X35 flickering(Acer X35 monitor)

1131416181928

FAQ & Answers

  • SilentMarketSilentMarket Member Posts: 27 Enthusiast
    guesswho said:
    Since I can't edit my post apparantly @SilentMarket :
    You linked your own video in three different threads within minutes. Overclock.net, techpowerup.com and this thread here.

    You just claimed you have a X27 yet in techpowerup.com you claim you have a PG27UQ and a PG35VQ "bought 3 months ago from the physical ROG store way ahead of the availability than any other online retailer" which goes back to that r/ultrawidemasterrace post. 

    So, where is that physical ROG store located?

    You're full of it tbh and I have no idea what you're trying to accomplish with your crusade about ghosting/flickering and whatnot. Again: no matter how much you kick and scream these monitors are still flawed beyond usability.

    I already told you I read that post. Then you should expect all the information I can drag from there. That stuff is rathe solid, is it wrong to bring it up here? 
  • guesswhoguesswho Member Posts: 4 New User
    guesswho said:
    Since I can't edit my post apparantly @SilentMarket :
    You linked your own video in three different threads within minutes. Overclock.net, techpowerup.com and this thread here.

    You just claimed you have a X27 yet in techpowerup.com you claim you have a PG27UQ and a PG35VQ "bought 3 months ago from the physical ROG store way ahead of the availability than any other online retailer" which goes back to that r/ultrawidemasterrace post. 

    So, where is that physical ROG store located?

    You're full of it tbh and I have no idea what you're trying to accomplish with your crusade about ghosting/flickering and whatnot. Again: no matter how much you kick and scream these monitors are still flawed beyond usability.

    I already told you I read that post. Then you should expect all the information I can drag from there. That stuff is rathe solid, is it wrong to bring it up here? 
    Right. You post your video on Overclock.net with essentially the same username as on the Acer forum, a few minutes later you create a post linking that video on Techpowerup.com, stating it's your footage. What are you trying to accomplish here?

    You're quite the special snowflake, jesus christ.

  • SilentMarketSilentMarket Member Posts: 27 Enthusiast
    @HAL_9000 Samsung and LG make their own panels. If that is what you are interested in.
  • SilentMarketSilentMarket Member Posts: 27 Enthusiast
    guesswho said:
    guesswho said:
    Since I can't edit my post apparantly @SilentMarket :
    You linked your own video in three different threads within minutes. Overclock.net, techpowerup.com and this thread here.

    You just claimed you have a X27 yet in techpowerup.com you claim you have a PG27UQ and a PG35VQ "bought 3 months ago from the physical ROG store way ahead of the availability than any other online retailer" which goes back to that r/ultrawidemasterrace post. 

    So, where is that physical ROG store located?

    You're full of it tbh and I have no idea what you're trying to accomplish with your crusade about ghosting/flickering and whatnot. Again: no matter how much you kick and scream these monitors are still flawed beyond usability.

    I already told you I read that post. Then you should expect all the information I can drag from there. That stuff is rathe solid, is it wrong to bring it up here? 
    Right. You post your video on Overclock.net with essentially the same username as on the Acer forum, a few minutes later you create a post linking that video on Techpowerup.com, stating it's your footage. What are you trying to accomplish here?

    You're quite the special snowflake, jesus christ.

    I don't care whatever you are accused of. I won't be hurt to be informational. You keep digging until getting banned by violating rules here.
  • KingFisherKingFisher Member Posts: 10

    Tinkerer

    kot0005 said:

    What surprises me most is some cry babies always yell. 

    It is like you bought the fastest exotic car on the market and yell to everyone "Hey! My Buggati's inventory space is too small!"  

    Show some attitude and buy yourself another SUV, please? 

    If you don't like it, return it. No need to force others to be the victims.  

    It is life. Enjoy the moment. 

    I like my X35, it is VA panel, it flickers. Then what? I got the 200Hz and HDR. The fastest 21:9 monitor in this world. If there is another one, a better one next year, hopefully, IPS. By that time I will still buy it. 

    [sigh in Italian]

    I Only your new Buggati doesnst work properly and displays ugly flickering and scanlines ... may be you should get off these forums if your monitor is workin. why waste your time ?

     I also have multiple confirmations from Asus and nvidia saying its a known issue and they are trying to fix it.

    The fact that i tested 4 monitors on different setups and found these issues is plenty proof that these monitors have a major fault. If you dont have it then stop posting here. 

    This thread is for people having similar issues.

