next@acer 2020

acer aspire a515-43 ryzen 5 3500u not perfoming to it's true potential.

SuvanSuvan Member Posts: 6 New User
This laptop throttles a lot and is not performing to its maximum potential.
There is a YouTube channel called mike's unboxing and review which get 1235 score on cinebench r20.
while mine gets around 965 in r20 (probably because of single channel 8gb ram)
but actually a regular ryzen 5 3500u gets somewhere between 1400-1500.
I think there is a problem with the firmware or bios or firmware and acer should fix it.

FAQ & Answers

  • JackEJackE ACE Posts: 21,750 Trailblazer
    This seems about right. ACER BIOS usually limits CPU/GPU to 80-90% max for its laptops for reliability. However, throttling  behavior is more likely due to excessive heat (re-pasting may be needed with Kryonaut or ArcticMX4) or not making sure battery is near 100% charged and plugged in ***before*** starting heavy gaming loads.   Jack E/NJ
    Jack E/NJ
  • SuvanSuvan Member Posts: 6 New User
    is there a way to change it to 100% ?
  • SuvanSuvan Member Posts: 6 New User
    also is there a way to reset the bios? If i reinstall windows will everything get reset?
  • JackEJackE ACE Posts: 21,750 Trailblazer
    Sorry, changing the official ACER BIOS firmware isn't authorized or allowed by ACER. Furthermore, re-installing or re-setting the Windows operating system should also have no affect on the firmware.

    The highest laptop performance and longest gaming times are achieved by setting ControlPanel's power plan to maximum performance mode, battery charged to near 100%, and charger plugged in BEFORE starting heavy gaming loads. If throttling behavior is still experienced, then the CPU/GPU is probably overheating and should be re-pasted to its heat sink using a high quality paste like Kryonaut or ArticMX4.

    Jack E/NJ
    Jack E/NJ
  • SuvanSuvan Member Posts: 6 New User
    @JackE is there a cmos battery for the laptop? Also there is a small hole to insert a paper clip in the back of the laptop wont that reset anything?
  • JackEJackE ACE Posts: 21,750 Trailblazer
    Yes, its connector jrtc1 on the mainboard is shown below. The pinhole is for momentarily disconnecting the battery pack by pressing a paperclip on a spring-loaded switch swg2 on the mainboard also shown below. Jack E/NJ


    Jack E/NJ
Sign In or Register to comment.

Who's Online1.6K

2ley
2ley
Acer-Laura
Acer-Laura
aphanic
aphanic
cicinho
cicinho
Cyriix
Cyriix
Darshana2073
Darshana2073
Dchat
Dchat
FightMilk
FightMilk
Jayakumar2000
Jayakumar2000
JRaman
JRaman
juanelias_f
juanelias_f
K4z
K4z
MaClane
MaClane
MarkrdGradwell
MarkrdGradwell
mflira
mflira
Nikollae
Nikollae
RamonCorreia
RamonCorreia
ridhwan786
ridhwan786
Thiago_Sanches
Thiago_Sanches
Tresviered
Tresviered
+1.6K Guests

Join in, share your experience!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Assistance by Acer


Drivers &
Manuals

Acer
Answers

Get Product Information
( only)

Acer Support
Videos

Member Highlight

We want to recognize GAMING6698's dedicated efforts in the Acer Community. GAMING6698 has become one of the main collaborators since joining the Community in November of 2019.
On behalf of all our users and the Acer Team, we thank you for your dedication!

Total Posts and Comments: 3311

Total Points:5707

Total Accepted Answers: 287

GAMING6698 Mainframe Wrangler