Acer Aspire 7535G Change CMOS battery

Tubby735
Tubby735 Member Posts: 6 New User
edited September 2023 in 2019 Archives
Hi,
This is my first time in the forum.
I have a Acer Aspire 7535g with Vista o/s.... The problem is that it does not boot up. Power light is on, fan working, hard drive working. But no screen display (black)
Does not even show the basic post display.
I think that the CMOS battery has gone flat, due to the laptop has not been used for several months and the main battery does not hold charge.
Do I really need to completely strip down the laptop, or can I just remove the keyboard and top panel to reach the CMOS battery ?
Regards
Tubby735  :)

Comments

• JackE
    JackE ACE Posts: 44,470 Trailblazer
    With a low CMOS battery and no screen, the BIOS can sometimes be refreshed by simply tapping the F2 key immediately after it's turned on. The BIOS menu sometimes miraculously appears. If it does, press F9 to load defaults. F10 to save settings and exit. And the machine should boot --- and maybe even again at the next cold boot. If still no joy, you might try to VGA out to a TV or external monitor to get a screen. Jack E/NJ

Jack E/NJ

• Tubby735
    Hi,
    I've tried a external monitor... nothing on both screens.
    F2 no difference
    F9 no difference
    Still think its lost its 
  • JackE
    JackE ACE Posts: 44,470 Trailblazer
    If the CMOS coin battery is shorted, the BIOS chip likely won't initialize. If it's open-circuited, the BIOS chip should be reflashed. To find out which, the coin battery must be removed then trying to boot it up again . Unfortunately, instructions on accessing this older mainboard CMOS battery must be done by googling "7535G" and "disassembly".   Jack E/NJ

Jack E/NJ