    Also not ghosting or overshoot otherwise there would be heaps of VA panel users complaining. Sure, it may occur on a few VA panels but its occurs on 100% of the X35's and PG35VQ's which indicates that they are faulty.
    My monitor has scaliness. No big deal.
    You post your videos on every forums to spread disease just because you switched 4 monitors and that is not enough to brag about. You can't return it and get mad about it. You force everyone to think their monitor is faulty
    Finally a guy exposed you don't even know what ghosting is. It is a common issue. Live with it.
    Nice try!



  • KingFisherKingFisher Member Posts: 10

    Tinkerer

    Video Link: 
  • TweetiePieTweetiePie Member Posts: 28 Troubleshooter
    edited October 2019
    HAL_9000 said:
    @TweetiePie
    i see you did not understood what i wrote. 
    "Its like selling out-of-date food hoping we wont notice the maggots" a.k.a. knowingly selling rotten burgers, hoping the one buying it wont notice (the rotten food). I did not refer to anyone being a maggot... 

    try this, m8:
    http://www.techmind.org/lcd/crosstalk1.html
    http://www.techmind.org/lcd/crosstalk2.html
    http://www.techmind.org/lcd/crosstalk3.html

    how does the monitor handle those ?

    Hello @HAL_9000 Thank you for providing the links to show the flickering what I would like to ask how do I go about proving my monitor has no flickering to you and the community.  I take it, I take a video with my phone or camera and upload it to a YouTube channel as I assume you will not believe me that I have no flickering when I click on those links as provided by you.

    I would like to show you what I am saying is the truth I am not an Acer fan boy either but a regular guy who like you just wants to know if his monitor is faulty I really meant no harm and thank you for your reply and I apologise to you if I was rude as that was not my intention, if you do ahve a faulty monitor then I do have sympathy regarding your purchase but surely if you complain Acer will either replace it if you are out of the retrun period or seek a refund through whatever payment method you sued to purchase the monitor that is why I use PayPal for all my transactions.

     I work hard for my money and money does not come very easy for me neither I ahve saved for thsi monitor and ahd to sacrifice other purchases I am not very tech savvy though I can build a pc but I have no experience of HDR and I do want to know if I have a lemon of a monitor.

    So I have been playing the Division 2 and there are no scan lines or flickering and even the links you provide no flickering there either, so guess my monitor is fault free what I would like to ask though is have I my settings correct to show this flickering so please do reply and tell me what settings should I be using and do I take a video then upload it to YouTube for you to see and witness for yourself I would like to be able to provide this material evidence of no flickering on my monitor X35 to the whole community.

    I have display settings in windows. I have HDR set to on then in the monitor settings I can not change any settings there because the HDR in windows overrides Picture settings on the monitor.

    When playing The Division 2 I have HDR 10 set to on and the hdr peak brightness turned all the way up to 8600 and most of the Graphics settings set to high or ultra.  The game looks fantastic the resolution is unbelievable textures are so crisp they do pop out the screen amazing really the only down side the brightness of the sun or lights in game are not as bright as to what I was led to be believed apart from that no flickering or scan lines as I am more looking for this defect rather than playing the game I am just walking around trying my hardest to manifest this fault and so far after 5 plus hours nothing, your links you provided which I have to thank you for I must admit I had some nervousness I did take a deep breath in and held it while the link opened in another window and to my surprise definitely no flickering whatsoever with my X35.

     

    @HAL_9000 I am glad we are good with one another so thank you and I appreciate your kindness. I do want to prove to you what I have written here so please reply tell me what I need to do and I will take a video with my phone or Sony camera and upload it to a YouTube channel then you will see what I see. I thank you and will look forward to your reply or anyone’s reply on how to set my monitor up to replicate the flickering or scan lines but so far, I have not experienced either.Any help with thsi will be appreciated.

    Thank you.

  • Acer-Manny_RetiredAcer-Manny_Retired Newbie Posts: 4,453 Guru
    edited October 2019
    Hi SopaConleche, I have forwarded all detail information (videos, chats, configuration etc.) to the appropriate department for follow up. Unfortunately, we don't have any updates at this moment (the engineering department is still investigating all the feedback provided), once i receive a response will update this thread.
    I recommend following the instructions provided by our technical support agent and send the unit for diagnosis and repair to your local Acer service center.


    Acer-Manny
    It's been over a month since this post. Any updates @Acer-Manny ?   

    Thank you all for the information and great feedback that it is being provided on this thread. Unfortunately, we don't have any updates that we can provide at this moment, we keep working closely with Head Quarters and will keep reporting to NVIDIA with all the information and feedback provided and once we get any information or updates, we will notify everyone here. 

