Acer Chromebook 11 CB3-131 randomly automatically disconnects from WiFi

bjonesAZ
bjonesAZ Member Posts: 3 New User
edited July 2023 in Chromebooks
Hello,

I've had this Chromebook since fall 2016 and it has worked great until the past year. It began disconnecting from the internet at random times, automatically toggling WiFi off. I would toggle it on and it would slide right back to off. Restarting the computer fixed the problem.

Now, it is randomly disconnecting much more often. This time, I can toggle it back on, but it'll say "WiFi is turned off." After reading a few things online I power washed the Chromebook, which fixed the problem for about a week and a half. Now it's happening again; I power washed it again a few minutes ago, but the problem is persisting.

I heavily depend on this Chromebook for work and school; I'm currently a college student. I don't know anything about assembling or disassembling computers, so I would really appreciate a solution that doesn't involve that; I would probably just make it worse because I don't know what I'm doing. Please help; I'm getting a bit desperate!!

Answers

• William_mk2
    William_mk2 Ally Posts: 4,084
    bjonesAZ

Hi,

I am really sorry for the inconvenience.    Since you already did the power wash,  check how your computer works in your neighbor's home,  friends home, or at a hotspot.   If your laptop is working fine there then it is not a issue with your chromebook.

It's important to determine if your WiFi problem happens at all WiFi networks, or just at home.

If you are having problems re-connecting to your WiFi after your Chromebook goes to sleep, try this:
    Go to settings > advanced  > privacy & security > keep wifi on during sleep. Enable that option. It seems to help some users. Also, make your network "preferred"