turned off

tadechuva
tadechuva Member Posts: 3 New User
I need some help here. Im not very good with "technology".  I have an old aspire -can't remember how hold but at least 4 or 5 years. It was a substitution to my "older"  desktop and maybe I didn't understand the differences that well. Laptop was always on top of my desk and like I did with my desktop I kept the charger always on. I guess that's not a good thing, maybe. I never had any problems with it, though, and it was working fine until a few months ago a few strange things happened - or maybe just strange to me -. The first one was that sometimes when I was typing or just touched it around the keyboard part I would get a light electrical shock.It was not a big deal and I wasn't sure if it was a problem so I did nothing. Then another time I put my cell phone on top of it and it turned off just like that. I checked and realized that the magnetic clasp from my cell phone cover had touched it. I thought maybe it was normal maybe it wasn't a good idea to touch magnets to the laptop so I just kept my phone away from it. Nothing else happened and I continued using it without problems. Until today. I was answering an email and I"m not sure if I touched the battery icon on the task bar, or it was a notification it showed 19% plugged in not charging. And before I had time to even check anything 2 or 3 minutes after it turned off.I know the cord charger is working fine it I had just checked it recently. When I clicked the on button to see if it would turn on I looked and the light was blinking blue for about 10 seconds and then will stop. It never turned on. I am not even sure where the battery is or if it can be replaced. The older ones used to be easy to see and easy to remove, but the batteries are different now. I think it's at the bottom but it has a screw holding it and I'm not sure if it is or not. Thinking back I suppose I shouldn't