    Please keep in mind that the Acer Forum Discussions were designed as a peer to peer support community, this is not a direct portal to Customer service or Technical Support. Acer employees (Moderators) read the various topics posted here and you will notice that some Acer employees (Moderators) may interact with members when appropriate, but primarily this community is desing to be a place where members can exchange their own advice and ideas with other members. If you're experiencing any issues with your Acer product and none of the troubleshooting tips provided on this community has helped, we recommend you to contact your local Acer support channel for assistance: 

    https://www.acer.com/worldwide/ - select the country you are in and click on the support tab, on the left-hand side you will find and option “contact support”.


    Also, in order to keep this a safe and productive community we ask that all members comply with the user agreement which was agreed to at the time of registration. 


    SpecificallyMember Contributions to the Acer Community:

    2. Be respectful, courteous and polite: Acer will not tolerate the posting of content which is rude, libelous, inflammatory, indecent, vulgar, pornographic, or any comments made in a sexual, racial, cultural or ethnic context. This includes abbreviations and acronyms to evade the word filter.

    Note: Acer, at its discretion, reserves the right to edit, re-locate, and/or partially or fully remove any submission to the community which fails to comply with the ACUA, but does not validate the accuracy of the information.


    You may review the agreement here


    Thanks for your help in keeping the community a friendly, productive environment for all members.

    Acer-Manny

  • FeklarFeklar Member Posts: 20 Troubleshooter
    I think we were just pwnd.
  • HAL_9000HAL_9000 Member Posts: 39 Devotee
    @TweetiePie
    The only reason i am here is to make an informed decision regarding my next monitor purchase.
    Here are some offenders of this display:

    https://pcmonitors.info/wp-content/uploads/2019/09/snowy-village.jpg
    http://www.techmind.org/lcd/crosstalk1.html
    http://www.techmind.org/lcd/crosstalk2.html
    http://www.techmind.org/lcd/crosstalk3.html

    Some footage with any kind of influence of the pixels outside the browser window would confirm the issue.
    Does the snowy village picture flicker when moved around the screen ?

    Also, Wicher 3 and PUBG should manifest the flickering effect.

    Please include the OSD configuration showing OD is enabled (set to normal), 144Hz, 10bit color.

    The crosstalk test images should flicker only inside the browser window... that is expected behavior. Anything outside the window should not be affected if your monitor is fault free.
  • LykerLyker Member Posts: 8

    Tinkerer

    edited October 2019
    So I just set up the screen, I am not seeing any vertical lines as seen in the thread. No joke.

    144Hz
    Overdrive: Normal

    I have tried:
    1. Having the browser window with the picture (The mountains) inside taking up about 75% of the screen. (So it can still be moved around)
    2. Kept it at 90% and resized the window / image.

    But a noob question... (Maybe it's why it works for me)
    Most of the settings on the screen is disabled, how do I unlock it
  • FeklarFeklar Member Posts: 20 Troubleshooter
    HAL_9000 said:
    @TweetiePie
    The only reason i am here is to make an informed decision regarding my next monitor purchase.
    Here are some offenders of this display:

    https://pcmonitors.info/wp-content/uploads/2019/09/snowy-village.jpg
    http://www.techmind.org/lcd/crosstalk1.html
    http://www.techmind.org/lcd/crosstalk2.html
    http://www.techmind.org/lcd/crosstalk3.html

    Some footage with any kind of influence of the pixels outside the browser window would confirm the issue.
    Does the snowy village picture flicker when moved around the screen ?

    Also, Wicher 3 and PUBG should manifest the flickering effect.

    Please include the OSD configuration showing OD is enabled (set to normal), 144Hz, 10bit color.

    The crosstalk test images should flicker only inside the browser window... that is expected behavior. Anything outside the window should not be affected if your monitor is fault free.
    I just tried the snowy village image in a browser taking about 70% of the screen. Moving the browser window around makes everything outside of the window flicker like crazy. Turned overdrive off and boom, no more flicker. Good times. Not happy. I doubt anything will ever be done to fix it but the overdrive seems to be the culprit. In any game I played where there was flicker, turning overdrive off cures the issue
  • HAL_9000HAL_9000 Member Posts: 39 Devotee
    edited October 2019
    @Lyker
    what about the interlace tests ?
    do they affect the pixels outside of the window when moved around ?
    What is ur monitor, X35 or PG35 ?
    I dont know why most of your settings are disabled... as far as i know, that happens with HDR enabled.

