No startup wth USB hard drives Aspire U5-620

Verne
Verne Member Posts: 1 New User
edited March 1 in 2019 Archives
Hi all,
I am new to this and did not see the problem when searching the forums but my guess is I just failed to use the right terms.  Others must have experienced this.
I have an Aspire U5-620.  I am a photographer and am approaching the data limit on the internal 1 TB drive.  I purchased two 8 TB USB 3.0 drives.  When I start the computer with the drives plugged in the startup process stalls.  BIOS gives me no choice for C drive only.  Startup is controlled by Windows Boot Manager which I have no experience with.  
When I look at the boot manager it says " Windows 10 (C:\Windows) :Current OS; Default OS.  I would think that would do it but I must be wrong as I believe it is not starting up because it is busy looking for an OS on the USB drives.  Can anyone help?

Comments

• billsey
    billsey ACE Posts: 33,848 Trailblazer
    No, it's unlikely to be failing to start because of the external drives pretending to be boot devices. It's much more likely you are running into a power budget problem. Do the two external drives have their own power or are they getting it all from the USB ports? The power available on a USB port is often not enough to drive those big HDDs. The power budget on a USB 2.0 port is 500mA, on a USB 3.0 900mA and a USB 3.0 in charger mode is 2100mA. Note that the last mode may give enough power, but it also disables data transfer... I believe the only one that supports the charging mode is the 3.0 on the left side. What you might want to do is use an external USB 3.0 hub that has it's own power supply and put the two drives on it. Does it work with only one installed? What happens when you plug one in while up and running?
    Click on "Like" if you find my answer useful or click on "Yes" if it answers your question.
  • The_Old_Gringo
    The_Old_Gringo Member Posts: 2 New User