Acer Aspire 5 Slim A515-54-51Dj Laptop Charging Issues

UltiSnipe777
UltiSnipe777 Member Posts: 11

Tinkerer

edited October 2023 in 2020 Archives
Hey Everyone. So for the past 2 months, I have been an issue where my laptop is inconsistently charging once turned on. The charging light inconsistently blinks and forces me to believe that I have an electrical shortage. I thought that the issue was caused due to the voltage provided from my house but that doesn't always seem to be the case. I then thought I may have a defective charger or charging port, but I just needed some confirmation on this matter before going forward with my plan. I have some experience when it comes to working with hardware. However, I am not that experienced and would like to know if anyone else had this issue and figured out how to solve it. Here is a video displaying the issue https://youtu.be/ArAeBMHiGBo I would really appreciate the help

Answers

• JackE
    JackE ACE Posts: 44,811 Trailblazer
    First check the open circuit voltage between the charger plug's outer ring and center connector. Should be about 19VDC.  If that checks out OK, then go to the elevated command prompt.  Enter 'powercfg /batteryreport'. Then return to the desktop. Open file explorer. Then search for' battery-report.html' in the c:\windows\system32\ sub-folder. Double-click to open it in the browser. Post screenshot of the first part of the report if possible that compares design full charge capacity with its remaining full charge capacity. Jack E/NJ

Jack E/NJ

• UltiSnipe777

Tinkerer

edited December 2020
    JackE said: