Aspire TC 885 UA92 additional SSD drive installation instruction?

Options
Idicgrrl
Idicgrrl Member Posts: 1 New User
edited March 1 in 2020 Archives
Hey, sorry if this has been asked before. I am a total newbie and bought a awesome Aspire TC 885 UA92 with 512GB SSD drive already installed. I bought a WD  2.5" SATA 1TB SSD drive. I also bought a Corsair 3.5" mounting bracket and after opening the desktop case, I'm not sure how to proceed. The bracket doesn't seem to fit. I'm stumped. Thanks for all your help!! 

Answers

• ttttt
    ttttt Member Posts: 1,947 Community Aficionado WiFi Icon
    Options
    I have a TC885-UA91, though a different sub model, but I believe the difference is the processor only.

If you are totally non-technical person and do not care about the look, you can just put this 2.5" SATA SSD to the silver small tray at the back of the CD/DVD drive. First, use the additional data cable came with your computer. Plug the cable to one of the SATA3 connectors (currently blocked from view by the small tray in your photo) of the the motherboard. The other side goes to the 2.5" SATA SSD. Second, put the 2.5" SATA SSD with the connector facing out and put it to the tray. There should be a power connector there ( in your photo it is also hidden from view too), and you insert this power connector to the still open connector of your 2.5" SATA SSD. Now, how to fix it to the tray? Just use a couple piece of 2" masking tape or gorilla tape to affix the SSD to the tray and you are all done. That may not look good but it will work.

If you want to be technical, you can try pull out the unused power wires close to the front panel (also hidden from view of your photo). Let me forewarn you that, you should not try to pull it out by force. There may be power connector tangled up with a front panel wire(blue and white color), and that front panel wire may be tied together with the power wires to be pulled out.