How and what to upgrade? (Predator G3-710)

Tobi6000
Tobi6000 Member Posts: 6 New User
edited February 15 in 2019 Archives
I've got a little extra money and thought i would like to upgrade my G3. The problem is i have never tried it before and have no idea what is most "pressing" to upgrade. The specs are:

CPU: 6th Gen Intel® Core™ i7-6700 processor
GPU: NVIDIA® GeForce® GTX 970
RAM: 64GB DDR4 2133MHz

I am also totally oblivious as of how to do it, so any tips would be greatly appreciated :)

Answers

• Tobi6000
    I know how to put in new RAM, but graphics card i'm a bit lost and cannot really seem to find videos about it for this pc
  • billsey
    billsey ACE Posts: 31,719 Trailblazer
    You're pretty maxed out in terms of the original build. The video card is the obvious upgrade, since a sixth -> later gen requires a motherboard swap as well as new processor and memory. Check to see how big your power supply is then look at upgrades to either current generation video cards or the previous generation. I'm guessing you'll want something like a 1080 ti and 600W supply...
    Click on "Like" if you find my answer useful or click on "Yes" if it answers your question.
  • Tobi6000
    so it is a bigger operation? i cannot upgrade my graphics card or add ram witout putting other new stuff in?
  • billsey
    billsey ACE Posts: 31,719 Trailblazer
    edited February 2019