[Switch 3] Stylus occasionally "cuts out" when side button is pressed.

MortB
MortB Member Posts: 3 New User
edited November 2023 in 2019 Archives
Hello,

I've been using a Switch 3 for note taking with OneNote since august 2018. Ever since the start, there has been an issue with the stylus where it sometimes stops working for a few seconds.

Usually, this happens when I press one of the buttons on the side of the pen to use the eraser in OneNote. The pen and tablet seem to just sort of lose contact with each other. The pen won't write, neither of the buttons work, and the little cursor that tracks the pen tip also disappears. This lasts for a few seconds and then it comes back. This does not happen every time the erase button is pressed, and I have yet to see a pattern in when or why this happens as it does. It also feels like it's happening more often lately, although this might be bias.

The pen doesn't work in other programs during this time either. I don't think it's an issue with OneNote specifically, although I have not tested this enough to confirm it, as I really only ever use the pen there.

Recently, I got myself a Wacom Bamboo Ink, thinking that this might all be an issue with the pack-in stylus. The Wacom pen also has this issue of randomly "disappearing" when the erase button is pressed. Either I have been incredibly unlucky and ended up with two pens that both have an issue with the erase button, or this issue is caused by something else.

I've tried updating the Pen drivers, but Win10 claims that the device doesn't need a driver. I've changed the batteries in both pens multiple times. I'm out of ideas here, and the issue is becoming a serious bottleneck in my workflow.

Any thoughts?

Answers

• JackE
    JackE ACE Posts: 44,330 Trailblazer
    edited March 2019