I am looking for advice on case/mobo upgrades for the Predator 3000

Options
OddOldEnds
OddOldEnds Member Posts: 2 New User
So! I should start out by stating that I am a complete amateur when it comes to PC building.

I recently bought a Predator 3000 and I new that I was going to want more RAM so I got some. Found out rather quickly that the PSU can't really handle it, so I bought a new one only to find that the 6-pin mobo connection is not standard and am at a loss. I have been getting mixed results on being able to take the old cpu to a new mobo and so I finally cam across a post on here of someone saying they have done it but I am still at a loss as I do not know which mobo/case combo they went with. The comments also mentioned that he replaced the cpu fan. I am just kind of lost and a little bummed that I have a couple hundred dollars worth of parts that are just sitting in the packaging at the moment and could use some help here. 

Thank you in advance, and if anyone needs more info, just let me know! 

Answers

• StevenGen
    Options
    So! I should start out by stating that I am a complete amateur when it comes to PC building.

I recently bought a Predator 3000 and I new that I was going to want more RAM so I got some. Found out rather quickly that the PSU can't really handle it, so I bought a new one only to find that the 6-pin mobo connection is not standard and am at a loss. I have been getting mixed results on being able to take the old cpu to a new mobo and so I finally cam across a post on here of someone saying they have done it but I am still at a loss as I do not know which mobo/case combo they went with. The comments also mentioned that he replaced the cpu fan. I am just kind of lost and a little bummed that I have a couple hundred dollars worth of parts that are just sitting in the packaging at the moment and could use some help here. 

Thank you in advance, and if anyone needs more info, just let me know!