Acer Aspire X1301 Firmware BIOS Update

Options
barrydit
barrydit Member Posts: 1 New User
edited March 1 in 2019 Archives
Hello,

I am a computer technician, and I work for Computer Store in Grand Forks, BC Canada

And I have recently received a customers computer, and I have been receiving an error message at the end of the POST boot, "DISK BOOT FAILURE - INSERT SYSTEM DISK AND PRESS ENTER". After cloning the drive, the message disappeared and booted to Windows 10. However the computer had begun to give the same error message as before, even with a brand new SATA HDD. Now I can no longer get past the POST screen while having a hard drive plugged into the machine. As it remains at a the bios screen, press Del: for setup or F12: for boot-able list. It will not take any keyboard inputs. And I can not turn on/off the Num Lock (simply as a test)-

My question here is, before I invest in a replacement motherboard, I am considering upgrading the BIOS to see if it could resolve the issues mentioned above. The question is simple, but I thought I would ask it anyways. According to the website https://www.acer.com/ac/en/ID/content/support-product/1285;-; at the bottom, there appears to be a BIOS/Firmware (UPDATE???). The current details on the computer is Acer Aspire X1301 / System Bios Version: P01-A2 / BIOS Release Date: 11/06/2009 ... According to the date of the "upload" it is 2010, but when I open the zip file the file dates are 2008-2009, as well as the Version # appears to be the very same one as on the computer. Is it worth upgrading the BIOS with the software?

I have access to and can successfully load a Virtual Windows 10 from a Thumb drive, and could possibly flash the bios from there just to see if it could resolve the issue, if it is worth doing so. I hope I have provided all the useful information, and all I ask is whether if the 2 BIOS firmware are same or can I flash the BIOS and have any luck.

Answers

• laurent_14
    Options
    Hello,