Aspire ES1-512 lcd display glitching; HDMI out ok

MagicSmoker
MagicSmoker Member Posts: 7

Tinkerer

edited September 2023 in 2019 Archives
I tried to make the title as informative as possible. I'm an engineer so fixing this won't be a problem, I'd just like to know if I need to replace the LCD panel, or the cable, or both. The basic symptom is the lcd display glitches much like the vertical hold is out, for those of us old enough to remember TVs that had a vertical hold adjustment. The HDMI video output works fine, however, so the problem appears to be either with the lcd panel and/or the cable that passes through the hinge. I would bet real money the problem is the cable, but manually twisting on it doesn't seem to affect the frequency/severity of the glitching, nor does tapping on the terminations or other components (real high level troubleshooting here, I know).

Best Answer

• JackE
    JackE ACE Posts: 44,467 Trailblazer
    Answer ✓
    Gaah!! Of course you tried to turn the HDMI output on with the FN+F5 toggle combo, right? Jack E/NJ

Jack E/NJ

Answers

• JackE
    Likely the LCD ribbon cable scrunched in the hinge. You can first try re-seating the connectors a half-dozen or so times to see if it'll clean up the connections. But for $10, I'd order a new cable anyway and probably throw in a $30 250GB SSD so I'd qualify for free shipping. :)   Jack E/NJ

Jack E/NJ

• MagicSmoker

Tinkerer

JackE said:
    Likely the LCD ribbon cable scrunched in the hinge. You can first try re-seating the connectors a half-dozen or so times to see if it'll clean up the connections. But for $10, I'd order a new cable anyway and probably throw in a $30 250GB SSD so I'd qualify for free shipping. :)   Jack E/NJ