What upgrades do I need for my Predator G3-710?

serieslover
serieslover Member Posts: 10 New User
edited February 15 in 2019 Archives
Hi guys, I've had my Predator for nearly 2 years and love it and now I want to add some more RAM and another SSD. The only problem I'm not tech savvy so really struggling to know what to get.
I think the RAM is DDR4 SDRAM? And I have read the that the Samsung eco 860 is great too. But I see SSD come in 2.5', 3.5' and M2? 
I have added a pic to show where I want to add the SSD, But I have also seen how easy it is to add RAM and SSD or HDD inside the machine as well,
Can anyone please tell me or even share links to what I need to look for?
And is there anything else you would recommend adding or upgrading?

Best Answers

• MaClane
    MaClane ACE Posts: 35,598 Trailblazer
    Answer ✓
    Yes, memory banks.
    This is ideal, correctly identifying the one you have installed and acquiring another identical one.
    Make sure you have an SSD in the M.2 slot.
    If you have, you can maintain or opt for a higher capacity.

Se minha resposta foi útil, deixe um Curtir, marque como Solucionado e clique em Promover!
    Caso contrario, fico a disposição para tentarmos sanar suas duvidas e resolver seus problemas!
    Atenciosamente:  J. MaClane™

If my answer was helpful, leave a Like, flag as Fixed and click Promote!
    Otherwise, I am willing to try to heal your doubts and solve your problems!
    Sincerely, J. MaClane ™

For users of the English, Spanish, French and German Community, I will be using Google Translate!

• billsey
    billsey ACE Posts: 33,905 Trailblazer
    Answer ✓
    The M.2 slot in your G3-710 is SATA3, so you need a SATA drive, not NVMe. Your existing drive is a 128GB so I'd look for as big as you can afford, likely 512GB or so. It's great that your existing memory is one 16GB stick, someone was think ahead about upgrades when they designed it. ;)