    @Feklar
    Will you keep your monitor ?
    is the issue worth overlooking for the HDR experience ?
    what about black smearing ?
  • HAL_9000HAL_9000 Member Posts: 39 Devotee
    By turning OFF the overdrive, makes this a 60Hz monitor due to ~16ms G2G average pixel response time.

    Are the true blacks worth it, taking into consideration they will always be many frames behind the rest of the image (6 frames behind @144Hz and 9 frames behind @200Hz)?
  • SilentMarketSilentMarket Member Posts: 27 Enthusiast
    @HAL_9000 It will lose frames in dark scenes. I doubt people can notice them because the scene is dark. Regarding color itself, 200Hz doesn't have full HDR10 yet.
  • FeklarFeklar Member Posts: 20 Troubleshooter
    HAL_9000 said:
    @TweetiePie
    The only reason i am here is to make an informed decision regarding my next monitor purchase.
    Here are some offenders of this display:

    https://pcmonitors.info/wp-content/uploads/2019/09/snowy-village.jpg
    http://www.techmind.org/lcd/crosstalk1.html
    http://www.techmind.org/lcd/crosstalk2.html
    http://www.techmind.org/lcd/crosstalk3.html

    Some footage with any kind of influence of the pixels outside the browser window would confirm the issue.
    Does the snowy village picture flicker when moved around the screen ?

    Also, Wicher 3 and PUBG should manifest the flickering effect.

    Please include the OSD configuration showing OD is enabled (set to normal), 144Hz, 10bit color.

    The crosstalk test images should flicker only inside the browser window... that is expected behavior. Anything outside the window should not be affected if your monitor is fault free.
    I just tried the snowy village image in a browser taking about 70% of the screen. Moving the browser window around makes everything outside of the window flicker like crazy. Turned overdrive off and boom, no more flicker. Good times. Not happy. I doubt anything will ever be done to fix it but the overdrive seems to be the culprit. In any game I played where there was flicker, turning overdrive off cures the issue.
  • FeklarFeklar Member Posts: 20 Troubleshooter
    HAL_9000 said:
    @TweetiePie
    The only reason i am here is to make an informed decision regarding my next monitor purchase.
    Here are some offenders of this display:

    https://pcmonitors.info/wp-content/uploads/2019/09/snowy-village.jpg
    http://www.techmind.org/lcd/crosstalk1.html
    http://www.techmind.org/lcd/crosstalk2.html
    http://www.techmind.org/lcd/crosstalk3.html

    Some footage with any kind of influence of the pixels outside the browser window would confirm the issue.
    Does the snowy village picture flicker when moved around the screen ?

    Also, Wicher 3 and PUBG should manifest the flickering effect.

    Please include the OSD configuration showing OD is enabled (set to normal), 144Hz, 10bit color.

    The crosstalk test images should flicker only inside the browser window... that is expected behavior. Anything outside the window should not be affected if your monitor is fault free.
    I just tried the snowy village image in a browser taking about 70% of the screen. Moving the browser window around makes everything outside of the window flicker like crazy. Turned overdrive off and boom, no more flicker. Good times. Not happy. I doubt anything will ever be done to fix it but the overdrive seems to be the culprit. In any game I played where there was flicker, turning overdrive off cures the issue.
  • SonicB0000MSonicB0000M Member Posts: 24 Networker
    edited October 2019
    Still loving my monitor, still not seeing any flickering :) Gears 5 and Assassins creed look incredible on it. Also cannot wait to see Modern Warfare next week with max setting RTX and HDR :love:
  • SonicB0000MSonicB0000M Member Posts: 24 Networker
    Quick question what settings are people using? RGB full or YCbCr444 limited? I don't think there is any difference between the 2 
This discussion has been closed.

Who's Online1.4K

AMENDES
AMENDES
ashokkumarjuly
ashokkumarjuly
Berryyy
Berryyy
billsey
billsey
biswa45
biswa45
Daniel_777
Daniel_777
DennisDiG
DennisDiG
EvidentRecker
EvidentRecker
Fred80340
Fred80340
Jerry6590
Jerry6590
J_Hawk223
J_Hawk223
Lampourde
Lampourde
Lemonrider
Lemonrider
LeonidasFilho
LeonidasFilho
Masteruniversal
Masteruniversal
MsLes
MsLes
nexxol
nexxol
Ronnback92
Ronnback92
shaunk91
shaunk91
Subarno11
Subarno11
xapim
xapim
+1.4K Guests

Join in, share your experience!

It looks like you're new here. Sign in or register to get started.

Assistance by Acer


Drivers &
Manuals

Acer
Answers

Get Product Information
( only)

Acer Support
Videos