Examples: Monday, today, last week, Mar 26, 3/26/04

Acer Predator Z35 - Best way to connect two laptops to Acer Predator

OhGodOhGod Posts: 9Member New User
edited September 14 in Monitors
Ello. :)

Just purchased an "Acer Predator Z35 35" Curved 1800R QHD 2560x1080 NVIDIA G-SYNC Z35P-BMIPHZ" online and since I don't have the S/N of my product yet, can't seem to be able to ask Acer Live Chat, and wondered if anyone here could help, please.

I'd like to connect two laptops to this one monitor.  What would be the best/easiest way to do this?  From what I understand, it has an HDMI port, a DisplayPort 1.2, and four high-speed USB 3.0 ports ... 

Any help is appreciated.




Best Answer

  • MaClaneMaClane Posts: 11,179 Trailblazer
    Accepted Answer
    Good evening OhGod !

    By default, most monitors do not support 2 simultaneous connections.
    When the upper access connection is being used, the second one will not be active.

    In this case only if you use a switch like this:


    httpsimages-nassl-images-amazoncomimagesI81KlrBOcjkL_SL1500_jpg



    Se minha resposta foi útil, deixe um "Curtir", marque como "Solucionado" e clique em "Promover"!
    Caso contrario, fico a disposição para tentarmos sanar suas duvidas e resolver seus problemas!
    Atenciosamente:  J. MaClane™

    If my answer was helpful, leave a like, flag as "Fixed" and click "Promote"!
    Otherwise, I am willing to try to heal your doubts and solve your problems!
    Sincerely, J. MaClane ™

    For users of the English, Spanish, French and German Community, I will be using Google Translate!

                              ACE Trailblazer 2014 - 2019                          



FAQ & Answers

  • OhGodOhGod Posts: 9Member New User
    P.S.  I just Googled a DisplayPort 1.2, and I am guessing, i can connect one though this port and another through the HDMI, correct?
  • MaClaneMaClane Posts: 11,179ACE Trailblazer
    Accepted Answer
    Good evening OhGod !

    By default, most monitors do not support 2 simultaneous connections.
    When the upper access connection is being used, the second one will not be active.

    In this case only if you use a switch like this:


    httpsimages-nassl-images-amazoncomimagesI81KlrBOcjkL_SL1500_jpg



    Se minha resposta foi útil, deixe um "Curtir", marque como "Solucionado" e clique em "Promover"!
    Caso contrario, fico a disposição para tentarmos sanar suas duvidas e resolver seus problemas!
    Atenciosamente:  J. MaClane™

    If my answer was helpful, leave a like, flag as "Fixed" and click "Promote"!
    Otherwise, I am willing to try to heal your doubts and solve your problems!
    Sincerely, J. MaClane ™

    For users of the English, Spanish, French and German Community, I will be using Google Translate!

                              ACE Trailblazer 2014 - 2019                          



  • OhGodOhGod Posts: 9Member New User
    Ahhh.  I read about those too.  Ok.  Will look further into it.  Thought I might be able to get away with buying a small adapter for the DisplayPort, but it was too confusing to know for sure.  Thanks!
  • OhGodOhGod Posts: 9Member New User
    Or actually, sorry, (I don't know how to respond or reply), I do not mind if they are not active simultaneously, as long as I can switch between the laptops.  Would the KVM Switch still be the best bet?
  • OhGodOhGod Posts: 9Member New User

    MaClane said:
    Good evening OhGod !

    By default, most monitors do not support 2 simultaneous connections.
    When the upper access connection is being used, the second one will not be active.
    I wound up getting this one:   HDMI KVM Switch Button Switcher USB Port With Cable For Monitor Keyboard Mouse

    Thank you for the reply.
  • MaClaneMaClane Posts: 11,179ACE Trailblazer
    Good afternoon!

    In this case only using a same KVM switch, with mouse, keyboard and HDMi and DP output connections in your case.


    Se minha resposta foi útil, deixe um "Curtir", marque como "Solucionado" e clique em "Promover"!
    Caso contrario, fico a disposição para tentarmos sanar suas duvidas e resolver seus problemas!
    Atenciosamente:  J. MaClane™

    If my answer was helpful, leave a like, flag as "Fixed" and click "Promote"!
    Otherwise, I am willing to try to heal your doubts and solve your problems!
    Sincerely, J. MaClane ™

    For users of the English, Spanish, French and German Community, I will be using Google Translate!

                              ACE Trailblazer 2014 - 2019                          



  • billseybillsey Posts: 6,700ACE Pathfinder
    Yes, the KVM switch is the cleanest solution, but you could hook the two laptops up and use the monitor controls to change the source signal. The really nice things about using the KVM though is that it allows you to have one keyboard and one mouse to work both machines.
    Click on "Like" if you find my answer useful or click on "Yes" if it answers your question.
  • OhGodOhGod Posts: 9Member New User
    Hi @Billsey.  I currently use MS Garage's Mouse Without Borders to share my mouse and keyboard across the two laptops and two screens via wifi.  Love it.  It is amazing.  (IMO MS made up for Win10 with Mouse Without Borders. =) ).   

    As for hooking up the two laptops to share one screen, yessss!  This is what I would like.  I am still waiting on the KVM switch, but received my monitor today, so if there is a way to do it until the switch gets here, that would be great.   
  • MaClaneMaClane Posts: 11,179ACE Trailblazer
    Good afternoon OhGod !

    Functionally only KVM will meet your needs.
    I suggest you wait and report here once everything is working perfectly.


    Se minha resposta foi útil, deixe um "Curtir", marque como "Solucionado" e clique em "Promover"!
    Caso contrario, fico a disposição para tentarmos sanar suas duvidas e resolver seus problemas!
    Atenciosamente:  J. MaClane™

    If my answer was helpful, leave a like, flag as "Fixed" and click "Promote"!
    Otherwise, I am willing to try to heal your doubts and solve your problems!
    Sincerely, J. MaClane ™

    For users of the English, Spanish, French and German Community, I will be using Google Translate!

                              ACE Trailblazer 2014 - 2019                          



Sign In or Register to comment.

Who's Online261

brunnocostam
brunnocostam
Deejay_tech
Deejay_tech
Egelie
Egelie
G3r4ld2
G3r4ld2
IgorTheBarros
IgorTheBarros
Jeromebaglin
Jeromebaglin
Jhjh6980
Jhjh6980
Lowenmul
Lowenmul
MartinJohn00001
MartinJohn00001
razornbv
razornbv
sri369
sri369
SYEDHUSSAIN
SYEDHUSSAIN
TECH_MAN
TECH_MAN
Tland43
Tland43
UnwantedAce48
UnwantedAce48
+246 Guests

Join in, share your experience!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

New Here?

So, what are the rules of this place? Check out our Acer Community User Agreement. Register to get all the benefits of being a member! Get social and introduce yourself in our Welcome Forum, or learn about our ACE Program and What's Happening at Acer.

Intel Extreme KAtowise 2019
Predator Join the forum discussions on our
Predator line of products.
Find out about the Acer ACE program.