Power supply not working. Please help im new

Options
SqueakyPlum841
SqueakyPlum841 Member Posts: 2 New User
edited March 1 in 2020 Archives
I received an Aspire TC-895 and I try upgrading the graphic card but for what I find I bought a new power supply of 500w just in case, the problem is I try the computer to start just to see if everything was fine but for some reason with the 500w power supply doesn't work and with the default does. But I need the new one to power up the graphic card. The graphic card is a gtx 1660 the new power supply is this one https://www.microcenter.com/product/617331/powerspec-500-watt-80-plus-atx-non-modular-power-supply
 I still need a cable to connect them together but I'm really new to this please help.

Answers

• billsey
    billsey ACE Posts: 31,722 Trailblazer
    Options
    Doesn't the TC-895 use a ATX12VO power supply? You need one that has those connectors and power types. There are two connectors that go to the MB, an eight pin and a six pin. The older style ATX supplies had a 20 or 24 pin connector. What connector does your supply have and how are you connecting it to the MB?
    Click on "Like" if you find my answer useful or click on "Yes" if it answers your question.
  • SqueakyPlum841
    SqueakyPlum841 Member Posts: 2 New User
    edited October 2020
    Options
    The power supply that came with has a 6 and 4 pin and the MB like you said one of 8 pin and other of 6pins.the 9ower supply I buy iuas the 20+4 pins. If you could advise me some power supplies or any advise at all i will really appreciate. billsey said:
    Doesn't the TC-895 use a ATX12VO power supply? You need one that has those connectors and power types. There are two connectors that go to the MB, an eight pin and a six pin. The older style ATX supplies had a 20 or 24 pin connector. What connector does your supply have and how are you connecting it to the MB?

• ttttt
    ttttt Member Posts: 1,947 Community Aficionado WiFi Icon
    Options