Laptop running hotter than usual (AN515-54-53RN)

Options
RenElite
RenElite Member Posts: 17 Troubleshooter
edited December 2023 in 2020 Archives
Hello, so I've been using my Nitro 5 (AN515-54-53RN) for almost 5 months now, and it was good 'til this past week. First off, my laptop started to suffer an erratic trackpad while I am charging which I am assuming due to my faulty charger which is I don't know the reason how it became faulty. Then, I noticed that Tekken 7, which has low consumption of the CPU, started to run much hotter than when this laptop is just 2 months old which is around 60-72C, now it hits 80 or sometimes 90C, not only that, but PCSX2 had also started showing an increase in temp in CPU as well. Keep in note that I am already running them with -134.8 undervolt in Throttlestop. Then, I noticed that two of the eight threads is running much hotter in gaming in throttlestop, usually peaking at 93-94C while the others would remain at low 70s. Does the faulty charger contribute to the overheating problem of my laptop or is the laptop needing a repaste?

Answers

• GAMING6698
    GAMING6698 ACE Posts: 6,324 Pathfinder
    Options
    @RenElite repaste is permanent solution in your case.by yourself you can only do if there is no seal or sticker on the top of screw 
    windows 10/11 optimization guide for gaming 
    Windows 10/11 optimization guide for gaming — Acer Community

My AN515-43 laptop UserBenchmark-
    https://www.userbenchmark.com/UserRun/51514566
  • RenElite
    Options
    @RenElite repaste is permanent solution in your case.by yourself you can only do if there is no seal or sticker on the top of screw 
    So my faulty charger does not contribute to the heating issue? What about the threads that heat up to 90C, is there any problems to it as well? Since the other threads is lower than 20C than those two.
  • GAMING6698
    edited March 2020
    Options